9/1 Cobb AMPS 97 +6 38 +7 49 +7.5 55 +9.5 57 +11 49 PMPS 62

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Holy cow is right, Marje!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Mr. Greenie just keeps on rolling! It's crazy!

Obviously we are doing well this morning. Cobb is doing great, outside of his BGs, as well. All 5 P's are in place. We got Matty on a floor bed for a few hours last night, and Cobb jumped up between me and Matt for some love. Matty currently sleeps in Cobb's old spot. It's no different though. Cobb liked to lay sideways, as does Matty, so it isn't like we have any extra room in our KING-sized bed. Matt and I are still relegated to the edge of the bed. :lol: :roll:

Have a great holiday all!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 9/1 Cobb AMPS 97

What a great bunch of numbers for Cobb lately!! He really seems to be liking the Levemir!

Sure seems like no matter how large the bed is, the cat expands to take up exactly as much space is available....LOL

Have a great Labor Day Suzanne, Matt and Matty!
 
Re: 9/1 Cobb AMPS 97

Very Nice AMPS :mrgreen: Surf it.
sporty41.gif
 
Re: 9/1 Cobb AMPS 97

The change in this ss is amazing. At this rate Cobb will be the poster child for lev and lead to a bunch of converts. I'm so happy for you and may it continue.
 
Re: 9/1 Cobb AMPS 97

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :cool:
Looking good Cobb - way to work the Levemir. :-D

Cobb is probably very happy to see Matty move to his own bed so he could get his own spot back again.
 
Re: 9/1 Cobb AMPS 97 +3 87 +6 38,rt41 +7 49

glad to see him coming up, but still 49? c'mon Cobb, cut your mom some slack - over 50 please!

great to see Cobb in such good numbers!
 
Re: 9/1 Cobb AMPS 97 +3 87 +6 38,rt41 +7 49

Wow! What a transition for Cobb on Lev! He must be feeling good to be in normal numbers so much of the time. :mrgreen: Congratulations on the reducie! Is this his first reduction on Lev?

Good to know that no matter the size of the bed, there's still not enough room. :lol: I've been whining that we need to move from a queen to a king, because there's not enough room for DH and I and five cats. Guess a king probably wouldn't solve that problem.

Have a good day Suzanne!
 
Re: 9/1 Cobb AMPS 97 +3 87 +6 38,rt41 +7 49 +7.5 55

Whew! Finally back over 50! Where did that come from, Cobb??

Jen, yes. This will be his first earned reduction. :smile:

Now...let's discuss that. So, he dipped under 40; which is an automatic reduction, right? Even though he's a long term diabetic, IAA, possible acro?? How much do I reduce by? His numbers have been so good that reducing makes me nervous. (Never thought I'd say that!) Do I have to reduce a whole .5u? Can I shave off .25u instead? I'm guessing he'll bounce. Should I shoot a full dose tonight and reduce in the morning? Oy vey...this is just as nerve wracking as increasing used to be! :roll:
 
Re: 9/1 Cobb AMPS 97 +3 87 +6 38,rt41 +7 49 +7.5 55

The 30's definitely mean business and yes on the reduction. I'd see how he is tonight before deciding whether to shoot through the bounce. If he doesn't bounce, then you may have a rather full depot and might want to take a one time only larger reduction for tonight, then go back to the new dose tomorrow. Those larger depots can definitely get ahead of you. Even though Neko is longer term, IAA/acro, I tend to the side of caution cause it's not about healing beta cells. I'd especially be careful with Cobb, cause you never know when the IAA will start to break.

But given all the above, you do have find what works for Cobb. ECID in a big way. Nancy/Pepper found .25U increases/decreases made a difference for him over 20U. When Neko's IAA started to break, we were under 10U and .5U decreases worked.

Nice job today Cobb, how about surfing safely the rest of the day. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/1 Cobb AMPS 97 +3 87 +6 38,rt41 +7 49 +7.5 55

Wow! Cobb really is like a different cat on Lev. I'm just curious - are you seeing changes in his behavior and how he seems to feel now that he's in such low numbers? It's got to be soooo good for him! :mrgreen:

Congrats on the reducie, and good luck figuring out how much to do and when. It makes my head spin trying to understand all that Wendy said. I'm sooo glad I don't have and acrocat (anti-jinx)!

ETA: I'm so glad my DH doesn't get on the board. I don't want him to see this:

I've been whining that we need to move from a queen to a king, because there's not enough room for DH and I and five cats. Guess a king probably wouldn't solve that problem.

Because I've been trying the same argument (and actually have come to the same conclusion, but I'm keeping that to myself)! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/1 Cobb AMPS 97 +3 87 +6 38,rt41 +7 49 +7.5 55

Did you get another cat and are you poking the wrong cat? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

This is AMAZING!!!!
 
Re: 9/1 Cobb AMPS 97 +6 38,rt41 +7 49 +7.5 55 +9.5 57 +11 49

Marje, I checked...it's still the same old Cobb!!

Tricia, he seems to be feeling great! He's been jumping on the bed the past two days. He hasn't been begging for food. All in all I think he likes being in these normal numbers!

Now...let's discuss tonight's dose. He's definitely surfing these low numbers, but at +11 he's back at 49. What to do? What to do? I've shot a 59, but not when he's been treading this low all day. Anything lower and I am definitely not comfortable shooting. I also can't really stall because I shoot 30 minutes before I leave in the morning.
 
Re: 9/1 Cobb AMPS 97 +6 38,rt41 +7 49 +7.5 55 +9.5 57 +11 49

I wish you could send him here for the night. I could use some company.
 
Re: 9/1 Cobb AMPS 97 +6 38,rt41 +7 49 +7.5 55 +9.5 57 +11 49

i wouldn't shoot less than about 60 with him, personally. I had good success with the one time 1/2 dose, then returning to the new dose with the following shot.

So with Cobb, that might look something like a 10u shot tonight, if he's high enough for your comfort zone, and coming back tomorrow morning with a 22.0u shot. I would hesitate to decrease less than 0.5u with a 22u dose. Even a 0.5u decrease is just a shave compared to 22u. Will anyone be able to test him during the day tomorrow? If not, I might do a 21u even.
 
Re: 9/1 Cobb AMPS 97 +6 38,rt41 +7 49 +7.5 55 +9.5 57 +11 49

considering percentages - for a cat getting 2.5u dose, if they go low, they get a 0.25u decrease - that's 10%. You don't want to lose the momentum, but going in the 30's tells you that the dose is too big, so you do want to decrease enough to make a difference so he's not back in the 30's again tomorrow.

With a 22.5u dose, a 10% reduction would be - 2.25u, or a new dose of 20.25. ish. :lol:
 
Re: 9/1 Cobb AMPS 97 +6 38,rt41 +7 49 +7.5 55 +9.5 57 +11 49

Cobb was at 62 at PMPS. I gave him 10uL. Thank you to Julie and Luann for their advice! It's helpful with two people tell you the same thing!! :lol:

julie & punkin (ga) said:
considering percentages - for a cat getting 2.5u dose, if they go low, they get a 0.25u decrease - that's 10%. You don't want to lose the momentum, but going in the 30's tells you that the dose is too big, so you do want to decrease enough to make a difference so he's not back in the 30's again tomorrow.

With a 22.5u dose, a 10% reduction would be - 2.25u, or a new dose of 20.25. ish. :lol:

So, are you saying to drop him back by 2 units???

Matt will be home at +5.5/+6. There won't be anyone to test in the first half of the cycle.
 
Re: 9/1 Cobb AMPS 97 +6 38 +7 49 +7.5 55 +9.5 57 +11 49 PMPS

i don't know, but just wanted to throw it out there to add for your consideration. I don't think I'd reduce by that much. I think i'd see how he does tonight and tomorrow morning's amps and go from there.
 
Re: 9/1 Cobb AMPS 97 +6 38 +7 49 +7.5 55 +9.5 57 +11 49 PMPS

Ok, gotcha! We'll see how he does tonight.

Donaleen, I wish you were here too! I wouldn't worry about Cobb at all, and Matty would have someone fun to play with too! :cool:
 
Re: 9/1 Cobb AMPS 97 +6 38 +7 49 +7.5 55 +9.5 57 +11 49 PMPS

I will leave the dosing to the acro experts but I like the "ish" part :lol: :lol: :lol:

On a more serious note, I do wonder if the depot size is relative. In other words, a non IAA or potentially acro cat is telling you the depot is pretty big if they throw a 30s number. So when I look at a 22u depot, I'm thinking "huge". But what I don't know is if the physiology of the IAA and/or acro make it relatively not as big. Does that make sense? I gotta believe that any cat that gets in the 30s has too large of a depot no matter the condition or lack of one.
 
Re: 9/1 Cobb AMPS 97 +6 38 +7 49 +7.5 55 +9.5 57 +11 49 PMPS

On a more serious note, I do wonder if the depot size is relative. In other words, a non IAA or potentially acro cat is telling you the depot is pretty big if they throw a 30s number. So when I look at a 22u depot, I'm thinking "huge". But what I don't know is if the physiology of the IAA and/or acro make it relatively not as big. Does that make sense? I gotta believe that any cat that gets in the 30s has too large of a depot no matter the condition or lack of one.

exactly marje! i agree completely. i do think that giving the 1/2 dose this evening makes a significant "dent" in the depot and will allow you to give a "regular" reduced dose in the morning. In my experience, even with a non-high dose cat if you have a significant low cycle, like Cobb had today, and then you reduce the dose by a quarter unit for the next cycle, the chances are pretty high that if the cat doesn't bounce, you'll likely still have a similarly low cycle again.

Same thing with Cobb - if you'd just reduced tonight's dose by 2.25units, his depot would likely bring about low numbers in this evening's cycle. By giving the one time significantly reduced dose, it seems like that changes things up enough that he *hopefully* won't have low numbers tonight. It's a significant interruption. At least I hope so. :-D
 
Re: 9/1 Cobb AMPS 97 +6 38 +7 49 +7.5 55 +9.5 57 +11 49 PMPS

I would be getting a +1 and +2, though. I believe strongly in the power of the depot to affect the cycle after a low number even with a larger reduction. I think you might not see the effects if the greatly reduced shot until later in the cycle or even tomorrow. That's why I'm not an enormous fan of BCSs because some people get complacent because they think the reduced dose will immediately take effect. It doesn't always.

I know you will not, Suzanne, because you are one sharp lady. However, for lurkers and inexperienced caregivers, I wanted to add that about complacency.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top