12/04 bailey uk +6 63 +7 68 advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=129365

jeepers ,this boy will be the death of me. ive had to give syrup an hour after ive given yoghurt as he still wasn't coming up. nailbite_smile
im gonna go down in .5u for a while, as ive just got to trust my gut here!! I know its not protocol but id rather keep my boy safe.now weve pushed through the insulin resistance hes coming down so fast. the inbetween bits are all bounces im sure of it. its like he comes down off the bounce then throws out an unsafe number.

do u agree?
 
Anna - good catch today. Bailey's SS is starting to look better now. I think it's OK to go down in .5U increments. I did the same with Neko when she was in higher doses and charging down. You'll find that about the 5 unit point, .5U reductions are too much. The reason for doing the .25 U decreases for Bailey now was to help with the wicked bounces he likes to do. It's the same as what I do for Neko, I usually fatten or skinny her dose, but she's now on a much smaller dose. Percentage wise, fattening or skinnying for me is the same as .25U reductions for Bailey now.

One thing you'll have to keep in mind, is that the depot of a larger dose can last 4-6 cycles, typically longer with a larger dose. So, it is possible that Bailey is still seeing some of the influence of the 7.75 from 3 cycles ago, or the 8U from 4 cycles ago. What this means is that if you do a .5u decrease, and Bailey doesn't settle into nice numbers when he's finished bouncing, you may have to take him back up again, maybe by .25U. He seems to be taking only 2-3 cycles to get over his bounces, so that's good news. :-D
 
hi wendy, thanks for that bit of input that's really good know.

even 4 hours after the 65 hes not come up that much so it freaked me abit tonight I have to say.when hes had 2 full shringes of honey and a FULL sugary yoghurt over the course of the 2 hours he was real low!! so theres no way im happy reducing by .25 tonight. ive just got to do whats right my my little fella!
hes not taking half as long to clear a bounce these days so were looking ok. he knows how to scare his momma nailbite_smile . he does seem to get lethargic and abit miserable at these low numbers.he seems to be at his best in blues/yellows.

boy do you have to be on the ball with this illness don't you??? :YMSIGH:
 
If he's still pretty low at PMPS time, one trick you can do is to give him a somewhat reduced dose for tonight, about 1/2 dose, say 4U, then continue on with the new dose tomorrow morning. That will help drain the depot of the larger dose. When the depot is really full like it seems to be today, it can mean a really active cycle following too. Doing the 1/2 dose for one cycle is a technique for those on higher doses. It'll mean a higher number tomorrow morning, but you won't have to worry as much about him tonight and he'll recover fast enough.
 
hes heading up now on his own (at 128 at +10) so il see how we go in the next 2 hours but if hes not much higher than that il go with the 4u tonight. thanks wendy.x
 
no need for me to be worrying about that half shot now wendy. his bounce has kicked in already at 338 shot time. that pattern from today is near enough the same 2 days before. oh well a restful night now ahead ~O)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top