9/6 Tink AMPS 184, +2=69, +2.5 = 57, + 2.75=48, +3=53

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenM

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124765&p=1293280#p1293280

Fed his regular 1.5oz (ish) meal of lc at PS. Fed another (closer to 3oz) meal of lc at +2. Thought I was giving a "regular" size meal... but then realized I gave 1/4 can, not 1/8. It was 6am. LOL. However, +2.5 (which is only 20min after he FINISHED eating, 30 min from when I tested), he's down a few more points to a semi-scary (our lowest ever) 57. Should I break out the hc, or feed more lc?? He'll eat whatever I throw at him. He was super excited for his +2 meal, sans water. :)

UPDATE: I know it's not TECHNICALLY a 911 yet, but being as we're so early in the cycle, I'm concerned. Tested again at +2.75 and got a 48 - lc not cuttin' it, still dropping pretty fast. Broke out the gravy lovers and he's savoring every last drop of the spoonful I gave him. Will test again shortly.

He's acting fine - just finished his hc and opened my bedroom door to come out (fed him in there so he wasn't fighting off the others for the food).
 
Re: 9/6 Tink AMPS 184, +2=69, +2.5 = 57 Fed lc, do I need HC

With that much of a drop and being at 57 @+2.5 if it were my cat t would give 2 tsp of hc, the insulin is just staring to work.
But you may want to wait till under 50( your cat will earn a reduction) then you can carb your cat up. It takes my cat .5oz hc and .4 Karo to get out of below 50. Then I test every 15-20 min till above 50, then every 30 min once above 50. You will not be in n the clear until you see 2 rising numbers that are not influenced by food.
 
Re: 9/6 Tink AMPS 184, +2=69, +2.5 = 57 Fed lc, do I need HC

Good Morning ~O) :cool:

Test again at +3 and see where he is. Then you can decide if and what you need to feed.

"Feed the 40s" is another LL-ism. If he dips into the 40s, you feed HC, but easy does it . He has to be hungry enough to continue to eat if needed.
 
Re: 9/6 Tink AMPS 184, +2=69, +2.5 = 57, + 2.75=48 fed hc

OK now that your cat is below 50 follow 2nd half of my post.
And congratulations on a reduction.
 
Re: 9/6 Tink AMPS 184, +2=69, +2.5 = 57, + 2.75=48 fed hc

Wow - looks like you're going to have a busy morning. You said you fed hc - great job. Try to just feed a couple of teaspoons at a time - mostly the gravy part since that's where the carbs are. You don't want Tink to get too full since you may need to steer the numbers for a while. Retest in about 20 minutes.

And take a deep breath!
 
Re: 9/6 Tink AMPS 184, +2=69, +2.5 = 57 Fed lc, do I need HC

Darin & Charlie said:
I test every 15-20 min till above 50, then every 30 min once above 50. You will not be in n the clear until you see 2 rising numbers that are not influenced by food.
 
Re: 9/6 Tink AMPS 184, +2=69, +2.5 = 57, + 2.75=48 fed hc

The reduction is interesting... since this was the second shot on an increased dose.

Here I thought I was gonna get to sleep in. :lol:
 
Re: 9/6 Tink AMPS 184, +2=69, +2.5 = 57, + 2.75=48 fed hc

Good job.

Reduction earned. Now like Darin pointed out, you can have a carb fest, however like Shelly pointed out start with the gravy - that's where the carbs are.
And easy does it, you want to keep him hungry.

Do you have any karo?

Then test every 15-20 min till above 50,
Once above 50 continue to test n every 30 mins.
 
Re: 9/6 Tink AMPS 184, +2=69, +2.5 = 57, + 2.75=48 fed hc

Ok... the gravy lovers did the trick. Just retested at +3 and he's back up to 53. The can of gravy lovers was on the counter (assumed I need a little more) and he wouldn't hold STILL for the test cuz he could smell it. :lol:

On the bright side, for now, getting him to eat is NOT an issue. But, I can see how it could be if I were shoving food down him for a couple hours straight. Though he's been SO hungry for SO long at this point, I think it would take quite a bit for him to loose interest in food.

Will test again in a little bit. He eats his regular meal in an hour.

Thanks for the reassurance. I'll go remove the 911 for now.

So, just to be clear, I go back to 2.5u for tonight's dose - even though this increase was brand new, right? I'm not sure how yesterday morning's furshot and all-day-high plays into it. Frankly, given that he essentially got no insulin yesterday, I was expecting a higher cycle today. Was surprised to see such a drop at PS (compared to the evening's numbers, as late as +8.5) - so this cycle is quite a surprise.
 
Great job getting Tink above 50. Just remember that the high-carb stuff can wear off pretty quickly - especially in an active cycle like this.

I'll be watching for your next update!
 
I would test again in 20-30 minutes to make sure that the number wasn't just a food induced rise....

Remember, you want TWO rising numbers that are not food influenced.....after Tink gets over 50
 
OH yeah, I'll be poking him relentlessly until at least +6. nailbite_smile Will test again in a few.

And yes, I have both karo and honey on hand. If I need them, is one better than the other? I'd lean toward honey, being more natural (it's local raw honey)... but I don't know. Doubt I'll need it though... he's very carb sensitive, so the FF should be enough.
 
Wonder what the next bounce will look like. We've swung about 600pts in the last 18hrs. :o
 
Skooter is pretty carb sensitive as well....the only time I have had to break out the karo is when he dipped into the 30s.....

I don't think one is more effective than the other.....it is probably another one of those ECID and ESID (every situation is different)....knowing Skooter, the karo would work well the first time and then do squat next time and the honey would work lolol
 
From the Shooting and Handling Low Numbers sticky:
Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off.
 
Wow, Tink, Clare and Billie are all up to something this morning!! I guess they were all in a rush for their reductions. Jen, I too thought I was going to sleep in :lol:
 
Ok... so now at +3.5 we're back down to 50. Should I give more hc or hold off a bit?
 
Hi Jen,

Fantastic job with Tink this morning! Our kitties were in this together somehow (Tink, Billie and Clare) just to make Saturday morning more interesting.

Congratulations on the reduction and here's to smooth surfing for Tink. :mrgreen:

Georgette and Clare
 
Ok, up to 58 now at 3.75 with no additional food. He eats his regular meal in a few minutes. Hoping we're in the clear, but will keep testing every 30 min for a bit, till I'm sure. :mrgreen:
 
So, just to be clear, I go back to 2.5u for tonight's dose - even though this increase was brand new, right?

Okay, so I was thinking about this one. For newly diagnosed kitties, reductions are typically taken when they fall below 50. For long-term diabetics (e.g., 1 year), sometimes people wait until they fall between 40 and 50 on three separate occasions before taking a reduction.* I know Tink is close to that 1-year date. I would pose the question in your subject line and click on the question icon. Some other experienced users might have some thoughts on whether to reduce or not.

Hope Tink surfs safely for you the rest of the day!

EDITED TO ADD: I should have also said that they typically take a reduction the first time kitty falls under 40 regardless of how long since diagnosis.
 
Here's my thoughts on a reduction and others might also have some.

He got his first 2.75u shot last night (probable fur shot yesterday morning). He didn't look at great on 2.5u.

I've quite often seen in other kitties, and Gracie does this as well, that sometimes instead of NDW, they get pretty active on a dose increase. And then some, including Gracie, can start to fizzle a little. Tink did this with his increase to 2.5u. He looked good at first but then.....not so much.

He barely dipped his toes in the 40s today and came right up. If you are home today and tomorrow, IMHO, I'd hold the dose and see what he does. Sometimes just a few cycles at a higher dose will really kickstart them, they earn a reduction, and then they can do better on the reduced dose (e.g. In Tinks case, that would be 2.5u). So if you can monitor and you're up for it, I would give him a chance to see what this dose might do for him.

If he does really well and you start to get nervous about Monday, you can always reduce.

Others might have some great input that could give you some other thoughts to consider.
 
First a question, Tink's SS shows that he got 2.75 last night then 2.5 this morning. Is that correct?

For kitties that go OTJ then come back (returning from the falls), we tend to treat more like longer term diabetics and make it tougher to earn reductions. That's my long winded way of saying I agree with Marje and it would be great to take the opportunity of you being able to monitor this weekend and stick to 2.75U to see if he'll flatten out and spend more time in green.

Neko's also done a very active cycle a couple cycles after a fur shot, but for her it's not an indicator of what the dose can do, so I just hold the dose if she's just in the 40's.
 
Good Morning. I'm not as experienced as Marje, Wendy and Sandy, but I thought I would stick my oar in. I agree that you might want to hold the dose. I'd consider Tink a long term diabetic, even though you just resumed insulin in June. I think you have a better chance of holding a reduction if you spend a little more time at this dose.

That said, great job this morning! It does look like TInk wants to make progress! :mrgreen:
 
Wendy&Neko said:
First a question, Tink's SS shows that he got 2.75 last night then 2.5 this morning. Is that correct?
.

No, sorry, that was a typo. He got 2.75 this morning. I just corrected the SS.
 
And... as expected... the bounce has arrived. :roll:

I tend to agree with you all on holding the dose. Though I'm also interested in what the 2.5 would have looked like had he ever NOT bounced long enough to see it's true trend. But... we surfed the green for a bit today and started off in blue... which is improvement. He only BARELY dipped below 50. Granted, that was at +2 and things could have gotten ugly quickly without my being here to feed it... but fact of the matter is, I AM here today and tomorrow and can keep a close eye.

I'm interested to see if he double dips at all today. I'm hoping he does, as otherwise I fear we'll be "HI" again by PMPS... but we'll see.
 
I actually think we did see his trend on 2.5u. If he's getting yellow nadirs, who cares if he's bouncing, as Libby has said.
 
Hello again :cool:

I know that PMPS is hard on the eyes, however it was a short trip to serious green today from yesterdays PMPS.
Glad you held the 2.75u. Hopefully he will turn right back around (not too fast) again and spend more time in the greens.

How considerate of Tink to have a daytime PJ party Now you can get some sleep tonight! :-D
You may want to program load the feeder to deliver the overnight treats he had come to expect :razz:
That way perhaps he won't scratch at your door . . .

eta - if you can swing it, this cycle looks like a good opportunity to get +10 or +11.
That way if he pulls a fast one you will have a cushion of time to figure out the best strategy in the AM and also make a contribution to beefing up your data readiness.
(it's getting a little sparse down at that end of the ss)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top