09/10 - Java PMPS 379.......doesn't want to eat??

Status
Not open for further replies.

javasfambam

Member Since 2014
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=124972

Morning All

Last night Java tried rainbow skydiving. Went from pink to green inside 4 hours, stayed there for a while, then his liver woke up and sent him right up into Red this morning.

First nadir under 100! From +4 - +7, cheeky bugger changed it on us! So id just like to check protocol - tonight will be cycle 6 and we have had 1 nadir under 100 - so, the majority of his nadirs during this cycle tell me that we should increase by .25 to 4BID - however, he dropped it like its hot last night, so shall I hold?

All advice welcome! :)

Happy hump day! (well it is in NZ!)

Charlene
 
Re: 09/10 - Java AMPS 401 Blue and low green last nite - she

Considering the numbers last night, your instincts are correct

I'd hold the 3.75 for at least a couple more cycles and see what happens...Just because we can increase every 6 cycles doesn't always mean we should!

I'm not at all surprised he bounced up to red .....his liver hasn't seen "normal numbers" for quite some time and has forgotten what they're like.

Come on Java....let's see you do it again!
 
Re: 09/10 - Java AMPS 401 Blue and low green last nite - she

I didn't think about the date difference and just replied on what was apparently last night's post. ohmygod_smile

From the TR Protocol:
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

So give him 10 cycles total on this dose and see what he does with it. Mr. Greenie is happy to have met Java! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 09/10 - Java AMPS 401 Blue and low green last nite - she

Thanks ladies :)

Ill take on the spoon tip :) He was pretty much uninterested in eating as all he wanted to do was snuggle (it was a little cold last nite), so a teaspoon of gravy would probably have been much more interesting for him!

Ill hold the dose and see how he goes - he's on the trampoline today going on a big bounce!! Still happy and snugly! His beans need a little sleep though, neither of us got much sleep when mr greenhead showed up!

C
 
Re: 09/10 - Java AMPS 401 Blue and low green last nite - she

I hope Java gets used to the blues and greens soon and settles down on the bouncing.
 
Re: 09/10 - Java AMPS 401 Blue and low green last nite - she

What an awesome night last night! All that time under renal threshold. :-D :-D You must be exhausted - part of me hopes his bounce will last a little longer and give you some rest tonight.
 
Re: 09/10 - Java AMPS 401 Blue and low green last nite - she

We are a little weary today, and I'm sure his poor little ears would like a break too :)

It was a nervous night last night - but experience building :)
 
Hi Guys - its shot time, and Java doesn't want to eat. He ate very little this morning, and just wants to sleep or sit on us. He is purring when combed, will play with a toy, but seems, i don't know, sad? Annoyed?

Do I give him his evening shot - or skip as he isn't eating?

C
 
Hi Charlene, it is important for Java to eat. I been around only for 6 months or so, but I recall some of the advises I read form another posts or that I was given at some point.
What about sparkling some parmesan over his food? I have done that and Bruno loves it! Only it gives him loose poop afterwards.

Or adding some chicken broth to his food?

Or you can give him unsalted tuna (the canned one that comes on water not in oil)

I see that java is on purples but can go to greens on the same cycle and you don´t want him to go too low if you are not around to test. For Bruno it was better to shot, even a reduce dose, than to skip the shot, since he will high rocket after skipping, but that was Bruno and every cat is different.

Those are my suggestions, hopefully someone else more experienced will come on board to advise you better.
 
Hi Charlene. It's pretty late on the East Coast, and that's where most of our advice givers live. If it were my cat, I would stall as long as I can, trying to convince him to eat something. It doesn't matter if it's low carb or not. What's important is to get food into him. Do you have some chicken baby food, the kind with nothing but chicken and broth (or beef or turkey)? What about tuna fish? Do you have any freeze-dried meat like chicken or salmon? When my kitty won't eat I sprinkle some freeze-dried salmon on his food, and that gets him going.

I wouldn't shoot if he won't eat anything. If you do stall and eventually get him to eat, if you give the insulin, you'll need to adjust your next shot to 12 hours from this one. Hopefully, someone else will chime in with ideas. Good luck!
 
Thanks Ladies!

I just kept on popping him in front of his bowl and he's eaten half a serve (he gets quite big serves) so we gave him his shot.

He does go on and off his food so I'm hoping that its just that. He did have a really really low cycle last night, and it was his first one so i wonder if that has anything to do with it?

Im going to get a keto test tonight even if i have to stay up all night watching him! Fingers crossed for him!

C and Java
 
It's not unusual for the first experience with low numbers to throw a kitty off. Their body doesn't know how to deal with them anymore so they feel funny. Good job sticking with it! Hopefully he'll get more practice with the low numbers and they'll start to feel normal to him again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top