5/1 Rosy AMPS 495 /+5 492 PMPS 373/+3 310

Status
Not open for further replies.

tortie58

Member Since 2012
Previous
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69875

Yesterday: Rosy started with a yellow & slowly moved to green during AM nadir. A yellow as PMPS & finished off her day in a low green of 49
During those hrs when Roasy was having the low bg, I find it difficult to raise her immediately with the gravy. She remained in the 50s for 3 hrs time. Maybe next time I have to give her the honey or karo.

Today: Rosy looked a bit tired after last night. She is hungry but did not scream for food.
AMPS 495 gave her canned food & 1.25u

:?: Ive kept the same dose for the AM although she might deserve a reduction. Wait for some advice on her PM dose. The big bounce has begin!
 
Re: 5/1 Rosy AMPS 495 Dose advice!!

You did fine with shooting through the bounce for your AM shot. You can reduce Rosy's dose to 1.0u at PMPS.
 
Re: 5/1 Rosy AMPS 495 Dose advice!!

Congratulations on the decrease! And Rosy, keep it easy on the bounce this time.
 
Re: 5/1 Rosy AMPS 495 Dose advice!!

Hi Helen

Good luck on the reduction! One thing..it is perfectly fine for Rosy to surf in the 50s. If she drops below 50, then try giving her just a little more LC to try and get her to surf in the 50s. You don't need karo, gravy, or HC for 50s. :-D
 
Re: 5/1 Rosy AMPS 495 /+5 492 Dose advice!!

Thanks for all the good advice!

:?: Since Rosy did not hold her dose reduction last time, I am quite conservative to bring her down to 1u. She has been on the current 1.25u for 16 cycles, so maybe a f1u will be better for her while making room for future move. How about that? And the reduction will be given this PM or do we have to wait for her bounce to clear?


AM +5 492. Rosy throw up hairball after her lunch. She has remained in the red since the AM shot.
 
Re: 5/1 Rosy AMPS 495 /+5 492 Dose advice!!

you don't need to wait for a bounce to clear before taking a reduction. here are your guidelines for reducing the dose:

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
 
Re: 5/1 Rosy AMPS 495 /+5 492

Tks Julie, I'll take it down to a f1u for Rosy this PM. Nice to see you back!
 
Re: 5/1 Rosy AMPS 495 /+5 492

nice to see you too! hi rosy! cat_pet_icon

i'm headed for bed now - night night from my part of the world! :-D
 
Re: 5/1 Rosy AMPS 495 /+5 492

Surfing in the 50s is great Helen - that is good pancreas healing time, you just want to keep her from going lower than that. Yucky day for Rosy but on the bright side, it can only improve...
 
Re: 5/1 Rosy AMPS 495 /+5 492

Congratulations on the dosecrease :-D
That old hairball may have contributed to her high numbers, too.
Hope you have a good evening, and the bounce comes down soon.
 
Re: 5/1 Rosy AMPS 495 /+5 492

Vyktors Mum said:
Surfing in the 50s is great Helen - that is good pancreas healing time, you just want to keep her from going lower than that. Yucky day for Rosy but on the bright side, it can only improve...


Nice to see you dropping by Serryn! Busy with the human world?

Dyana said:
Congratulations on the dosecrease :-D
That old hairball may have contributed to her high numbers, too.
Hope you have a good evening, and the bounce comes down soon.

Thanks Dyana! Really hoping to see Rosy come down from those red numbers soon!
 
Re: 5/1 Rosy AMPS 495 /+5 492

Congrats on the reducie....go Rosy!!! I'm sure she'll clear that bounce in no time, and as someone else said, maybe that yucky hairball was a contributing factor.

Havea great day!

Amy
 
Re: 5/1 Rosy AMPS 495 /+5 492

Amy&TrixieCat said:
Congrats on the reducie....go Rosy!!! I'm sure she'll clear that bounce in no time, and as someone else said, maybe that yucky hairball was a contributing factor.

Havea great day!

Amy


Thankyou Amy!

Rosy's PMPS 373 moved down to a purple. Gave her steamed chicken & the dose reduction to a fat1u
 
Re: 5/1 Rosy AMPS 495 /+5 492 PMPS 373

Hi guys .. and our congrats too on the dose reduction! I don't know how many times mocha was at 1.0u and it never held, then that one magical time it did, so you never know!
 
Re: 5/1 Rosy AMPS 495 /+5 492 PMPS 373

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. and our congrats too on the dose reduction! I don't know how many times mocha was at 1.0u and it never held, then that one magical time it did, so you never know!

Oh! Is that so, PeterDevonMocha? Then I feel better with the 1u dose! I'm afraid Rosy cannot hold at that dosage, that's why the FAT1u :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top