10/30/14 Keiko AMPS 485 & 10/29/14 253

Status
Not open for further replies.

KeikosHuman

Member Since 2014
I was pleased to see a 200 reading. Below are the last couple of days of readings (human meter numbers). Keiko is on 5.5 units and it looks to me like he needs to go up to 6 units. All advice appreciated. :-D

He is still constipated. I may need to go for a suppository today. nailbite_smile

10/27/14
+4 - 514
+9 - 397

10/28/14
+5 - 484
+9 - 474

10/29/14
AMPS 253
+10 - 390

10/30/14
AMPS - 485
 
i'm not sure if you should increase or not. That 253 is giving me pause - I'm just wondering if he was coming up at that point from the night before, how low did he go that evening? I think I'd get 6 consecutive cycles with both preshot tests and a mid-cycle, then make the decision. Then you could be confident that there weren't any hidden lower numbers.

He probably does need more, but i'd get a little more info and then feel better about increasing.

it is GREAT to see that spot of yellow emerge, though!

edited to add: Jill has a great post on this question that might be helpful: Should I Increase the Dose?
 
Maria, if you are using the human meter exclusively now, could you change your signature to show that? The yellow does look much nicer than what we've seen. :-D

Another question, is there a reason you aren't getting the preshot tests? Now that you've got cheaper strips and it looks like Keiko might be coming down in numbers, it's a good practice to get into. You never know when Keiko might surprise you and give you a number lower than is safe to give insulin. I agree with Julie on getting in a couple of extra tests, especially at night. So many cats here like to do their low numbers at night, and then bounce during the day. Looking at just the day time numbers can give you a false picture of how well a dose is doing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top