9/5 Scully AMPS=367 +4=219 +8=80 +9=142

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara and Scully

Member Since 2014
Previous condo (8/30/14):
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124452

After increasing Scully's dose on 8/29/14 to 1.25 U, I still wasn't seeing low enough numbers, so we increased her dose again after 9 cycles to 1.5 U. She got down to 51 at +5 last night. I didn't feed her any high carb food, instead I gave her some of her regular low carb food to see if that would encourage a nice green surf. It kept her numbers above 50, but she bounced anyway. We know she's a bouncy girl, though. Today she cleared the bounce quickly, but I think she may be zooming up again. Her BG has risen 64 points in an hour! I'm hopeful though that we will start seeing green on a more regular basis again and her liver will calm down. Paws crossed!

After almost 6 months of giving her insulin shots, I had my first "fur shot" yesterday morning. At least, I guess you would call it a fur shot. When I injected, the insulin literally came out the other side of her tented skin! Just shot right out! I was pretty certain very little insulin, if any, was absorbed into her body, so I had very few qualms about giving her a second reduced dose of 1 U.

It was hot and humid today, temps near 90, and my mom and I were both off of work, so what better way to spend one of the last hot days of summer than floating on a raft in the pool sipping wine coolers and listening to music? And I had one of those "exhale moments" where time slows down and you take stock of your life and you realize that everything that's important, everything that truly matters (marriage, family, etc.) is all good at this moment in time, and you can ... aahhh....exhale. Everyone is healthy and happy and life is good in your little corner of the world. These moments can be few and far between, and they are fleeting, so it's important to catch them when you can. But I had one today where I could breathe and be thankful for all that's good in my life. I'm wishing all of you an "exhale moment," hopefully soon, and sending lots of hugs and healing vines to our sugar kitties and their beans who need them.

Tara & Scully
 
Scully is looking pretty good at this dose in spite of the fur shot. Of course the cycle count starts over after that.

I sometimes think these bouncy cats need constant reminders that green is good. If they are away from it for a while, the liver goes all twitchy again. :roll: Same thing happened to me yesterday. Paws crossed Scully flattens out soon.
 
Good job increasing the dose. Scully likes it!!

I love your reflections about taking an exhale moment and realizing how great life is. Our "motto" is from Don Henley "to want what I have, to take what I'm given with grace". Remembering that gives us more exhale moments :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top