10/15 Polly AMPS+7=62+7.5=42+9=71+11=77 PMPS 77(5U)+2=111

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marilyn and Sheldon

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Recap

285 AMPS
266 +1
267 +2
149 +5.5
164 +7
170 PMPS
207 +3

Thanks to everyone who stopped by to commiserate last night. Droopy-tail Polly is still droopy tail, but she's out and about, even sitting in her window while I'm in the living room! No herding to the food room today; she sort of trots and I follow behind. (a proper relationship for cat and person, I suspect.)

Yes, Julie, I know. Polly doesn't get near the hypo point, but it was a "lecture" moment at CSU (even with my spreadsheet in her file) and her previous symptoms could give that impression. Yes, I test more than I need to. I'm always curious about patterns. It's maddening that there really aren't any!

We're sticking to Lantus. Hasn't even been a full five months yet; she really hasn't had an issue with it; and I don't want too many apples in the cart right now.

Wendy, I think her personality change was my main fear these past couple of days. Mercy, she even hissed at me yesterday morning. Fear. But today I'm seeing some incremental improvement. She'll sit next to me on the couch, hang out in windows while I'm in the room, and she even let me pick her up from the cat condo for her snack and test at +2 this morning.

I got no clue where that 62 came from. I think we're playing glucose bingo. Interesting to see where she is in a few minutes when I test again.

Will try to visit some condos while keeping an eye on the girl this afternoon. (There goes my long anticipated nap.)

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 10/15 Polly AMPS 225+2=242+7=62+7.5=42

WHOA Miss Polly! That 42 is highly unnecessary! Let's head back up to nice SAFE green numbers and surf them a bit, okay?

Polly is looking good Marilyn! I've missed some of the last few days...late nights at work have left me with little time to check in on everyone. I feel very out of the loop!
 
Re: 10/15 Polly AMPS 225+2=242+7=62+7.5=42

42! :shock: :shock: :mrgreen: OK Miss Polly, time to hop on that surfboard and bring it up a little, well maybe more than a little. Good catch Mariyn. Good thing you were home to catch that. Congrats on the reduction.

Maybe SRT is starting to work? :cool: If so, when we started zooming down the scale, I chickened out and did reductions below 70. That was CSU's recommendation to me. Interesting on your IM vetty experience at CSU. Sounds different from mine. The one I talked to was pretty hands off on the dose recommendations. Said we acro moms know our kitties better than she can.
 
Re: 10/15 Polly AMPS 225+2=242+7=62+7.5=42

I was thinking the same thing...that you're starting to see the effects from the SRT.

Wendy&Neko said:
If so, when we started zooming down the scale, I chickened out and did reductions below 70.

I took this same approach with Cobb and it is working really well, and he's, so far, holding most of his reductions. Once we started going down, I couldn't stay ahead of that depot, so the below 70 advice worked for us. Maybe it'll work for Polly too!!
 
Re: 10/15 Polly AMPS 225+7=62+7.5=42+8=75 reduce ?

Well, at 42 I jumped right to hc with a drop of honey. Will keep testing as the honey wears off.

Should I reduce at PMPS (of course if she's loitering low, whew, I'll be stumped on any amt. for PM shot)

I intervened at 62 with lc. 30 minutes later she was at 42. If I hadn't intervened, don't know where she would have gone. So, is the reduction geared to the 42 regardless of how low she may have dropped if I hadn't been home?

I ask because the stickie suggests when the cat drops into 30s or 20s.

Caregivers whose kitties have "High Dose" conditions may find the need to reduce in whole units or more.
Please ask for advice.

Polly may have w/o intervention.



I'm sticking to the stickie..."Please ask for advice." I am.

Thanks.

Testing again, soon.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 10/15 Polly AMPS 225+7=62+7.5=42+8=75 reduce ?

The suggestion to reduce is based on the 42. No way of guessing correctly where she might have gone if you hadn't been home. Interesting that you gave her LC at +7 then she kept diving. It could mean she has a later nadir, or it could be signs of her pancreas working. :cool: When Neko started dose dropping, I mostly went to HC when Neko got lowish cause I saw signs of her pancreas kicking in at the wrong time too based on LC.

I would go with either 10 or 9.5 for the new dose tonight. For us, I found that .5U reductions worked and we started the ride down at 8.5U. For larger doses, the 1U might be more appropriate - which is what Suzanne is doing now. I'm afraid it's a bit of trial and error as to what will work with Polly. .5U reductions might keep her in nicer numbers longer, but they might be more active cycles. 1U reductions are safer but might bring higher numbers. Hard to say and Polly's not talking.

If Polly is loitering low tonight, another option is to shoot half a dose, say 5U tonight, then back to the new and improved dose in the morning. That will help drain the depot.
 
Re: 10/15 Polly AMPS 225+7=62+7.5=42+8=75+8.5=85

Thank you Wendy. First for answering my questions so much more clearly than I asked them. :smile: I'm set for tonight. I think! Secondly, for letting me get Polly's green icon back up; she has so few.

I'm going with the cautious route on dosing. 9.5 tonight unless she stays below my comfort level at shot time. I work only half days, out of the house from +2 to +7 or so. But what she did today makes me cautious even about that amount of time. And her AMPS and her AM+2 gave no indication of today's festivities.

Thanks again.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 10/15 Polly AMPS 225+7=62+7.5=42+8=75+8.5=85+9.25=71+10

Wow...look at Polly go!!! I hope she holds her tail high and works the reducie well. (Didn't you mention she never goes near the hypo point this morning ;-) ? This is proof that they really do read their condos :lol: !) It's a good thing you test "more than you need to," that's for sure! Have a great night, Marilyn!
 
Re: 10/15 Polly AMPS +7=62+7.5=42+8=75+8.5=85+9.25=71+11=77

Wow on those greens for Polly. Good luck with the reduced dose tonight. I hope she surfs safely for you.
 
Re: 10/15 Polly AMPS +7=62+7.5=42+8=75+9=71+11=77 PMPS 77(5


Holy cats Polly! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Anne
 

Attachments

  • syringe-target.jpg
    syringe-target.jpg
    20.4 KB · Views: 170
Re: 10/15 Polly AMPS+7=62+7.5=42+9=71+11=77 PMPS 77(5U)+2=1

Lovely green for Polly!! Hooray! Good luck with the reducie. I hope Polly's tail is perky as ever soon.
 
Re: 10/15 Polly AMPS+7=62+7.5=42+9=71+11=77 PMPS 77(5U)+2=1

too ironic that we were just talking about her getting into low numbers yesterday! Looks like she's going to bounce from the 40's.

I would return with a "new" regular dose of 10.0u in the morning. Giving the 1/2 dose tonight will likely interrupt the constant low number-chasing that you might've been doing if you'd just decreased the dose to 9.5u tonight.

Does that make sense? That's what I did, at least, and it worked well for us.

Nice to see miss polly in green! WAHOO!
 
Re: 10/15 Polly AMPS+7=62+7.5=42+9=71+11=77 PMPS 77(5U)+2=1

Wow, you had a busy day today, Marilyn. Polly appears to mean business when she'd done with a dose. Good luck with the new dose.

I hope the tail is up again and she's back to normal soon.
 
Re: 10/15 Polly AMPS+7=62+7.5=42+9=71+11=77 PMPS 77(5U)+2=1

Wow, look at Polly go!! Congrats on the reducie!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top