Angie 11/23 pmps=178

Status
Not open for further replies.

GraceAndAngie

Member Since 2013
Hi LL,

Angie has just done an extra special birthday dive. It's her 18th birthday today. I haven't posted in a while. I had been really unwell and decided to reduce her dose so that I didn't have to test her as much but I couldn't handle how high her bg got. I increased by 0.1 again and suddenly she was in beautiful numbers.

I gave her a teaspoon of food with a quarter teaspoon of honey when I got the 25. Tested again in 20 minutes and she was over 50 so I gave her some LC food. Will test again shortly to make sure she stays up.

I've just had some friends arrive for a picnic on our front field for Angie's birthday but I'll be testing every 20 minutes.

Last condo was here: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=128244

Angie's exray showed no lumps or obstructions and her broken sturnmum healing very well. The vet conculdes that her wheezing in breath is due to the sturnum pushing on her lungs.

Healing vines to all that need them. I'm very out of touch.

Grace
 
Re: Angie 11/23 amps=68 +3=25 +3.3=56 Eeep on 18th bday

Hi Grace,
We're glad that Angie is doing well on her 18th birthday!!! HAPPY BIRTHDAY ANGIE!! party_cat party_cat

I hope that you are doing better, too. Sending you lots of healing vines.

Don't be a stranger!

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: Angie 11/23 amps=68 +3=25 +3.3=56 Eeep on 18th bday

Angie, you are a wild girl! What a way to celebrate your 18th birthday! Have fun at the picnic, Grace. :-D
Liz
 
Re: Angie 11/23 amps=68 +3=25 +3.3=56 Eeep on 18th bday

Happy 18th Birthday, Angie!!!! How exciting!!! party_cat party_cat party_cat

That's qute a dip there, little girl....glad she came right up and is doing well.

I'm sorry you've been ill, Grace. Sending you many vines. I hope you enjoy your picnic today. We're glad you're back!!
 
Re: Angie 11/23 amps=68 +3=25 +3.3=56 Eeep on 18th bday

Happy Birthday Angie! You didn't need to do that 25 to get some birthday cake. :shock:

Healing vines to you Grace, you are doing an awesome job with Angie. :YMHUG:
 
Re: Angie 11/23 amps=68 +3=25 +3.3=56 Eeep on 18th bday

Birthday surfing was not to be. Angie liked her first dive so much that she tried it again - but not so deep the second time around!

Recap:
amps - 68 (1st breakfast, 1.1 U of insulin, reduced from 1.2 U because of low pre shot number)
+2 - 76
+3 - 25 (LC and honey)
+3.3 - 56 (LC)
+3.6 - 101 (LC - rest of 2nd breakfast)
+5 - 40 (3rd breakfast w small bit of honey)
+5.5 - 76
+8 - 166
pmps - 178 (1st dinner)

So much for a restful day with my two girlfriends. I had to keep going back and forth from the picnic to the house. Angie wasn't allowed outside after she went under the house in protest against honey and not enough breakfast. :roll: So poor kitty didn't get to come to her own birthday picnic!

Hi Ella, Alison, Liz and Marje - Thanks for the vines for me and birthday wishes for Angie. I'd really like to be around more - I am going to buy a little laptop so that I can go on the internet from bed. I need to lie down a lot so I don't use the computer much. No surfing today... :lol: Not when I've got friends around but I had a great time anyway.

Liz, you're right about the wild girl. She showed the orange side of her face today - she looks so prim and proper like butter wouldn't melt in her mouth. o:-) But then the ginger in her comes out and she goes zooming down the corridor and skidding round corners, jumping and falling off things, or cliff diving into deep water, as the case may be! :twisted:
 
Re: Angie 11/23 amps=68 +3=25 +3.3=56 Eeep on 18th bday

Wendy&Neko said:
You didn't need to do that 25 to get some birthday cake. :shock:

Hi Wendy - Birthday cake! ohmygod_smile I wish I had thought of that earlier! I could have given her some instead of honey. We ate it for her because it was HC. On second thoughts, probably it was best to give her what I knew would work. Thank you for the vines and wishes too.
 
I know I'm late, but Happy Birthday to Angie.
:RAHCAT dancing_cat flip_cat party_cat

I'm glad she's healing well. Sending prayers for you. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
:mrgreen: Happy Birthday Angie! :mrgreen:
f1942edba54a98861855814c82afbf29_happy_birthday_cat-1544.jpg


Loved the Photo Shoot especially the pearls ;-)
I hope you got lots of extra lovings and treats and new toys :smile:

With a 25, you'll be reducing more than 0.1 right?
 
Thank you Dyana, for the visit, Angie's birthday wishes, and for the reminder. I put her bg update on especially to ask that question and then I forgot.

[quote="Dyana"With a 25, you'll be reducing more than 0.1 right?[/quote]

I gave her a 0.1 U reduction this evening. How much would you recommend reducing by? She was on 1.1 U this morning when she got to 25. That was already a reduction from 1.2 U last night - I gave her a smaller dose because of her low amps.

Earlier Marje suggested adjusting by smaller increments to find her happy dose and that seemed to work well for her. Do you recommend returning to 0.25 U reductions in the case of really low numbers? That 25 gave me a real fright. I hope not to see her quite so low again!
 
I would hope to not see her that low again, either. Let me look at her spreadsheet again. Maybe the 0.2 reduction will be enough. You're always home to test her, right? And able to test at night, if need be?
 
Sorry Dyana, I just edited my post because I realised I had some numbers in there wrong and thought my wording was confusing. The spread sheet was right though.
 
Yes, I'm always home. I can test her at night. If I go through another bad patch and I'm not feeling well enough to do that, I'll reduce her dose again so that I can test less for a bit.
 
With that skip two days ago, that would have drained her shed some from that 1.20 dose and she still got the 25 the next day.
I would ether go with the 1.00 dose or a 0.95 if you can measure that. Do you have calipers? They make small increments easier to adjust.
Best Of Luck with the new dose. She'll probably bounce a little from the very low BG. Again, I do not want to see her that low again.
 
Thanks so much for your help Dyana. I use the template for the BD Ultra-fine syringes. I can do 1.0 or 0.9 U. Maybe I should go to 0.9 U?
 
I think, go with the 1.00 dose and see how she does. Just do extra tests for at least the next few days, especially if she has a green PS or a dropping PS. Let's see if anyone else has any opinions too, so check back here in the morning.
 
Happy birthday Angie. You would have gotten the same attention with a nadir above 50 though silly girl!
 
Hi Grace ~O) ~O) ~O)

I too love the new avatar. What a pretty birthday girl. Congrats on your 18th Birthday Angie. :-D :cool:

Good luck with the new dose too. I hope Angie likes it. I too would reduce or increase Mannie with small increments, he just responded much better when I did.

Have a good one! I hope all is going well there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top