11/19 bailey uk. +3 59,+5 79.its going to be a long night!

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=128319

I really hope ive done the right thing. ive given him a shot of 9.25u with bg at 104. nailbite_smile , ohmygod_smile

I went through it all and theres many reasons why I did. 1 he was coming up on his own without food, 2, shoot low to stay low, right?? :-/ , 3 hes eating fine,demeanor amazing, 4, because we were 2 hours after shot time already after yesterday when he hid under the bed when the serviceman came.I couldn't get him out and because of timing idve had to skip shot and really didn't want to lose momentum, 5(and the biggest reason because im at home with him from shot time for the next 15 hours loaded with his favourite sugary yoghurt and the karo syrup.

its funny isn't it. a year ago I remember asking and panicking whether to shoot at 198.how things change! ;-)

EDITED NOW TO SAY....................I definitely didn't do the right thing! at +3 hes at 59. im scared. ive just given him a shringe of syrup and some of his favourite yoghurt. im scared what the next few hours will bring.
 
Re: 11/19 bailey uk. shot at 104. hope ive done the right th

:thumbup Great job shooting today Anna. You did it for all the right reasons. Bailey's looking good at this dose. :-D Paws crossed for a beautiful surf.
 
Re: 11/19 bailey uk. shot at 104. hope ive done the right th

With that large a dose it's normal to be nervous, but you will be there and can handle whatever comes. You did shoot 12 hours after the delayed actual shot time, right?
 
Re: 11/19 bailey uk. shot at 104. hope ive done the right th

I think your reasoning was good and I would have done the same thing. I'm glad you can be home to monitor.
And look at all those recent greens on your spreadsheet. Paws crossed for a nice flat cycle for Bailey, today.
 
Re: 11/19 bailey uk. shot at 104. hope ive done the right th

thankyou you guys! hes doing so well and such a playful happy boy! hes bouncing still but he doesn't seem to be bouncing as high and it only seems to be lasting one cycle.thats NEVER happened and weve been at this a year!
 
Re: 11/19 bailey uk. +3 59. help!

He was 103 an hour ago, so he is dropping pretty fast. Is Bailey carb sensitive, meaning does he come up with LC or MC?
If it were me, and J.D. I would give him a large teaspoon of some MC and test again in 30 max. Do you have MC?
 
Re: 11/19 bailey uk. +3 59. help!

yeah hes had that.ive given him mc food. im terrified! hes never been this low.ive just given him a full shring of syrup and hes come up to 62.im just so worried as were only 3 hours in!
 
Re: 11/19 bailey uk. +3 59. help!

im hoping for a bounce real soon! how ridiculous im hoping for this when hes been so high. I think ive overdosed on the syrup hes back up to 90 but I don't care.hes come up in 20 mins. il test every 30mins now poor boy and see where were at.xx on the plus side hes had his favourite yoghurt he used to have before he got fd with lots of sugar in :-P
 
Re: 11/19 bailey uk. +3 59. help!

How much syrup did you give him? You can test again in 15 or 20 minutes if you like.
When I am really really worried and was as a newbie, I start to get ready (check the directions, get things together) for just in case you need to go to the vet. Right now, 50s and 60s are fine. Let's just try to keep him there.
 
Re: 11/19 bailey uk. +3 59. help!

oh dyana thanks for being there when you've gone through what you have. you don't need me in this state :roll: nailbite_smile

I gave a full shringe of syrup. he thinks xmas has come now :-) hes at 90. lol syrup overdose me thinks but il test again and post back. im lucky too tha he bounces pretty fast after such a low so lets hope it heads that way.

I have to say ive got his pet carrier ready.................just in case!

do I reduce dose again tonight. im in work at 8am tomorrow so don't want to be worrying like this. id have to take a sick day.
 
Re: 11/19 bailey uk. +3 59. help!

As far as reducing the dose, I'd almost be inclined to say yes, but lets hear from some others and get their opinions too.
I think he may have gone below 50 if you had not have given the syrup. I would hold off on any more syrup unless he starts to dive down again, which he may do, so keep up the testing. HC syrup can wear off fast, so don't let him surprise you.
 
Re: 11/19 bailey uk. +3 59. help!

yep I hear you. hes on alphatrak testing so its even worse. hes only allowed to go to 68 which is usually an immediate reduction. so hes gone well below that tonight!

im here with all my tools. shringes and honey ready. this is going to be a looooon few hours. bless him his sleeping now after all the fuss and panic. im lucky he lets me test even while snoozing.

so much for my chilled night with a glass of vino!!!
 
Re: 11/19 bailey uk. +3 59. help!

Thanks for reminding me about the alpha trak. Yes, we need to keep him up in the 80s to 90s then, I guess, if possible. That's what my goal would be, for right now. I think you'll probably want to reduce the dose by 0.25, but again lets see who else chimes in on the subject.

Keep testing. And posting.
 
Re: 11/19 bailey uk. +3 59. help!

{{Anna}} {{Bailey}} and {{Dyana}} --

Not an expert here by any means -- just sending hugs. Bailey seems to be doing well and you all are a dynamite team. :smile:

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 11/19 bailey uk. +3 59. help!

thanks! :oops:

hes at 110 now. whether that's the start of the bounce or just the syrup doing the do. I don't know. hes not eaten or had ANYTHING now for half an hour or so. ive stopped shaking now anyway!!! silly me!
 
Re: 11/19 bailey uk. +3 59. help!

When does he usually eat? Has he skipped a meal because of you waiting to see what the BGs would do?
I would not go to sleep yet. If you are waiting to see what the BGs are doing without food, to go to sleep eventually, then wait another half hour without feeding and test again.
 
Re: 11/19 bailey uk. +3 59. help!

Can't speak for your kitty, of course, but my Polly takes her own less-than-sweet time coming down from honey. But she does come down. I'm not comfortable unless I get two non-food influenced rising or stable numbers at least 90 minutes post honey dip, testing at 30 or 60 minutes depending on how high she is.

You've had quite a ride. Handled it beautifully.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 11/19 bailey uk. +3 59. help!

thankyou Marilyn and polly and im exactly the same. I wont be going ANYWHERE until I know hes ok.hes headed back down again to 83. yoghurt out again. im not risking him dipping any lower. hes loving this whilst mambean is having some kind of nervous breakdown!!! :roll:
 
Re: 11/19 bailey uk. +3 59. help!

I'm sorry Anne. I thought your spreadsheet said that you shot the 9.25 dose this morning, and now I see it says you shot 9.00 this morning. If you already lowered his dose this morning, then I think you can just stay with that dose. I'll try to get some other eyes on your condo.
 
Re: 11/19 bailey uk. +3 59. help!

thanks dyana. thatd be great. yeah I lowered it at am due to such a low number t preshot. thank goodness I did!!!

hes at 99 again after giving another shringe of syrup at +5.5 as he dipped again to 70.wasnt waiting any longer!!were doing good! mama bean is all over this like a rash!! I feel good that im controlling it. I didn't think id be able to s hed gone so low so early on!
 
Re: 11/19 bailey uk. +3 59. help!

Hi Anna - good catch today and great job handling the numbers. Since you've got Bailey in safe numbers now, could you update your first post to reflect the latest numbers and remove the 911?

As for dose, I agree with Dyana that you can stick at 9.0U now. You reduced early by shooting a little lower this morning. There is probably still some of the 9.5U depot still impacting the numbers too. The depot can impact up to 6 cycles. However, since you do have to go to work and don't want to worry, one option you can do is to give a one time reduced dose, say 4.5 or 5U, for one cycle, then go back to 9U. That will help reduce the depot. He'll be safer then too.

His spreadsheet is starting to look much better. :-D
 
Re: 11/19 bailey uk. +3 59,+5 79.its going to be a long nigh

Have you given him any of his regular low carb food lately? That might get him surfing.
 
Re: 11/19 bailey uk. +3 59,+5 79.its going to be a long nigh

yep about an hour and a half ago he grazed. nothing since and hes on the up :-D

I can see the bounce ahead!!! hes good though ya know nd looks at me like "momma what is all this fuss about" :roll: what a bloomin nail biting few hours that was. time for me and the boy to get a few zzzzz's very sson. one more hour to see for sure hes ok thn its betime for us! thankyou guys.xxx
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top