09/01 Skooter PMPS 163 +2.25 187 +3.5 134 +5 136 +6 157

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
The weird PM cycle Condo (08/31)


Wow, September 1st already!!!

That means six weeks until my bday!!! So Skooter, for my birthday, it would be awesome to be finished up with an OTJ trial....hint hint hint.....but alas, this is Skooter's time table and not mommabeans, so we shell see....

Not much else going on....didn't get nearly the amount of cleaning and organizing done this weekend that I wanted, so a little
smileys-sleeping-820031.gif
and then up to try and get SOMETHING accomplished today.....let's hope a little more sleep will get rid of this headache...
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter AMPS 154

Hey Molly....it's a HOLIDAY!!

Why don't you just take the day off from cleaning, working, worrying and otherwise stressing your body out and maybe you'll get rid of that headache once and for all! It's worth a shot!

Skooterpie....Be a good kitty and just slide on down into those pretty greens (but not TOO far) and make your mamabean happy!
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter AMPS 154 +2 170

If I had gotten even a 1/3 of what needed to be done this weekend done, maybe I would but alas, I didn't....

I am at a loss, I don't think I gave him a fur shot this morning, and he did this last night....I guess I will get a +4 and see where we at.....

ETA...I once again took a second test and got 146, so I took the average of the two for 170....However, I still do not know what is going on with him....this is the second cycle in a row where he has gone UP at +2....I will probably do a +3 to see if I can tell if he is trending one way or another
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter AMPS 154 +2 170

Skooter's numbers are strange, particularly since he is usually so consistent. Have you verified the coding on the test strips? When you first insert the strip, a code appears - usually F-3 or F-4. That code has to match the code on the test strip container. Also, didn't you buy a backup meter? If so, maybe you should try the other meter when you test.
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter AMPS 154 +2 170

Yup the codes match up and I do have a back up meter....

Should I do a test with each at +3 to see what each gives me?
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter AMPS 154 +2 170

My birthday is also about 6wks. Oct 16 is mine.
I hope skooter gets back on track for you soon.
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter AMPS 154 +2 170 +4.75 81

smileys-confused-483915.gif
smileys-confused-483915.gif
smileys-confused-483915.gif
smileys-confused-483915.gif
smileys-confused-483915.gif



Tested on each meter and both gave me an 81.....

I have no idea what is up with this new trend of spiking at +2 and then diving after that.....he dropped an average of about 50 mg/dL in that 1.75 our difference....

Guess it will be an active AM cycle for us! I will test him again at +6, which is 1.25 from the 1 and see where he is....
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter AMPS 154 +2 170 +4.75 81

I guess we should know by now that Skooter is going to do his own thing.

:roll:
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter AMPS 154 +2 170 +4.75 81

FluffBunny said:
I guess we should know by now that Skooter is going to do his own thing.

Very true....I just asked him if he could go back to being his predictable self and he shook his head no....while that could have just been him shaking as cats sometimes do, but I have a feeling he was telling me no.....
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter AMPS 154 +2 170 +3.75 81

Screwed up my numbers again :roll:

I am thinking I will go for a +4.5 test just to see where we are trending.....
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter AMPS 154 +2 170 +3.75 81

With FD I've learned. Expect the unexpected!! Whatever the cause these are still all nice numbers if not as nice as you would like. Once Skooter hits nadir I think you should skip the housework and go do something fun.
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter AMPS 154 +2 170 +3.75 81 +4.5 74

Sadly my excitement today will consist of an eye exam lol.....

I have not really been doing as much cleaning and organizing as I should the past couple of weeks....so hoping to hunker down and get a lot done this week and then try and do something fun this weekend or next.....

Best laid plans, though, so we shall see lol
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter AMPS 154 +2 170 +3.75 81 +4.5 74

Nice #s for Skooter today! Yeah, I know.. Those PS and earlier #s are a bit daunting, however, they WILL come down in time. That +2 seems to be a food spike, and we've all been there. Eventually, you'll find the magic formula, or combination to help bring those #s down. Everything you do for Skooter is trial and error, and we've all been there. Keep up the excellent work. If you feel that something isn't working, try something else. Eventually, you'll find something that will work to help get his #s down, and hopefully stay down.

Thank you for swinging by our condo this morning. :-D Hang in there. It'll happen.
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter AMPS 154 +2 170 +3.75 81 +4.5 74 +6.5 105

Hrmmm, normally he surfs that green for a lot longer.......

Now I am getting concerned that the blood work they took on Friday IS going to show something else is wrong.....

He just seems a little off, nothing I can put my finger on specifically....but that could just be me reading into things.....
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter AMPS 154 +2 170 +3.75 81 +4.5 74 +6.5 105

C'mon Skooterbutt -

How about you steady out and give your mamabean a break. I wonder if you're still seeing the effects of the skipped shot? Maybe the depot hasn't quite filled back up yet. Regardless, these are still great numbers, Molly! I hope you get to do some fun stuff today!
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter +6.5 105 PMPS 163 +2.25 187

I am frustrated and confused....I didn't bother doing a second test.....

Any thoughts at all where this new trend is coming from? He has never had an issue recovering for a missed or fur shot before. I don't understand where this increase at +2 is coming from.....this is the third cycle in a row he has done this....

He still is getting into the greens, but I just wish I knew what was going on.....I know the numbers are still good but I don't like this trend back up to higher preshot numbers and couple that with his +2 all of a sudden going UP vs staying the same or going down.....

I tested him earlier today using his primary and back up meter and got the same exact number, 81....so I know it is not the meters....Not sure if this is something I should be concerned about....

His litter is getting sticky again, so I am now very nervous to get his BW results.....I hope they call tomorrow with them.....
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter +6.5 105 PMPS 163 +2.25 187

Molly, weren't you giving Skooter a reduced dose of his IBD med for a while? How much was it reduced? How long did you give him the reduced dose? When did you go back to a normal dose? Maybe the change in his IBD medication is impacting his numbers. I know Oliver's BG was directly related to his IBD medication (prednisolone.)
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter +6.5 105 PMPS 163 +2.25 187

I didn't even think of that....he gets it in the morning though, could that still effect the PM cycle?

It was for like 3 or 4 days as his new medication came in Friday......
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter +6.5 105 PMPS 163 +2.25 187

The only thing is....

even when he was on his full dose, he never did this before....
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter +6.5 105 PMPS 163 +2.25 187

Yes, but you increased his medication and then had to skip a shot within 24 hours. This is all guesswork, of course, but maybe his medication increased his BG at the same time his depot got depleted. Maybe what you are seeing is a food spike because his depot isn't large enough yet to handle the food AND the medication. I do know that it takes time for the Lantus to be absorbed into the body. With a depleted depot, you might see a food spike for a few days until the depot builds back up.

Again, guesswork ... but maybe he will be back to normal in a couple of days when his depot is back to normal.
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter +6.5 105 PMPS 163 +2.25 187 +3.5 134

Well he is at least coming down.......hoping he can slide into a green number and safely surf, but not holding my breath....will test again at +5
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter +6.5 105 PMPS 163 +2.25 187 +3.5 134

Hi Molly,
It seems that Scooter is evolving. Trends in numbers can change for any number of factors. I was always under the impression that with Lantus the bg usually is still going up at +2. Onset hasn't started yet. For whatever reason Scooter's onset had been pretty early and now it is later. I don't think this is anything to stress over. FD is a mysterious condition. things change. So hang in there!

Thanks for visiting Rusty,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter +6.5 105 PMPS 163 +2.25 187 +3.5 134

You may have the answer to your question Molly

If you're noticing a difference in the litter box, I think it's time for a recheck on the UTI

I know you were just into the vet, but that may very well be the reason for the higher numbers and probably should be checked sooner rather than later
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter +6.5 105 PMPS 163 +2.25 187 +3.5 134 +5 13

I am getting concerned and am very anxious to hear what his BW looks like....

He kept going on his litter box and then out then in then out trying to go but not being able to...eventually he was able to poop, it was small in size, dark in color, but I think that is what most people said it would look like once on the wet (I must admit, since he has been doing so well I have not really been watching the litter box as much)....but once I went back to the regular litter, it was the same thing as when he was first dx'd....it is hard to describe, but I guess dense would be the word I would use....

However, it wasn't getting super pasty and sticky to his paws like it used to. I think I am going to have to become more vigilant at getting it cleaned twice a day, regardless of what is in there and go from there.

If his WBC count is elevated, which could indicate an infection, would I still want to have his urine tested for a UTI or could I start an AB? He was diagnosed with a UTI at the same time he was diagnosed with diabetes and I think clavamox is what he was given....it was an oral medication twice a day for ten days if I remember correctly....

I am trying not to worry too much, but it is soooooooooooo in my nature to freak out easily when it comes to Skooter.....he is my everything and all I have......If he does have an infection, would that also explain his "higher" (which I know they aren't really that high, but for him as of late they are) numbers?
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter +6.5 105 PMPS 163 +2.25 187 +3.5 134 +5 13

I don't think I understand what you are saying about his litterbox. Has he been going into it tonight trying to go and finally pooped? Does the poop look like it did when he was first diagnosed with IBD? Or when he was first diagnosed with diabetes? What is sticky in the litterbox? Is it his poop or is it when he pees? A UTI could cause him to go to the litterbox multiple times trying to pee. Constipation could cause multiple trips trying to poop. A kidney problem would cause multiple trips to the litterbox with lots of peeing. I'm just not following what you are saying.

If he has a kidney problem, you would notice him drinking a lot of water and peeing a lot. It is something you would definitely notice. When Oliver was first diagnosed with diabetes, it was the drinking and peeing that alerted me. I really thought it was his kidneys. It is something that is hard to miss.
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter +6.5 105 PMPS 163 +2.25 187 +3.5 134 +5 13

Skooter had a skipped shot and a possible fur shot lately according to your SS. Both of those can contribute to wonkier numbers. The full effects of a fur shot do not always show up right away.

If you suspect Scooter has a UTI, then it's best to get a urine sample via cystostentisis (needle into bladder) to get a clean sample, then have it send away for a culture and sensitivity test. Without the C&S, you don't know what type of bug is causing the UTI and you'd be guessing what is the correct antibiotic to treat it. Infection can cause higher numbers, but Skooter is still blue so not what I call high.

As for the LB results, raw food results in a different look than wet food, smaller and thinner for one. You can Google for examples if you wish. :lol:
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter +6.5 105 PMPS 163 +2.25 187 +3.5 134 +5 13

Also, sometimes you do see things that are not there. I am guilty of that. I worry so much about my cats that I sometimes over react to small things. Right after Snugs was diagnosed with a heart problem, I called the cardiologist in a panic because his respiration rate was really high. (Yes, I was hanging over him counting his breaths.) It turned out that he was purring really hard. Who knew that purring can make the respiration rate seem high?
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter +6.5 105 PMPS 163 +2.25 187 +3.5 134 +5 13

I was watching him the whole time and he didn't pee or poop...he was trying to go and couldn't and finally did....

It does not look like it did around either dx, but I forgot that people said when changing to the wet food, that would effect what his LB would look like....

When he was first dx'd with diabetes, the reason we went in was because his litter was getting very sticky and almost like a paste.....I just changed back to the regular litter and noticed that it was getting dense, not so much sticky at first, but tonight when I dumped the LB it was a little sticky looking.....

I think I just need to get better at cleaning it daily and maybe going to twice a day cleaning.....The vet is supposed to call tomorrow with the BW results.....when they call, I will ask to see if he can come in for a urine culture to see if he has an infection. I think they can do that test in the office as they did a cystostentisis to diagnose his UTI when he was diagnosed with diabetes.

He just seems a little off, so I am guessing it is a UTI.....at least I hope that is all it is.....I am going for a +6 and then I think I will head to bed.....preparing myself for a yellow preshot in the morning.....
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter +6.5 105 PMPS 163 +2.25 187 +3.5 134 +5 13

FluffBunny said:
Also, sometimes you do see things that are not there. I am guilty of that. I worry so much about my cats that I sometimes over react to small things. Right after Snugs was diagnosed with a heart problem, I called the cardiologist in a panic because his respiration rate was really high. (Yes, I was hanging over him counting his breaths.) It turned out that he was purring really hard. Who knew that purring can make the respiration rate seem high?
...


I struggle with that CONSTANTLY.....trying to decide if I am just being paranoid or if there is something actually wrong.....I am a worrywart by nature (SHOCKER) and tend to go to worst case scenario....

But he is all I have.....he is my everything and I just want him to feel good.....

If they are able to dx a UTI, what kind of AB do I want for him?
 
Re: 09/01 Skooter +6.5 105 PMPS 163 +2.25 187 +3.5 134 +5 13

The reason for the culture is to find out what bug is causing the infection, and which AB is most effective for it

It takes a few days for the culture to grow and once they have a colony of bacteria growing, they try different AB on it to see which one kills it off the best.

That's the AB you will want to give him :razz:
 
At this point, I am hoping for LOW yellow numbers in the morning :cry:

Off to bed.....he is being skiddish and doesn't want to snuggle.....so I am guessing there has to be an infection of some sort......
 
Molly,

I'm sorry Skooter seems "off" to you tonight. I hope the BW results come back good and you can get him in for a urinalysis soon. The behavior you describe is exactly how Harvey acted when he had a UTI. I'm sure that would cause his BG to be higher than it has been (although still perfectly acceptable).

Sending healing vines for Skooter and calming vines for the jittery bean!
 
I'm sorry Skooter isn't feeling well. If it is a UTI, the antibiotics will knock out the infection but you do need a culture to see which one works for the type of infection he has.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top