9/28 Tink +12=63, PMPS 77, 1=65, 2=51, 2.5=51, +3.5=44

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenM

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=126046

To respond to a comment from yesterday...

Marje and Gracie said:
Yikes Tink!!! thats quite a drop!!! Gracie would like you to join her "Lil Stinka" club :lol: :lol:

No kidding you had a pj party last night. What you are seeing tonight is likely depot from the higher dose so keep that in mind if he goes below 50 again. I wouldn't reduce tomorrow. Just try and ride it out and hope that once his depot drains to the new dose, he will get a bit flatter.

Hope you can get hi to surf in those 70s tonight.

:cool: Tink was quite honored when I told him he'd been invited to the "Lil Stinka" club. :lol:

I'm glad you mentioned the depot, because as I saw his big +3 drop this morning, and after needing to food load him to stay in the 50
s, I was wondering if I'd not decreased enough. I guess we'll see.

I DO wish he'd start following the RULES of the protocol! Being bouncy or having a fast drop cycle is one thing... but having a flat or higher +2, then dropping nearly 75pts (40+pts from PS) at +3 makes it really hard for the Bean to follow his lead in this dance! It has me really a bit flustered, as I've adjusted my work/sleep schedule about as much as I can in order to make a +2 doable each morning. There is NO way I can do a +3. Even if I got up an hour earlier to shoot - I could not get home early enough to shoot his PM shot 12hrs later. So... I'm trying to get data today and I guess I'll just feed him tomorrow (via the feeder) as if he's going to drop at +3 even if his +2 looks good. Better safe than sorry.

Surfing the 70s would be LOVELY. I'd even take the 60s. Just stay OUT of the 50s... they make momma nervous! nailbite_smile
 
Re: 9/28 Tink AMPS 117, +2=146, +3=74 *catsgonnakillme*

Good Morning ~O) ~O) :cool:

JenM said:
I DO wish he'd start following the RULES
Follow rules??? Kitties don't follow no stinkin' rules! ;-)

He is riding the edge right now, which for a CG is challenging (and maddening) but won't last forever.

JenM said:
I'm trying to get data today and I guess I'll just feed him tomorrow (via the feeder) as if he's going to drop at +3 even if his +2 looks good. Better safe than sorry.
Good strategy.

Looks to me like your brain has completed the switch over to Lantus thinking and your instincts are good.
Well done! :cool:
 
Re: 9/28 Tink AMPS 117, +2=146, +3=74 *catsgonnakillme*

So far so good. Surfing the 70s so far this morning. :mrgreen: Moving his regular meal from +4 to +3 may need to be the permanent plan. Then perhaps add additional mini meals (of whatever carb level is needed) on those mornings where +2 indicates a wild ride. Seems like (thus far at least) the Lantus hits a little harder on Tink than it does on some kitties.
 
Re: 9/28 Tink PMPS 63 - stalling

Good grief. PMPS 63... HOW does he even DO this?? @-) He was headed up, at 83 almost five hours ago. Given that he doesn't like to play nicely with "shoot low to stay low", I'm going to retest in 30 and see what he's planning. So far, shooting under 100 has not worked out well. That said... I also can't stall LONG, because I need to be reasonably on time for work tomorrow, since I have a new employee starting.
 
Re: 9/28 Tink PMPS 63 - stalling

Yikes Tink! :shock: :mrgreen: Please come up a little for momma or she's going to have a long night ahead of her.

Looks like the ON switch has been flipped in Tinks system. :cool:
 
Re: 9/28 Tink PMPS 63, stalled. +12.5=77 shooting.

Ok. He's up to 77 now, so I guess it's safe to shoot. You BETTER surf this time MISTER! Momma needs some sleep tonight. It's a work night.
 
Re: 9/28 Tink PMPS 63, stalled, shot @77. +1=65 UGH

OY! :shock: +1 and he's already headed south. Just got his regular meal an hour ago, but decided to give him 1.5oz mc (8%) to see if we can keep him from crashing again tonight.

Wondering if another decrease is in order or if this is still the depot. Seems I'm fighting with food almost every cycle and going through test strips like mad!!
 
Re: 9/28 Tink PMPS 63, stalled, shot @77. +1=65 UGH

Hey Tink! Nice to find ya here in the lagoon with me! I shook my beans up wif a low PMPS, too! It's kinda fun to make them go :shock: once in a while, isn't it? Shall we surf together for a while, or do you wanna head to the deep end? Ignore that loud noise - that's jus my mamabean ordering me to stay put! - Cinco
 
Re: 9/28 Tink PMPS 63, stalled, shot @77. +1=65 UGH

it's been 4 cycles since your last dose decrease. when you describe struggling to keep him up, i think that says it's time to decrease the dose again.

on the good side, jen, all these hours spent in green are great for his pancreas! I see you testing every hour all night, though, and i can only imagine how tired you must be. i hope you can nap in between.

i think your idea about feeding at +3 as though he is dropping is a very good one. That's exactly what I did. When i had to go back to work with punkin, we decided by the preshot if he was going to need extra carbs and extra feedings. His cycles were fairly predictable, but If in any doubt, we acted as though he was likely to go into low numbers and we set the timed feeder and food accordingly. So much better to overcarb him than to not give enough.
 
Re: 9/28 Tink PMPS 63, stalled, shot @77. +1=65 UGH

Hey Cinco! I dunno why my mammabean wants me to surf. Don't she know I'z a cat? Cats dont surf. And I am a uber smart cat too. I've figured out that if I dive into the deep end, mammabean gives me ALL THE FOOD I WANT!! And its yummier than the foodz I normally get too! I gotz 3 dinnerz already tonight! :-D
 
Re: 9/28 Tink +12 63, stalled, PMPS 77, +1=65, +2=51

@-) Well, the mc meal did nada. Well, I mean, it kept him from hitting 40 by +2, but that's about it. Just gave him 1.5oz of 18% now. I dont wanna play this game again tonight!!! @-) At this rate, I might as well buy my mc and hc by the case just like the regular food! Sheesh! Gotta restock again tomorrow. And hopefully he doesn't blow through it all tonight - cuz I may need it for the feeder tomorrow.

Unless I hear otherwise from anyone, I'll go ahead and reduce again in the morning. That'll bring us down to 2.75u. I have no problem if he wants to go OTJ again... but good grief... this is a wild ride!
 
Re: 9/28 Tink +12=63, stalled, PMPS 77, +1=65, +2=51, +2.5=5

Wow. HC only held him flat. :shock: Giving another 1.5oz. Whole can of hc now in belly. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 9/28 Tink +12=63, stalled, PMPS 77, +1=65, +2=51, +2.5=5

Wow! Since he's already earned a reduction, feel free to break out the karo, honey, or syrup. Might give him a bit more of a boost. Thank goodness he's a bottomless pit. :shock:
 
Re: 9/28 Tink +12=63, stalled, PMPS 77, +1=65, +2=51, +2.5=5

Yup, figured I'd add some honey to his mc, rather than open the last can of hc (which is FF, and seems to upset his tummy the next day). I can't believe a WHOLE can of hc plus some mc has only kept him just over 50. Had to laugh at the bottomless pit comment though! :lol: So true.
 
Re: 9/28 Tink +12=63, stalled, PMPS 77, +1=65, +2=51, +2.5=5

Um, WOW. We're at +3.5 now and just tested at 44 after a whole (3oz) can of hc, plus mc with HONEY added. WTH! Giving another .75oz of mc with more honey - using maybe 1/4tsp this time. Dime size drop earlier still let him fall!

Is a .25u reduction sufficient? Or should I be looking at reducing by a half unit??
 
That brought him up to 58 @ +4. Just gave another round of mc+honey before he has a chance to fall.

Dinner time for the other cats, but I think Tink has already had his dinner (and then some!), so just giving small amt of mc with the honey. He's not real fond of the honey. I let him lick my empty ice cream bowl too. Maybe that'll help get him up. I'm ready to order him a pizza at this point.
 
I'd just reduce by 0.25u. I think that should probably be the plan for Tinks reductions unless he tells us he doesn't want to hold reductions.

It's possible he got a second dip and that's why his PMPS was lower. Great job staying on top of the tests, Jen. You probably need some rest so taking Wendy's suggestion and getting him up is a good idea. Maybe you can rest in between tests. He might be on a mission so, even if you get his numbers up, be sure he stays up after its been a couple hours with no food or Karo.

I think Trixie and Cinco are also having a pj party.

And Gracie is happy to have him in the Lil Stinka Club. She said he will fit right in!!!
 
Ok, will reduce by .25u tomorrow morning. Looks like I'll be sleeping in 30min increments again tonight. :YMSIGH:
 
Are you sure you don't want to give him a big hrlpingnof Karo in some MC food, test 30 later and then lay down for a bit if he's up? I know you said he was slow coming up tonight even with all the HC but those carbs ought to start building up soon.
 
I've given him 3 servings of mc food laced with honey - a drop the first time, and about 1/4tsp each the second & third time. He's FINALLY up to 75 now, at +4.75. Going to catch a few zzz's now. I'll get up and test in about 45min. I did NOT feed him right now, on the 75 - hopefully he stays up.
 
You give me hope, Jen! Cinco is taking his sweet time coming up, too. Maybe I'll get an hour or two of sleep at some point.

I hope Tink stays up for you and you get some rest. I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top