10/6 Shylo PMPS 101 +1 130 +2 111 +3 80 +4 86

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/6 Shylo AMPS 295 +2 305

well, i suppose it could've been worse! but i'm sure you hated to see those pink numbers show up this morning. I don't know if he'll have recovered from the skipped shot enough to be worth doing a curve tomorrow. you'll have to see how he is in the morning.
 
Re: 10/6 Shylo AMPS 295 +2 305 PMPS 101

It definitely could have been worse, haha, but yeah I was definitely a little bummed to see pink this AM!

So I just got home and did his preshot test, and he's low-ish at 101. Seeing how he jumped up last night I think I'm a little more comfortable shooting tonight, and since I don't work tomorrow I can actually stay up all night if I have to... should I go ahead and shoot his usual dose?
 
Re: 10/6 Shylo AMPS 295 +2 305 PMPS 101

If you can be up tonight and have the supplies you need, I'd go ahead and shoot the scheduled dose....but I wouldn't be surprised in the least little bit if you end up having a long PJ party and Shylo earns a reduction!

He's looking great for so early in the dance!

The caveat is that I can't be up late tonight, so unless Julie, Marje, Wendy or one of the more experienced folks will be able to watch you tonight, you may have to rely on the information in the "how to deal with low numbers" sticky

I'd also make sure to get a +1 and +2 and see if you can see where he might be going later.
 
Re: 10/6 Shylo AMPS 295 +2 305 PMPS 101

I did a check again about a half hour after and he's up to 115, so he's slowly rising... once he's all done eating dinner I think I'm going to shoot. I made sure I have everything I need on hand, so I think I'm (mostly) prepared! I have that sticky printed out so if no one is available to stay up I thiiiiink I'll be alright.

I'm pretty positive (or at least hoping) now that he big drops are from removing kibble completely, which is good news I think? Definitely happy to see lower numbers so early, though, really am.
 
Re: 10/6 Shylo AMPS 295 +2 305 PMPS 101

that was an incredibly fast recovery.

Because you are so early in this process, if i were you, honestly, I would reduce the dose to 0.5u. The change in removing the carbs has made a huge difference.

I'm sick and won't be up late. He recovered very quickly from the skipped shot last night. I think skipping again is an ok option.

If you're serious about going ahead on your own, i'd just give 0.5u.

It's up to you. I can check in on you for about 2 hrs - that's not going to be the "bottom" of the cycle though, and he's very likely to keep going down after that. The process of dealing with low numbers isn't difficult, it's just a little nerve-wracking the first couple of times. what you'll learn quickly is that you can "steer" his blood sugar by giving small amounts of carbs.

what would you like to do?
 
Re: 10/6 Shylo AMPS 295 +2 305 PMPS 101

I'll be here for about 3 hours and will look for your +1 test. That may or may not tell us what the cycle will look like. Might want to put on the ~O) .

I hope you have plenty of strips, high carb food and karo, just in case. Often kitties have just flat cycles if they start low, but Shylo has been sliding down all day and that sometimes means they'll keep on sliding in the PM.
 
Re: 10/6 Shylo AMPS 295 +2 305 PMPS 101

Thanks for all of the advice... we just shot .5u (it was a little on the fat side of .5 I think). I'm about to go make some coffee and mentally prep myself to pull an all nighter, hahaha. Worst case scenario the emergency vet is literally five minutes up the road, but I have higher-carb canned here and the karo as well.

I'll keep you guys updated on the +1!
 
Re: 10/6 Shylo AMPS 295 +2 305 PMPS 101

I'm glad you stalled that little bit so we know he's at least stopped dropping. Often when you shoot a lower number, the cat will just coast along flat. Look at Booger tonight - her name is missing on the subject line but it's "martin" in the user name.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...dzBmTjg2aHQ2bENQYXNyX0x4Z0E&usp=sharing#gid=0

You don't need to do anything for now - just get a +1. If it looks like Shylo is coasting along around the same range, you can just give a teaspoon or so of regular food and check again in another hour.

You're watching for him to go under 50. At that point you'll grab that can of gravy cat food, pop it open, put the lid back on and squeeze mightily to get out a teaspoon of the gravy. most of the carbs are in the gravy. you'll give that teaspoon and wait 15-20 minutes and then retest. Some cats don't have their blood sugar show the carbs for as long as 20-30 minutes - just depends on the cat.

if he's still below 50, repeat the process.

Your goal is to keep him over 50 without sending him sky-high by overcarbing him. Most of us do the first time! hahahaha i think i gave punkin 1/2 can of high carb the first time he got below 50 because it was a 32, i believe. The goal is to keep him between 50-100 for as long as possible - that's the range where his pancreas can heal.

If he's over 50, you can give a bite of meat - either the low carb/raw you usually give, or the meat from the gravy cat food. that bite will last a little longer than just the carbs in the gravy. Many people alternate the bite of meat with a teaspoon of gravy.

Does that make sense? the official directions are in the link you have, but sometimes i think it's helpful to have them in "regular" language.

Also, the board often updates just after 11pm Pacific Coast time, just for a few minutes you might not be able to get on then.
 
Re: 10/6 Shylo AMPS 295 +2 305 PMPS 101 +1 130

Ok, so just did the +1... only up to 130. Next step is to do the +2 and see how he looks from there, correct?
 
Re: 10/6 Shylo AMPS 295 +2 305 PMPS 101 +1 130 +2 111

Alright, so the +2 is down a little bit to 111... should I be checking every hour for now?
 
Re: 10/6 Shylo AMPS 295 +2 305 PMPS 101 +1 130 +2 111

once an hour is good. notice how many points per hour he's dropping in each hour - cats don't drop at a constant rate, but it can be helpful in seeing how fast the drop is happening.

do you normally feed him again here sometime? i typically fed punkin at preshot and +3.

i'm signing off pretty quick. If you get in trouble or get scared, put up the 911 and you might also post in main health and ask on the facebook group for someone to come here and help you. For safety, advice is supposed to be given on FDMB, not the FB group, though.
 
Re: 10/6 Shylo AMPS 295 +2 305 PMPS 101 +1 130 +2 111

I'd do another hour and that may say whether you need to keep testing that often. He's not moving much.
 
Re: 10/6 Shylo AMPS 295 +2 305 PMPS 101 +1 130 +2 111

I don't usually Julie, but I may offer him something to munch on after the next one depending on what it looks like? Am I right in thinking that it'll help curb a sudden drop, if that were to happen?

Thanks for the FB link also, just joined up.
 
Re: 10/6 Shylo AMPS 295 +2 305 PMPS 101 +1 130 +2 111

yes - spreading out the food in the first few hours of each cycle can help smooth out the cycle. flat is good when it comes to blood sugar!

i know i suggested you drop to 0.5u tonight when Shylo hadn't "earned" a dose reduction by going below 50. i'm thinking it might be good to stay there for a few cycles and then go up if a little more is needed now that the dry food is gone.

Let's see what others think about it though.
 
Re: 10/6 Shylo AMPS 295 +2 305 PMPS 101 +1 130 +2 111

Ok so his +3 dropped down to 80... I'm gonna go fix him something to eat to see if it'll level out a little and then retest in an hour, does that sound right?
 
Re: 10/6 Shylo AMPS 295 +2 305 PMPS 101 +1 130 +2 111 +3 80

A meal now and test in an hour sounds like a plan. Don't give him too much food, maybe a couple tsp only. You don't want to fill him up. You want him to still be interested in eating later if you need to feed him high carb food. If he should get into 60's tonight, I'd increase the test rate to every half hour.
 
Re: 10/6 Shylo AMPS 295 +2 305 PMPS 101 +1 130 +2 111 +3 80

Sounds good! He's licking the bottom of his bowl clean already, I'm lucky that he's pretty food-motivated hahaha.

Will update with the next test in a little while. (:
 
Re: 10/6 Shylo AMPS 295 +2 305 PMPS 101 +1 130 +2 111 +3 80

You've got this!

A little of his regular low carb food at this point can help prop him up a little and get him "surfing" in those pretty, pancreas healing numbers!

IF he were to drop below 50, that's when you need to be a little more concerned, but don't panic...just break out the high carb gravy and give a teaspoon or 2 and re-test in 20-30 minutes.

One of the wonderful things about home testing is you are in control...you see them drop too much, you feed them!

Just a giggle for you before I have to sign off...the first time China dropped below 50, they said "give her a little Karo or syrup"....well, they didn't say how much "a little" was so I dumped about a cupful into a bowl....she loved it!! Of course it sent her numbers to the moon too!

I then learned...it's a DROP or two when you're using Karo , Syrup or honey
 
Re: 10/6 Shylo AMPS 295 +2 305 PMPS 101 +1 130 +2 111 +3 80

Oh my god hahaha, I bet China loved that! Luckily for me I have a pile of oral syringes from his ursodiol prescription so I can measure out just a tiny bit.
 
Re: 10/6 Shylo AMPS 295 +2 305 PMPS 101 +1 130 +2 111 +3 80

Shylo's +4 seems to be holding for now at 86... slight bump from his snack but still in a good range.
 
Excellent! :mrgreen: He's doing what we call surfing, where they hang out around the same number for a while. That's what's supposed to happen if we feed them a little low carb food when they first hit green. :-D I'd hold off on food for now and see what happens in an hour. If you get a couple of tests in a row with rising numbers, without food influence, then you are OK to hit the pillow.
 
Thanks Wendy! I feel like I keep learning more and more every day on here, hahaha.

A little jealous that Shylo is snoozing in my bed while I keep myself occupied to stay up for him. P:
 
I usually set my cell phone alarm for each hour. I find I could get a good 3/4 hour nap in between tests. Course, it's a good opportunity to catch up on bad TV. :lol:
 
I'm a notoriously bad napper, if I go down I won't be able to drag myself back up again hahahaaa. I have some west-coast buddies that are at least around for a little while to keep me occupied, though. TV is in the other room... too lazy to drag myself in there.
 
Hi Emily.

Wendy asked me to check in on you. My kitty, Cinco, is having his own PJ party tonight, so I'll be up for a while - plus I live in CA and I'm a night owl. If you have any questions, feel free to ask. Looks like you've got a nice green surf going on. Very healthy. :mrgreen:
 
Good luck tonight. Paws crossed Shylo just decides to spend the time in the pancreas healing zone without getting dramatic. Tricia's been getting lots of practice with low numbers lately so she'll be great to chat to. My Neko has given me permission to hit the pillow.
 
Thanks Wendy! Have a good night. (:

Hi Tricia! Nice to have some PJ party company hahaha. I just did the +5 and we're up to 92, so Shylo's still surfin' for me right now. He's getting a little peeved at all the poking, I'm not sure he believes it's for his own good ahahahaa.
 
He had a little of his regular low-carb canned food at +3 (so about two hours ago)... maybe a tablespoon or so?

What I wouldn't give to be able to take a reasonable-length nap, haha. It's either "nap for three hours" or no nap at all for me.
 
I hear that! My DH can sleep anytime, anywhere, at the drop of a hat. Not me. Once I'm up in the morning, I'm up, unless I'm sick or really, really sleep-deprived. Plus, I'm a night person, so getting to sleep before midnight or 1 am is almost impossible for me. So is getting up before 8-8:30!

So your +5 is with no food influence. Sounds like you just need one more good number and you can call it a night! Ooops! There goes my timer. Time to see if my little darling is cooperating.
 
That's the one good thing about having to close all the time now- I always get to sleep in! Well, assuming Shylo lets me sleep until his breakfast time, at least. P:

Fingers crossed for you! I've got another half hour to go here, zzzzzzzzzz
 
I've got about another 45 minutes. Cinco is not too happy that he only got one bite of freeze dried salmon at his last poke. I don't think that will fly very many more times! :lol:
 
Phew, got 130 for Shylo's +6... looks like I can finally go crawl into bed. (: Goodnight! Hopefully Cinco cooperates with you, hahaha.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top