9/10 Cobb AMPS 92 +6 60 +8.5 63 PMPS 76 - eating question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Whaatt? Who is this cat? Cobb is LOVING Levemir. I am LOVING Levemir. Why didn't we switch earlier?! I do wish someone had suggested it! :lol: :lol: :lol: Hehe...I kid. I kid. Don't hurt me! :-D

Truly, Cobb is doing so well on Lev.

Wendy, in response to your post last night, my primary goal is to keep Cobb under 200. It's better for him. And the blue is a much prettier color on the spreadsheet. :lol: Of course I'd like him to earn reductions. If for no other reason than I'd like Cobb to be getting what I consider a reasonable dose of insulin a day (roughly 10, maybe 15 units). Also, if he earned reductions, I could be reasonably sure that the IAA had broken. But perhaps it has since we aren't just going up and up anymore. This could be the dose that manages the acro. I don't know...just thoughts.

Anyway, we are loving this morning's AMPS. I hope it sticks around!

I hope everyone is having a great week. Healing vines for everyone who needs them.

~Suzanne
 
Re: 9/10 Cobb AMPS 92

WOOT! Love that long slow slide to green. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Not all kitties go flat on Lev, so it was a bit of a gamble to switch. Of course, using less insulin helps too. :-D

I am not against reductions either, I just don't force them. If either the IAA breaks or the acro tumor wanes, then I am happy to see the dose going down. I just don't raise the dose to force a reduction back to the dose I was just on. My rule for Neko is "follow the nadir". If she is getting nadirs I like, stick to the dose. If not, change it. I think that's what you are doing anyway. Paws crossed this dose will frequently get Cobb into nice high greens.
 
Re: 9/10 Cobb AMPS 92

Cobb. Fantastic! You sure got a great mamabean to get you into a such nice numbers place.

Suzanne, I am just so impressed with how you figure all this stuff out and do such a super job with Cobb. Achhhhh, I am just so confuzzled by all this and find your management of your high-dose kitty amazing! Cobb is so lucky to have you.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 9/10 Cobb AMPS 92 +6 60 +8.5 63

Hi Suzanne:

Cobb is doing amazingly well lately. It's hard to believe this is the same cat, and all you did was change insulins! I'm delighted for you all! Keep up the good work! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/10 Cobb AMPS 92 +6 60 +8.5 63 PMPS 76 - eating questio

Eating question...

If Cobb weighs about 17-18 pounds, how much should he been eating? I have been feeding him almost 2 5.5oz cans a day because that's what he usually demands. But he didn't eat a ton today, and ate maybe half his dinner. I don't know if he's tired of the food (quite possible) or what.
 
Re: 9/10 Cobb AMPS 92 +6 60 +8.5 63 PMPS 76 - eating questio

Dr. Lisa suggests this formula based on calories -- not ounces -- of food:
Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70​

She also notes that EICD. Some cats may gain weight and others lose if you're using this formula. It is, however a place to start.
 
Re: 9/10 Cobb AMPS 92 +6 60 +8.5 63 PMPS 76 - eating questio

Well, I'm not sure what Cobb's optimal weight is. But I took his current weight and plugged it into the formula and he eats more calories than that as it is now. Maybe his body is finally processing the nutrients and he's not slowly starving to death any more.
 
Re: 9/10 Cobb AMPS 92 +6 60 +8.5 63 PMPS 76 - eating questio

How much to feed is very much an individual cat decision

Weigh Cobb once a week...if he's at a good weight now, you'll be able to catch if he's gaining or losing and adjust the amount he's eating from there

It's truly wonderful to see how well Cobb is doing on the Levemir, Suzanne! If we could just get that crystal ball of ours fixed, we could all know what best to do for our cats, but until then, we just have to decide on one protocol and give it a chance to work (or not work)

Hope you have a quiet night and the rest of your week is great!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top