9/19 Cinco PMPS 173 +2.5 235 +5 109 +7 93

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
9/18 Recap:
1.5 units bid
AMPS: 214
AM+2.5: 140
AM+4: 95
PMPS: 185
PM+2.5: 222
PM+6: 231
PM+8: 224

Yesterday's Condo

I am really confused by Cinco's patterns lately. Nice cycles in the daytimes, but he just goes up at night without coming down at all - although he doesn't go really high. I gave him a really good sniff test both of the last two nights, and I'm sure he did not get a fur shot either time. So what gives? The insulin vial is only three months old, and clear with no floaties. Any thoughts?

Still struggling with trying to determine the carbs on several foods not on Dr. Lisa's lists. I've tried the calculators, but I'm not very confident in my results. I've never been good at math! :roll:

Sasha continues to do well. Side effects seem to be gone for now. Next treatment is Tuesday the 30th, and we'll start all over again. This time I will be more proactive with the Ondansetron, and maybe we can avoid any tummy upsets.

Sending healing vines to all in need and hugs to all their beans. :YMHUG: Praying for Amy's DF, Lyresa's DF, Elise's DM and Wendy's DM. Watching Skunky's OTJ trial with building excitement! :-D
 
Re: 9/19 Cinco AMPS 253 +4 117 +6 92

Tricia, what is the expiration date? If close perhaps it has lost its potency even if not expired. :idea: confused_cat
 
Re: 9/19 Cinco AMPS 253 +4 117 +6 92 +7 84

I empathize with you. Those kind of numbers are so frustrating. Furball does that to me at times too. I hope you can figure out what is going on with Cinco. I'm glad Sasha is doing well. From what I've read, if the insulin is bad, you'll get really wonky numbers.
 
Re: 9/19 Cinco AMPS 253 +4 117 +6 92 +7 84

Nope and that is so far away that I doubt that is it. My first vial lasted 5 months before I questioned it and lost potency for good during the 6th I think. Since it was my first and I hadn't read up on it I did inject extra back in a few times at the beginning as well. When I started questioning it Max was hitting green but not staying there for long if I recall. I'll have to take another look.
 
Re: 9/19 Cinco AMPS 253 +4 117 +6 92 +7 84

I really wish I could help you figure out why Cinco is bouncing in the PM cycles. It does look like he slid down more slowly today from the PS number than the past couple of days, so it will be interesting to see if that makes a difference tonight. That's the only item thing that really stood out to me on the ss. But you know I'm definitely no whiz when it comes to interpreting the numbers and recognizing patterns.

I would love to try some of the brands not on Dr. Pierson's list. I keep promising myself that at some point I'll find some varieties I want to try and contact the manufacturers for the as fed values. Somehow it keeps getting pushed to the bottom of my to do list, probably because I'm scared I won't get the right information, do the calculations wrong, and end up giving food that is too high in carbs. :YMSIGH:

So glad to hear that Sasha is doing well. How many more treatments does she have after the one on the 30th? And is Cinco completely done with the cone for the time being?

From Zener's condo:

That picture is hysterical, Shelly. Where did you find it?

I just googled "cat poop on shoe." I was tired of everyone sharing hilarious pics while all I do is use the standard ol' smilies. I figured it was time for me to throw a pic out there. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/19 Cinco AMPS 253 +4 117 +6 92 +7 84 +8.5 89

Thanks, Elise. That's what I thought. It must be something else. confused_cat

Yeah, Carla. It is frustrating. Hopefully he'll get over this phase. I really, really like today's cycle, so he'll probably do something crazy tonight! :roll:

Shelly, it was a perfect choice. I've been posting more pictures, too. Anne & Liz are particularly good at finding the right ones.

Shelly, that is exactly why I hesitate. I know Dr. Lisa is updating her list, so I hope she is going to include some more brands on it. I bought a bunch of Dave's to try, but they aren't the 95% so now I'm nervous about it. nailbite_smile

Sasha has two more treatments after the one on the 30th, for a total of 4. They are given three weeks apart, so it seems like the whole thing takes forever! At least she has plenty of time to recover between them.

Cinco will have to wear the cone again for about two weeks following his surgery, which takes place on the 24th. After that, assuming his recovery goes as well as it did the last time, he should be done with the rigid cone. He won't have any more eye issues, since he'll be out of eyes, so it would only be needed if he had a procedure on another body part, and we'll cross our paws and hope that doesn't happen!

He's getting grouchy with me for poking him so much today, so as badly as I want to watch this pretty cycle progress, I think I'll lay off until PMPS.
 
Re: 9/19 Cinco AMPS 253 +4 117 +6 92 +7 84 +8.5 89

Hey Cinco! Keep up the good work! We're driving them good and crazy, aren't we? (tee hee hee) ~ China

Hi Tricia! The best I can come up with on the Dave's food is they are all under 4% with some coming up with negative numbers. When they come up negative, that's supposed to mean they're ultra low (We all know there's no such thing as a negative carb, but everything I've read on all the carb calculator say if you get a negative, it's just because the GA isn't exact and it means it's really low carb)

Their 95% foods they have the "as fed" numbers on, but it looks like they're having trouble getting the chicken flavor. Looks like good stuff though!

From their site:
HI folks, Dave here. I want to explain why we and many other brands are out of stock on some flavors. The canned dog and cat food business has exploded in the last couple of years BUT there has been no new canning plants opened. So all plants are in an over capacity situation. Little guys like me (and the not so little brands) got sent the back of the list so the manufacturers could produce the big boys food.. Our manufacturer is adding another shift and promises me they will be back in full
production..but it ain’t happenin overnight. The good news is I was promised things are easing up and the situation will get better.. if not fixed completely.

I'm going to try something new soon called "Answers". It's another raw diet but they also add goats milk which is supposed to be a great addition (nutrition wise) They only have chicken and beef though. Guess it's good that China likes chicken! I have to find something else she'll eat before I run out of the old stock of Natures Variety I bought when they changed the formula.....so far I'm not having much luck though

I swear, I spend a lot of time researching cat foods....you'd think with as much work as we put into finding a good food for them, they'd actually appreciate it and eat it! :lol:

Great to hear Sasha's doing well. Hopefully the proactive Ondansetron will make a big difference in how she feels.

Wonder if they'll make it to the lagoon tonight? Your guess is as good as mine!!....LOL
 
Re: 9/19 Cinco AMPS 253 +4 117 +6 92 +7 84 +8.5 89

Thanks, Chris. That's what I got and I didn't think it could be right, but if you got the same numbers, I feel better about it. Now, after all that, watch my kitties not like any of them! :roll: I did see that note about lack of availability on the 95% stuff. I guess Ella was lucky to find some. I'll keep checking for it. My kitties like flavors that include chicken, but they don't seem to care about ones that are just chicken. Yet, they love little bits of cooked chicken! Go figure. They also prefer pate to flaked.

So far the response among my cats to raw food has ranged from "ick, what's that?" to "Meh". Doesn't seem like the best option for us.
 
Re: 9/19 Cinco AMPS 253 +4 117 +6 92 +7 84 +8.5 89

Oh, I don't envy you with trying to find new fuds...never a fun game here. But what a gorgeous green surf once Cinco decided to break his bounce. Absolutely perfect! I hope he carries it through the evening. Have a great one, Tricia!
 
Re: 9/19 Cinco AMPS 253 +4 117 +6 92 +7 84 +8.5 89

That's a beautiful cycle for Cinco! :mrgreen: Great to hear Cinco and Sasha are feeling well, hope the same is true with Harvey and Minka, when I last read your condo, everybody was barfing! :shock: Good luck with the new fuds, I have been wondering about trying some of those raw foods but my luck Tiger wouldn't eat it! :roll: Hope you have a safe surf tonight! :-D
 
Re: 9/19 Cinco PMPS 173 +2.5 235

ARGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am totally :dizcat


Can anyone make any suggestions, guesses, wild shots in the dark???? Why is he doing this at night?

Yes, Ruth, thank you for asking, Minka and Harvey are doing fine.

We tried Dave's Turkey and Giblets tonight. The boys loved it. The girls were a little more tempered in their enthusiasm, but I think we could add it to our repertoire. I'm just confused about the phosphorus. It says "as fed" is 27 %. Is that good or bad?
 
Re: 9/19 Cinco PMPS 173 +2.5 235

I think it's .27%.....that should be less than 1% so seems like it's pretty low to me but I'm not a phosphorus expert

As for Cinco's latest pattern...I'll ask China if she'll tell me what's up with him if you'll ask him what's up with China!
 
Re: 9/19 Cinco PMPS 173 +2.5 235

The answer to your question is - because he's a cat!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Seriously though, I'd trade those cycles for Neko's where she likes to visit the lagoon at night and bounce during the day, then get over it and go down again at night. Lather, rinse, repeat. Yawn. Great cycle for Cinco today.
 
Re: 9/19 Cinco PMPS 173 +2.5 235

Tricia

They are going to remove both his eyes? I hope it helps him feel better.

Gracie has done this many times (higher at night). In fact, she's doing it on her current dose but, so far, she has gone into blue instead of yellow. I tried to figure out what is so different and we do feed differently at night but I don't think that's it. If she doesn't go too high, I'm happy to sleep. When she starts creeping up above renal threshold, I wait a couple cycles and if she doesn't start doing better, I iincrease the dose. I've increased even with daytime nadirs in the 40s. You are experienced and test a lot so you can think about tweaking the dose up just a tad.

I'm glad Sasha is doing well. Sending tons more vines.

You asked about giving Gracie Pepcid. I don't think it is acid; I think it's her liver issues. I'm not a fan of anti acids unless they are really, really indicated. Our stomachs need acid to function properly and to keep bacteria in check. The anti acids don't just decrease excess acid, they decrease it all.

If you want to send me the as Feds for any foods, I will plug them into Janet's calculator.
 
Re: 9/19 Cinco PMPS 173 +2.5 235

Oops, you're right, Chris. That . was hard to see! ohmygod_smile

Cinco refuses to spill the beans about China. He just gives me that Cheshire cat grin and turns away. :roll:

Well, Wendy, I'm a night person, so I'd rather have the hijinks at night, myself, but I don't think he'll switch it around to accommodate me! :lol:

Marje, Cinco's right eye was removed in March, along with the a tumor. We are going to have the left eye removed because if we don't he'll continue to get infections, be uncomfortable, and have to be given multiple eye drops every day for the rest of his life. Since the eye is non-visual, it seems like it would make for a better QOL to get rid of it. I suggested it to the Ophthalmologist and he said he thought it was an appropriate choice in Cinco's situation. I think he will be a much happier cat when I don't have to put drops in his eyes 9-12 times a day anymore.

Thanks for the advice about Cinco's BGs. When you say increase the dose "a tad", do you think I should just fatten it? Or go up the usual .25 unit? I've wondered if that might help. Thanks for the offer to help me figure out the carbs. You are so busy, I would not impose on you unless i am desperate. You are very kind to offer.
 
:oops: :oops: :oops: ok...I knew he had his left eye removed already. Sorry....maybe I've still got jet lag :lol: :lol:

Gracie is sending Cinco an invitation to be an honorary member of her "Lil Stinka" Club :lol: :lol:

But...just in case....by a tad, I meant just to fatten...just fine tune. :-D but someone had other ideas ;-)

However....just watch for him possibly flip flopping his. Y led where he bounces during the day and gets green at night. He might be just trying to fool you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top