Re: 9/8 Polly AMPS We're baaaaaaack. PMPS 216 (5U)
All's well at the end of the day. Great people at CSU, from the front desk to the volunteer wandering the waiting area greeting, small talking, and getting coffee for those of us waiting. To the student who took us back to an exam room, comfy and labeled "feline friendly." Yeah right! After his exam and comments (she's an easy kitty...my response, she's kind of a ragdoll, scared mindless but just goes limp.), Dr. Fitzpatrick came; she's Polly's internal medicine doctor here. (How come all these people look like they're in high school? They're either freaky young or I'm frickin' old...I kinda know the answer to that one. :lol: )
Liked Dr. Fitzpatrick tons. Interesting info. 50% of the treated cats go off insulin, 30%-40% see significant reductions in insulin needs.
Polly stayed for CT scan. I found a store to buy cat food!
Met the radiation oncologist when I went to pick up Polly, Dr. Swift, another young'un! Very impressive. We looked at the scan (the med student on our case will e-mail me a copy). Yup. There's the nodule, smallish. Polly will start the blasts tomorrow and get another for each of the following two days. (Dr. Fitzpatrick advised reduced dosing tonight as well as the usual half dose after the 12 hour fast tomorrow a.m.)
So, Miss Polly had a good day. And has eaten in small doses, 3/4 can of Fancy Feast beginning about a half hour after our return and will easily finish that before her 10:00 food curfew. And back to CSU by 8:00 tomorrow.
Looks like she's recovering nicely from her ordeal.
Half hour or so after getting back to the hotel:
And Miss Polly ridding herself of the icky hospital smell.
Or perhaps that's guilt grooming.
1. Yes an old lady can disassemble a California king platform bed. Not easy, but fear can provoke superhuman effort! (no cat under there.)
2. Every drawer in this room pulls out; lots of drawers. (no cat there)
3. The refrigerator does pull out of the cabinet it's in; the microwave, too. (no cat there)
4. My suitcases do unzip. (no cat there)
5. NO CAT ANYWHERE THIS MORNING. She'd awakened me at 5:00 a.m. begging for food. (sorry, kid). At 6:15, she had vanished.
6. The couch does pull away from the wall. (no cat there)
7. Couch tips over on its back. No rips in the fabric covering the bottom. (no cat in there)
8. Cushions come off the couch. (no cat there)
9. Toilet seat lifts up. (no cat in there, thank God)
10. Wait a minute, that's a sleeper-sofa. Pull up to lift up the folded "mattress." And there, smushed in the folded mattress, completely out of sight....(Praise be....There's a cat in there!!!!!)
Somehow the little *&$%@ cat squeezed under less than a three-finger gap, got under and behind the sofa and crawled up to hide inside the folded mattress. Darn lucky I didn't sit down this morning...I was too busy (one hour and ten minutes busy) looking for that drat cat.
Anybody want to come spend the night. We have the sofa bed pulled out and ready for company!
Thanks all. Polly and I know you're here with us...now, would you all please keep an eye on the cat!
Marilyn and Polly