9/10 Polly PMPS 148 (5U)+1=194+2=245

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marilyn and Sheldon

Member Since 2014
yesterday

Recap 9/9

300 amps
264 +10
269 PMPS (10U)
218 +1
109 +2
80 +2.5
95 +3
95 +3.5
113 +4
107 +5
106 +6
127 +7

Off to drop Polly at CSU. Echo and 2nd radiation today.

I'll be back.

Thanks for hanging with us last night.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 9/10 Polly AMPS 187

Wow on last night! :shock: :mrgreen: Nice start to the day too. I hope you get a nap in this morning after dropping off Miss Polly.

Over half way done at CSU. :-D BTW: dose reductions for us started right away. Neko started going down too low for my comfort the first day of driving back home, so I gave her a .5U reduction. It held. Two nights after we got home she got another one. The CSU folks told me that changes typically happen 2-3 weeks after SRT, and it was unusual to see changes that quickly, but not impossible. Or her IAA could be breaking.

Sending lots of good vetty vines for today and hoping for "normal" as the echo results. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/10 Polly AMPS 187

Beautiful surf...she sure kept you on your toes last night. Continued "awesome SRT" vines coming your way!!!
 
Re: 9/10 Polly AMPS 187

Nice job getting her back up last night. I know you were very concerned. I hope you got some sleep. Nap today? ;-) :-D

Sending good vines for today's treatment and tonight's numbers!
 
Re: 9/10 Polly AMPS 187

I'm glad things worked out with Polly's numbers last night. Sending prayers everything goes well today.
 
Re: 9/10 Polly AMPS+9=120+10=141+11=118 SRT report day 3

Polly is fine again tonight. Tired. But last night was a long night for both of us.

IM doctor advised half dose tonight after last night's plunge. I'm not even sure about that. She's been at about 120 without food influence (she ate at +9, a little) since we got home around +9. I fear I'll feed her, shoot her, and then at +2, +3, etc. she'll drop precipitously and we'll play the same game we played last night.

What's the point of trying to lower glucose with an insulin injection and then spending the next 7 hours trying to bring glucose up with food/honey?

I'm just not sure what to do. Shoot half dose, risk another night of trying to get her numbers up. Skip this dose altogether and risk a zoom up by AMPS when she will get a half dose.

I dunno. Appreciate any input.


And all the below is my exciting afternoon touring and learning about the SRT process that Miss Polly is experiencing. I found it fascination. I understand if others don't!!

CSU is amazing. Large waiting area, wings branching out in at least four directions. Busy, busy, busy. Blue-lab coated people bustling about, mostly 4th year students coming in to the waiting area to find, meet clients. Lots of smiles and personal attention. Constant motion. But seems almost choreographed. White-coated doctors also come out to share info with waiting clients. Always a palpable sense of kindness, compassion. As busy and hectic as the place seems, each professional-client contact is without rush. Calm, as though the client is the only person in the often very crowded room.

Had a chance to really observe the initial goings-on as I waited about a half hour for a 1:00 appt. with Polly's radiation oncologist. Since she was held up, Dr. LaRue, head of Radiation/Oncology Dept. meet me to start THE TOUR! Wow! When she found out Polly was originally a street cat who'd been painfully shy, she had to pull out her phone and show me pictures of her former street cat, a wild child, as we were walking down the hallway to our first stop. And her beautiful grey white cat, 20 years old. And her gorgeous long-hair black cat...and a skip through her black lab ...ahhhhh, I miss Will. Hope he's having fun with the people who are keeping him while I'm gone.

Clear, but fast, explanation of the stereotactic radiation beam machine and how the process is tailored to Polly, accompanied by computer images of Polly's CT scans, the process used to determine beam path, and the final image of how the beams attack the tumor. Looked like an incredible string art picture.

Then through the holding area. Large, but pretty sterile cages. About eight of them. Into the next room where a bank of computers made me think of a NASA launch scenario. One focused on patient, one focused on the action of the beam, one monitoring anesthesia, one showing the roof above the radiation room...concrete encased room save for the roof. No workers up there during any treatments!

Next, into the accelerator room itself, with a pass through a small anteroom where Dr. Swift (Polly's radiation oncologist) showed me the mold of Polly's mouth that helps to line her up perfectly each day in the same position. Since she has no teeth, Polly's mold had her gums and all the little ridges in the roof of her mouth as guide lines. And there's a wire plastic mask-like thingy that fits over her head as well as a formed "pillow" that her head rests on. She must be placed exactly in place each day.

In the blast room. A dog, Jack Russell type, on the carbon table awaiting radiation; they were positioning him. The beam accelerator is magnificent. Amazing. I got to look at anything I wanted, even up into the glass fronted rectangular configuration the beam comes through. So much fun, for me. So much good for Polly.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 9/10 Polly AMPS 187+9=120+10=141+11=118 QUESTION?
 

Attachments

  • feline-friday-mad-scientist.jpg
    feline-friday-mad-scientist.jpg
    24.9 KB · Views: 343
Re: 9/10 Polly AMPS 187+9=120+10=141+11=118 QUESTION?

Looks like Polly is feeling the effects of anesthesia, which can lower BG's. Julie and I were mulling over this evening's dose, but neither of our cats seemed to notice the anesthesia BG lowering effect at CSU. Another ECID thing I guess. I've seen a number of kitties go into BG dive mode after anesthesia for dentals or other operations, especially after shooting the full dose. Polly is probably also feeling the effects of not much food on board today.

I agree with the IM doctor that no more than 1/2 dose tonight. You both need sleep. One night of slightly higher numbers (should that happen) is better than risking too low. If you want to go lower, go with your gut. Polly will recover. The morning of our third day, my 1/2 dose was a fur shot. :oops: And Neko was back to blue for the final morning.

Julie's punkin also started seeing dose reductions shortly after SRT. We have discussed maybe 9.0 as Polly's new dose going forward, whenever you get back to regular dosing again. If nothing else, it'll be safer for travel home. You can always go back up if you need to.

I found the CSU tour very interesting. DH and I are techies so we were drinking it all in. Cool that you got to meet Dr. LaRue.

Anne cracks me up with her pictures. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/10 Polly AMPS 187+9=120+10=141+11=118 PMPS 148 (5U)

Thanks, Wendy. She was at 148 at PMS, w/o food for two hours previous. so.....I waffled, and waffled, and waffled...and they got syrupy (groan) and decided to go for 1/2 dose. We didn't come here because we're too cautious. And I hate changing doses willy-nilly to suite my frustrations. I know if she dives again, honey will bring her up!

Doctor Fitzpatrick advised half doses (5U) 'til we get home. But we've got time to decide that. I just want to really avoid situational doses, up and down, up and down. So we'll hang at 5 U now if we can. Reassess Friday AM with confidence since we'll be hanging out together at the hotel for a day and a half after that.

Tired. Yes, I am. Stopped at a four way stop (stop signs) just outside the hotel this morning and sat there waiting for the light to change!!1 Light. Hey dope, there's no light. And no cars. Just gooooooooo!

Crossing everything I can Miss Polly stays in comfy numbers tonight. And, if she doesn't, we'll deal with it.

Thanks again. For everything.

Marilyn
 
Re: 9/10 Polly AMPS 187+9=120+10=141+11=118 PMPS 148 (5U)

It's awesome that you have such great help figuring out doses. :-D :-D Julie and Wendy are fantastic. :-D :-D Many vines for the rest of the treatment.
Liz
 
Re: 9/10 Polly AMPS 187+9=120+10=141+11=118 PMPS 148 (5U)+1=

So glad you and Polly are doing so well :)

Except of course for the stop sign ;-) I don't care to admit how many times I have done stuff like that :lol:

Hopefully Polly surfs beautifully for you tonight so you can get some sleep. The tour sounds fascinating....even though I hope to never need their services, I would love to take a tour like that...
 
Re: 9/10 Polly AMPS 187+9=120+10=141+11=118 QUESTION?

Anne!

Now, stop that!!!! You're going to get me kicked out of the hotel! Or perhaps management will think I have a hyena in my room.
(Please, don't stop. Your pix make me laugh crazy at times when I most need crazy laugh! Thank you.)

Marilyn and Polly (who now wants a pair of goggles)
 
Re: 9/10 Polly AMPS 187+9=120+10=141+11=118 PMPS 148 (5U)

Anne & Zener said:
It's awesome that you have such great help figuring out doses. :-D :-D Julie and Wendy are fantastic. :-D :-D Many vines for the rest of the treatment.
Liz

Ain't that the truth! I am so lucky to have their help.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 9/10 Polly AMPS 187+9=120+10=141+11=118 PMPS 148 (5U)+1=

Hi Marilyn and Polly! What a cool update to read. It sounds like the tour was incredible and that the staff was as compassionate about their patients as they would be their own pets. Were you able to get any pictures during the tour? You must have taken some really good notes because your description is so detailed and interesting to read. It sounds like Polly is really tolerating the procedures well which must be a relief.

I just love reading your updates (i.e., missing cat :shock: ) about Miss Polly's adventures. :-D I hope she gives you some easy-breezy numbers tonight so you can get a good night's sleep.

Continued good treatment vines headed your way!
 
Re: 9/10 Polly AMPS 187+9=120+10=141+11=118 PMPS 148 (5U)+1=

It sounds like another good day for Polly! Awesome! I didn't know she used to be a street cat. I'm so glad she ended up with you. My civvie Brooklyn was a street cat too. She is a sweetheart but she still has a little bit of tough cat attitude :lol:

I hope tonight is less eventful than last night and you get to relax!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top