8/16 Booger AMPS 390/PMPS 294

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/16 Booger AMPS 390

Hi Jennifer and Booger!

Hopefully she'll come down some soon, but if she doesn't get some much better numbers in the next few cycles, I think you should plan on going up to 1.25 on Monday morning.

Now those .25 doses can be tricky since you have to eyeball them, but you might want to spend a little time practicing. The important thing is to be consistent...if what you really give is 1.2 or 1.3 it's not as important as it being the same every time.

What you can do (unless you want to use calipers) is to use some of your old syringes and pull up what you're going to decide 1.25 is using some colored water, tea, coffee (whatever works) and that will give you a "template" to compare to when you pull up the insulin

Another option is the drop method. Draw up exactly 1 unit into an old syringe (using something other than insulin) and slowly twist the plunger to produce a drop at the end of the needle. Try to make your drops all the same size and then count how many drops you get to 1 unit. For example, you get 16 drops to 1 unit, so when you're using real insulin, you could draw up 1.5 and then "waste" 4 drops of insulin, leaving you with 1.25

Everyone has their own way of doing it, but remember, the important thing is to be as consistent as possible

Hope you're having a nice Caturday despite the stinky pink numbers!
 
Re: 8/16 Booger AMPS 390

Hello again! Yes, I hope she does come down. She's driving me insane trying to figure out what she's doing. She acts different today (in a good way). I didn't see it yesterday but there is clearly a difference. She's more vocal (like her old happy self), following me around, and kneading on my lap way more than yesterday or the days prior. The PU/PD are still there, as is the polyphagia but her numbers have been odd to me today. She's just been hanging out at the same number and even dropping at PMPS. The first yellow we've seen in a little while. It's a high yellow but we'll take it! At this point, I'm holding my breath and waiting to see what she's going to do next.. Thanks for the advice!
Jen
 
It's great that Booger is starting to feel better and show some of her old behaviour. :-D :-D

Sometimes a flat cycle can mean the cycle following will have a little action. Hope you have a good evening.
 
I just hope she continues to feel good.

2 yellows in a row... still declining at +2. I don't know what tonight may bring but I'm on alert.
 
Hmm. I wonder if that will again trigger a rise in her following the drop if she does indeed dip to those levels. If that's what happened in the first place anyway. Maybe there just wasn't an insulin depot yet, her liver panicked, sent out additional glucose and now the depot is starting to do it's thing maybe? Who knows I'm guessing here. I suppose only time will tell what will happen.
Jen
 
Ahhh yes, the dreaded bounce! So annoying and frustrating....it would just be dandy if the cats would read the protocol so they knew that numbers in the 100s and high double digits were good and they wouldn't have to then bounce so much....

I have noticed with Skooter, as his body has gotten used to the lower numbers, he bounces less, not as high and clears it quicker.....

Hopefully that happens for lil Booger! Nice to see a little yellow there :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top