11/21 bailey uk pmps 91, skip shot +4 59 was terrified!

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=128687

I couldn't believe it. Ive skipped baileys shot as he was 91 at shot time and thank god I did cos 4 hours after usual shot time he woke me up hed one down to 59. ive never been so scared in my life. ive given him syrup and yoghurt and have now brought him up to 122 before I leave to go to work. weve had a pj party here so im shattered. he out of the woods but I know hes on too much insulin so the question is what dose should I give him at lunch time when I come home.

I cant put it in the spreadsheet as I was rushing and it wouldn't load.il do it when I get home.
 
Anna - how scary! :YMHUG: I'm glad you skipped this dose. In your last condo, I suggested doing a shot with 1/2 dose to reduce the depot but you didn't. At the higher doses, the depot of a higher shot can affect up to 6 cycles later. Today he could have been still feeling the effects of the 9.5U dose which was clearly too much insulin. Since you've skipped, the larger depot should be mostly gone and you can try a 8.5U dose next cycle.

Bailey must have had some glucose toxicity from that time in higher numbers. When that breaks, they can come down in dose fairly quickly.
 
thanks wendy. sorry I mustve miss read your last condo as I thought u said I could've dropped a one off dose (like in past tense) when I didn't know whether id done the right thing giving the shot last time at such a low number. I didn't realise you meant I should do it on the next one silly me but im glad I skipped today :-D

il give 8.5 and see how we go with that.im guessing he wont be on this dose long ;-) we'll c. it was quite a fright I must say last night.seeing 2.9 (59)on alphatrak.i even tested on the freestyle lite to make sure and he was 1.3(23). panic was an understatement!!! :o
 
Thank goodness you caught him and brought him up! 23 is too low!

What Wendy is describing is what I did, too. I found with Punkin that if we had a run of lower numbers, giving the next shot at 1/2 dose, then returning to a "new regular dose" that was 10% or so less than the previous dose worked really well. If you've got several hours in lower green numbers and then just reduce by a small amount, you're very, very likely to be fighting low numbers in the next cycle as well. If you WANT that, then do it knowingly, but if you don't want to have low numbers in a subsequent cycle, you pretty much need to reduce with a one time smaller dose so you interrupt the depot action.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top