11/12MAX AM74+2.5/46+4/45+6.5/40PMPS 94 +1/156+2/181+4/121

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S CONDO:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=128259

Max woke up hungry but threw up some fur that had some party digested freeze dried turkey in it. It's the first time there was food with the fur but he is throwing up fur a little more often and I wonder why. I just brushed a little and he doesn't seem to be shedding that much so this has me a little concerned. Hopefully it's just from so much grooming.

My back is still bothering me. I last took Advil 6 hours ago and it is hurting so I need to take some now. Lifting Max is definitely the cause and making it worse. At least it didn't hurt while I was in bed so it must be getting a little better.

Prayers and vines to all beans and kitties in need.
 
Re: 11/12 MAX AMPS 74+1.25/80+2.5/46 Yikes

It's on +2.5 and Max dropped under 50. I gave him some hc and will check in 30 but wonder if I should give him some karo now as well? We are in uncharted territory. I'm wondering if I should have added karo.
 
Re: 11/12 MAX AMPS 74+1.25/80+2.5/46 Yikes+3/50

Just gave him more hc with a drop of karo. Hopefully that will keep him surfing and not dropping.
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM 74+1.25/80+2.5/46+3/50+4/55+4.7/45+5.5/65+6.

As nervous as I am to do this, I'm starting to think Max needs a reduction. This is the longest he has gone in great numbers in a few days shy of a year. He seemed to be surfing at +5.5 with a little lc food, but an hour later is back to 40. His nadir goes anywhere from +6-+7.5 I think so we shall see what he does the rest of the day. I just gave him some hc with more karo than before so let's see what happens.
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM 74+1.25/80+2.5/46+3/50+4/55+4.7/45+5.5/65+6.

Max does seem to be rather relentless in spite of the sugary goodness. Might be time to try a shave on him and see how he does.

Sorry to hear about your back, they are the worst. Vines going your way.
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM 74+1.25/80+2.5/46+3/50+4/55+4.7/45+5.5/65+6.

Hi Elise,
Max could be wanting a reduction. See what the experts say.
Has he lost weight? Stu was diagnosed with Hyper T after he was losing weight, over-grooming, eating his fur, and throwing up numerous hairballs. His bg numbers were getting lower, too. Apparently tearing out hair and eating it is one of the symptoms. Looking at Max's SS, however, it doesn't seem that weight loss is a problem!

Hang in there!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM 74+1.25/80+2.5/46+3/50+4/55+4.7/45+5.5/65+6.

Hi Ella. No losing weight is not a problem here. He isn't tearing hair out either. He just is grooming a bit more. His T4 was normal a short time ago so while hyper-t has come up from time to time I doubt that is what is going on here. His appy hasn't increased, I'm just having to feed him to keep him from earning a reduction. Thanks for taking a look.

Thanks for the input Wendy. I'll see what happens and perhaps get rid of the + on his dose. I'm on the fence at this point and could be persuaded either way.
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM 74+1.25/80+2.5/46+3/50+4/55+4.7/45+5.5/65+6.

If Max keeps dipping down even with you working to keep him up, it is probably time for a reducie. Good luck if you decide to reduce. I hope your back gets better soon.
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM 74+1.25/80+2.5/46+3/50+4/55+4.7/45+5.5/65+6.

i agree - it looks like he needs a reduction. when you're working for hours at a stretch to keep him over 50, that's a pretty solid sign.

wow, though - look at his spreadsheet! It's the best it's ever been! You're doing a great job, although i'm imagining how tired you must be. And your back, too . . . . can you tempt Max out from under the bed with treats so you don't have to pull him? or fill up under the bed with cardboard or suitcases, or something so he can't sneak underneath? i'm feeling for you. I hate having my back hurt!
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+1.25/80+2.5/46+3/50+4/55+4/45+5/65+6.5/40+

Thanks, Julie and Carla for looking in on us. I hate to prevent him from going under the bed as it is his safe haven. I think it would stress him out plus should we have an earthquake he will be safe there. The only place I can't get him out from is under my dresser. He's gone there twice and it is just too tight. It's actually not any harder getting him from under the bed than on the floor or in his bed where I get him the rest of the time. Maybe a 3-4 times in 24 hours he will be sleeping on my bed and then how I hate to disturb him!

I keep thinking he will bounce from all this green and perhaps today from the hc and karo. I so hate to break the momemtum for fear he will slide back into more stinky pink.

Well at least now we are back up to 71 at almost +8 and he just got 2 fd pieces at the last test. I think I can wait at least an hour now to test. The last one was 45.

If I do reduce, do I shave it to 2.5 instead of 2.5+?
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+1.25/80+2.5/46+3/50+4/55+4/45+5/65+6.5/40+

the reason for bouncing is either 1) if a cat's BGs drop too fast (ie, 50points per hour or more), 2) if they get into a blood sugar range they aren't used to or 3) if they get into low numbers.

As long as Max is essentially flat, that eliminates 1.

He's spending a ton of time in green numbers for the last several days. That eliminates 2.

#3 . . . that's still possible if he goes into 30's, 40's, where he hasn't been hanging out recently, which is what he's just done today.

Looking back at 11/8 when he got into the 40's, he did bounce the next morning, although only to 147 and the total bounce only lasted about 3 hours. You'll know in a bit if he's going to bounce from these 40's today. I'd assume that even if he does bounce it may not last long, so I wouldn't see a higher number and assume it will stay that way.
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+1.25/80+2.5/46+4/55+4/45+5/65+6.5/40+7/71+

Thank you for that info Julie. He is surfing green for now. If he is still in green at pmps and I reduce, do I have it down? I think that is what I've done in the past.
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+1.25/80+2.5/46+4/55+4/45+5/65+6.5/40+7/71+

I am sorry to hear your back is still giving you such awful pain Elise! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Dragging Max out from under the bed sounds like the cause of it, I would probably block that pathway at least for a day or two so you're not having to be in that awkward position? I'm glad to hear HyperT has been ruled out with BW- that was my concern when I read your comments as well. Good luck with the reducie tonight- to me he looks like he is demanding it! :-D
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+1.25/80+2.5/46+4/55+4/45+5/65+6.5/40+7/71+

If you're worried about Max not holding the reduction, you can try shaving the dose since you test so much. If he is still giving you these kinds of numbers after the reduction, you may need to reduce further.
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+1.25/80+2.5/46+4/55+4/45+5/65+6.5/40+7/71+

Thanks for the visit Ruth. My vet does check every time when I bring him in and doesn't feel anything plus his T 4 is not in the gray zone though it is aroun 2.2 or so. We had a whole panel when he tipped into the gray zone and it was normal. I read up on it as well and Peterson says the vet should feel a module which so far is not there. It is one of my worries every time we do BW. I'm mot much of a worrier am iI ?
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+1.25/80+2.5/46+4/55+4/45+5/65+6.5/40+7/71+

If he is still in green at pmps and I reduce, do I have it down? I think that is what I've done in the past.

I'm not sure what you mean. Can you explain it again?
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+1.25/80+2.5/46+4/55+4/45+5/65+6.5/40+7/71+

Darn phone. I'm laying down resting my back. I can't wait to get an ipad. I meant shave it down or how much to reduce. Thanks.
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+1.25/80+2.5/46+4/55+4/45+6.5/40+9/62PMPS 9

i'm not sure what to suggest for a dose. I do think you need to reduce. He's been in and out of the 40's for 4 hours.

You know that the depot from this current dose is going to still be influencing him tonight even if you reduce the dose.

I know you want to keep his great tight regulation progress going.

How are you doing? Between the painful back and the constant testing - are you up for doing this all night too?

do you have an idea about what you want to do for a reduction?
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+1.25/80+2.5/46+4/55+4/45+6.5/40+9/62PMPS 9

I'm toying with what to do right now. I don't know. I'm okay. I know I need to reduce but I don't know by how much. In the past he was bouncing so it was easier to decide. I want him to do well so badly. This is even harder than before.
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+1.25/80+2.5/46+4/55+4/45+6.5/40+9/62PMPS 9

I was just looking at Jill's Alex's spreadsheet to see what she did in the phase you're in - where Alex was tightly regulated but dropped low and needed to be reduced.

Look here at February 13th-14th, 2013. Alex went into the 30's & 40's over the course of a day (2/13) on a dose of 2.5u and Jill reduced her to 2.4u. Jill kept thorough notes on her ss to have it used as a teaching tool.

That might be something you could consider.
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+1.25/80+2.5/46+4/55+4/45+6.5/40+9/62PMPS 9

in response to your PM...

If this were your cat, would you please look and take me what you would do?

he's getting a 2.5+ unit dose. i'd probably drop the + off the dose.


BUT... you also have to figure your own health into the picture. there have been many times when i've skipped doses or given a greatly reduced dose if i wasn't up to monitoring closely. there's nothing wrong with that. please don't run yourself into the ground because then you won't be any good to max or yourself.
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+1.25/80+2.5/46+4/55+4/45+6.5/40+9/62PMPS 9

I could do that. For a minute I thought I was in trouble because he didn't eat the food I put out but I added a little Stella & Chewy's and water and he ate. Max has been on 2.4 before. Alex's ss does look similar to what Max is doing but he has a little more blue than Max. I wonder if tonight only I should maybe do a little bit less and then 2.4 tomorrow?
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+1.25/80+2.5/46+4/55+4/45+6.5/40+9/62PMPS 9

Thank you Jill and Julie. I gave him the 2.4 for tonight and depending on how it goes will likely go back to 2.5 in the morning. He ate the food I put out and is lying on my bed right now. I fed him 3% but depending on where he is at +1 I might go to 9%. He got his shot about 20 minutes late so that will drain a tad more I would think.
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+1.25/80+2.5/46+4/55+4/45+6.5/40+9/62PMPS 9

Thanks again, Jill. He always has me up until +6 or +7 these days. Hopefully this is the beginning of his regulating and the bouncing is over. A new thing for me to learn! I'm glad I can set my phone alarm in case I dose off.
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+1.25/80+2.5/46+4/55+4/45+6.5/40+9/62PMPS 9

Congrats on the reduction. We will all think positive that Maxs liver has decided it's learned all it needs to learn and he can get his LTS diploma.

Sending you vines.
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+2.5/46+4/55+4/45+6.5/40PMPS 94 +1/156

Thank you Marje. Right now we have a large bump. I choose to call it a food spike maybe with a dash of late shot+reduction.
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+2.5/46+4/55+4/45+6.5/40PMPS 94 +1/156

Elise, I have no dosing advice. Great ideas from those who have suggestions, though.

I just want to send a huge hug. You're working so hard for Max, doing such a good job for him. I'm just sending light, lots of light that you and your boy keep making progress. Oh, and Max, how 'bout making this all a little easier!

Feelbettersoon vines for your back, too.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+2.5/46+4/45+6.5/40PMPS 94 +1/156+2/181

Thanks so much Marilyn.

Looks like we have a bounce going on as he's headed the wrong way. Good news is I won't test again for a couple of hours.
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+2.5/46+4/45+6.5/40PMPS 94 +1/156+2/181

Congrats on the reduction, Elise!

Looks like Max is going to be a good kitty and let you get some rest tonight

Sometimes, bounces can be our friends and from someone who's had 14 back surgeries and knows how much back pain can drain you, I'm glad to see it! At least you'll be able to rest tonight without spending the night poking

Now no need to bounce any higher Max! That's high enough!!
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+2.5/46+4/45+6.5/40PMPS 94 +1/156+2/181

Hi Elise! It looks like quite a busy day for you. I hope you can get some rest tonight, and I hope your back feels better soon. I'm sure you will make the right call for Max! He is in good hands with you.
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+2.5/46+4/45+6.5/40PMPS 94 +1/156+2/181+4/1

Thanks Chris, Julie and Deanna. Max isn't done with me for tonight yet. I doubt he will drop too low but I'll be testing again. My alarm went off and when I went to get him he was laying by his food dish. I had a feeling he had come down some which he did. I'll be checking again in an hour I guess. I fed him a little and it was gone before I finished this last sentence.
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+2.5/46+4/45+6.5/40PMPS 94 +1/156+2/181+4/1

Hi Elise:

First, I'm so sorry about your back. I, too, have had back surgery and I know how hard it is to function with that kind of pain.

I'm so glad Max is doing so well. His numbers look great. Congrats on the reducie. I hope he stops messing with you tonight so you can get some rest.

Hear that, Max? That's a good place for you to stop and just surf. Cinco's right there next to you, so how about you two just hang out and chill?
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+2.5/46+4/45+6.5/40PMPS 94 +1/156+2/181+4/1

not much of a bounce, was it?! he's already just about done with it. you're not getting much of a break.

wish i could give you a few hours off so you could sleep. hang in there!
 
Re: 11/12MAX AM74+2.5/46+4/45+6.5/40PMPS 94 +1/156+2/181+4/1

Thanks Julie and Tricia. Max seems to be feeling really good tonight. He came to visit me on the sofa for the second night in a row! Unless there is a big drop which I doubt I think we will have a quiet blue night and I'll get to bed at 1:00. His +5 was 102.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top