8/16 Billie PMPS 285 +3 192 back from "vacation" w/ pic

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Hello everyone!!

Last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=123534

Billie, Brooklyn and I are home after our little vacation! It had its ups and downs and I'm glad to be home. Billie's numbers had their ups and downs too, and I am definitely still thinking dosecrease but will give her some cycles at home to see how she does.

Thursday, we arrived after a surprisingly quiet car ride. Brooklyn complained emphatically for about 20 minutes, then settled in. Billie was quiet until maybe 3 hours into the trip, then started in with the "are we there yet?" meows. The drive should have only taken 2.5 hours but thanks to Massachusetts traffic, it took 4. Both cats were totally freaked out by the hotel room at first, but once I got their food set up and put their toys and familiar blankets around, they seemed calmer. The picture is from Thursday afternoon shortly after I unpacked their toys.

By Friday morning, they had claimed their favorite spots and seemed more relaxed. I decided to skip Billie's AM shot and shot a few hours early for her PM shot on Friday, because she was not eating breakfast and I wasn't going to be there to monitor for a few hours. Her appetite was not great in general during the stay, which made me nervous. I'm sure she was stressed out. She was acting fairly normal overall, but she seemed jumpy and got freaked out at unfamiliar sounds like people in the hallway and the AC unit powering on and off. She liked the comfy desk chair and got some nice naps in there though, and she did her usual morning routine where she jumps in bed and gives me kisses. cat_pet_icon

This morning, I woke up to Billie vomiting, which made me extra nervous. It was a clear, watery vomit which is very unusual for her. She has hairballs sometimes, but this was different. Again, she didn't have much of an appetite. I got her to eat a little bit by sprinkling some cheese in her food, but she mostly just picked at the cheese. After that, I was in a hurry to pack up and get home.

As soon as we got home, Billie ate a decent amount of food and drank some water, so that was good. She went right into the kitchen and gave me her "I'm hungry" meow. I tested for ketones, and that came up negative, thank goodness. I was worried because of the high numbers, lack of appetite and vomiting. She seems to be feeling a lot better tonight. Her appetite has been really good.

I'm glad I tried the hotel experiment, but I'm not sure that I would do it in the future unless it's super necessary. I think Billie would prefer to stay home. Brooklyn, however, seemed to like the adventure overall. She had fun chasing her toys around and hanging out on top of the TV cabinet (the highest perch in the room).

The hotel staff was really friendly and very understanding when I obsessively wanted to make sure that housekeeping didn't come in until after we left. DB was super helpful, and I would have been way more neurotic without him there.

I hope everyone is having a nice weekend! Congrats to Rocky and Tina!!!!! Happy OTJ!!!
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20140814_185518121.jpg
    IMG_20140814_185518121.jpg
    84.3 KB · Views: 191
sounds pretty successful overall.

I'm always happy that there is no space under the bed at a hotel.....
I always make a tent on the side of the bed..... so we can pretend there is a "Good" hiding place....
and I do what you did....

no maid service.... stay out.... :-D
 
Thanks Rhiannon!

:lol: Exactly...I was thrilled to find that there was no "under the bed" option. Billie ran straight for it as soon as we got there, and seemed annoyed to find that it was not the cave she thought it was. The blankets draped down to the floor, so she did have a tent at least.
 
Welcome back Deanna. Good to hear you had a successful experience with hotels. When we went to Colorado, the bed also had no "under" but Neko managed to hide behind the headboard. :shock: There are a lot more pet friendly hotels now. And great news on DB being so supportive. :-D

You might want to comment in your SS for the road trip/out of town days as the stress may be influencing her numbers. You'll need to wait for her depot to stabilize again after the skip before deciding what to do about her dose.
 
Thanks Wendy!! It's good to be home. The cats must agree, because they are both completely passed out in their favorite spots, and I'm about to join them. I just updated the SS with trip info.

I hope everyone has a nice night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top