Jen&Eddie
Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo
Yesterday: AMPS/436, +2.5/249, +6/185, +10.5/343, PMPS/385, +2/306, +4/254, +6/176
Today: AMPS/200, +2.5/160, +4/139, +6/138, +10.5/324
Hi LL,
Thanks for the visits to Eddie's condo yesterday Wendy and Carla. I found out about 30 minutes before it was time to go that I was expected to attend a work event with co-workers and colleagues last night. It was a good time, but I didn't get home until just after 10 PM. Eddie's AM cycle yesterday was a hot mess. He bounced (not unexpectedly) to PM, but then started to come back down. I was wiped out, and didn't get any more tests in after PM +6, but he started today out at 200. His +2.5 was a fair bit lower and made me a little nervous, so Eddie got a little higher carb food for second breakfast, and 7% in the auto feeder at +3 and +4. I looked back over his SS and saw a similar cycle where he hit the 40's at AM +6, so I panicked and ran home to check on him at +4. Eddie looks to pretty flat blue so far. Hopefully, he'll continue and not bounce up at the end of the cycle. I LOVE flat blue cycles. Sometimes they lead to green cycles.
Thanks Wendy! I actually have a tab open with Gabby's SS (and a few other kitties' SS's). Sienne, I hope that doesn't seem too stalkerish. :lol: Since Eddie seems very interested in trying out for the LL dive team lately, I'm thinking we're going to have to start regularly testing at +1. I do get +1's fairly frequently in the PM, but man, that +1 in the morning is tough. That's my BTB time. :lol: Maybe I can enlist DH to get that test in the mornings where there looks to be the possibility of a drop on the horizon. I'm also thinking that we should split the normal pre-shot meal into two meals. I like to feed separate food at +2, just so I can switch to a higher carb if need be. If there's a drop at +1, we can always add some HC or gravy. So far, the +1's I've gotten haven't really consistently let me know what to expect. Sometimes he's flat at +1, and drops, but sometimes he gets a significant food spike, but then drops anyway at +2 so maybe more data will help with seeing a pattern. It may take some time to change up the routine. DH is incredibly helpful with Eddie's routine, but change is hard for him. :lol: Getting a +2.5 is about as late of a test as I can get on work days unless I'm running behind for some reason. We shoot (or I should say DH shoots) at 5:15 AM, and I'm usually walking in the door in the PM just before PMPS, so we can't really move the shot time any earlier. Wendy, can you clarify what you mean when you said this: "You might want to experiment with testing at +1 when his PS is higher than the nadir of the previous cycle and see what you get." I have read the glucose toxicity links that Julie provided (and pretty much anything else I can get my hands on to understand how this magic insulin hormone works). Some days I think I finally "get it," and then I realize that I don't get it at all.
I'm not sure which type of bouncing is more annoying...the high flat cycles that go on for cycle after cycle, or the bounce/dive/bounce pattern. :roll: Lately Eddie seems to have switched from high flat bouncing to the bounce/dive pattern. The high flat cycles are a bummer since you just have to wait out the yucky numbers, but the dive/bounce pattern just might give me a heart attack.
I had hoped that Eddie would flatten out on the current dose, and he sort of is, I guess, but I keep his SS numbers in a slightly different format on a non-shared spreadsheet, and I'm not seeing as much time in normal numbers as we were on 2.25, even though he is seeing less high flat cycles (somewhat). I'm think I'm going to see what happens for the rest of today and tonight, hold the dose through the morning, and assuming nothing dramatic happens, bring him back up to 2.25u tomorrow night.
Prayers and vines for all kitties and beans in need today, especially Jason and Wease.
Yesterday: AMPS/436, +2.5/249, +6/185, +10.5/343, PMPS/385, +2/306, +4/254, +6/176
Today: AMPS/200, +2.5/160, +4/139, +6/138, +10.5/324
Hi LL,
Thanks for the visits to Eddie's condo yesterday Wendy and Carla. I found out about 30 minutes before it was time to go that I was expected to attend a work event with co-workers and colleagues last night. It was a good time, but I didn't get home until just after 10 PM. Eddie's AM cycle yesterday was a hot mess. He bounced (not unexpectedly) to PM, but then started to come back down. I was wiped out, and didn't get any more tests in after PM +6, but he started today out at 200. His +2.5 was a fair bit lower and made me a little nervous, so Eddie got a little higher carb food for second breakfast, and 7% in the auto feeder at +3 and +4. I looked back over his SS and saw a similar cycle where he hit the 40's at AM +6, so I panicked and ran home to check on him at +4. Eddie looks to pretty flat blue so far. Hopefully, he'll continue and not bounce up at the end of the cycle. I LOVE flat blue cycles. Sometimes they lead to green cycles.
Wendy&Neko said:I've heard that onset is typically around +2, some earlier, some later. Neko is one of those that onsets later. I've seen some SS where it seems to happen around +1. If you take a look at Gabby's SS, she's often in full dive mode by +1, which is why Sienne always tests and feeds her then. (a well as +2 and +3). You might want to experiment with testing at +1 when his PS is higher than the nadir of the previous cycle and see what you get.
Thanks Wendy! I actually have a tab open with Gabby's SS (and a few other kitties' SS's). Sienne, I hope that doesn't seem too stalkerish. :lol: Since Eddie seems very interested in trying out for the LL dive team lately, I'm thinking we're going to have to start regularly testing at +1. I do get +1's fairly frequently in the PM, but man, that +1 in the morning is tough. That's my BTB time. :lol: Maybe I can enlist DH to get that test in the mornings where there looks to be the possibility of a drop on the horizon. I'm also thinking that we should split the normal pre-shot meal into two meals. I like to feed separate food at +2, just so I can switch to a higher carb if need be. If there's a drop at +1, we can always add some HC or gravy. So far, the +1's I've gotten haven't really consistently let me know what to expect. Sometimes he's flat at +1, and drops, but sometimes he gets a significant food spike, but then drops anyway at +2 so maybe more data will help with seeing a pattern. It may take some time to change up the routine. DH is incredibly helpful with Eddie's routine, but change is hard for him. :lol: Getting a +2.5 is about as late of a test as I can get on work days unless I'm running behind for some reason. We shoot (or I should say DH shoots) at 5:15 AM, and I'm usually walking in the door in the PM just before PMPS, so we can't really move the shot time any earlier. Wendy, can you clarify what you mean when you said this: "You might want to experiment with testing at +1 when his PS is higher than the nadir of the previous cycle and see what you get." I have read the glucose toxicity links that Julie provided (and pretty much anything else I can get my hands on to understand how this magic insulin hormone works). Some days I think I finally "get it," and then I realize that I don't get it at all.
I'm not sure which type of bouncing is more annoying...the high flat cycles that go on for cycle after cycle, or the bounce/dive/bounce pattern. :roll: Lately Eddie seems to have switched from high flat bouncing to the bounce/dive pattern. The high flat cycles are a bummer since you just have to wait out the yucky numbers, but the dive/bounce pattern just might give me a heart attack.
I had hoped that Eddie would flatten out on the current dose, and he sort of is, I guess, but I keep his SS numbers in a slightly different format on a non-shared spreadsheet, and I'm not seeing as much time in normal numbers as we were on 2.25, even though he is seeing less high flat cycles (somewhat). I'm think I'm going to see what happens for the rest of today and tonight, hold the dose through the morning, and assuming nothing dramatic happens, bring him back up to 2.25u tomorrow night.
Prayers and vines for all kitties and beans in need today, especially Jason and Wease.