5/16 Ella PMPS 369 +2=430 +4.5=308

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=71037

Good morning:)

Ella appears to be feeling better as she ate all of her food without assistance:)
Question: When Ella went down to the sunny yellows the other day, was that most likely the result of that morning's insulin or a previous deposit?
If it might be a previos deposit then I will switch back to the longer syringes as that is the only factor that I changed at that time.

I hope everyone has a brilliant day:)
 
Re: 5/16 Ella AMPS 346

The insulin you shoot in the morning, shouldn't have an onset until about +2, so the yellows would have been from the shed or last dose.
I use the 1/2 inch needles, because J.D. is a big boy and has a larger layer of fat under his skin.
 
Re: 5/16 Ella AMPS 346 +2=369

+2=380 going the wrong way again:( I think I'm going to try the longer syringe tonight.
 
Re: 5/16 Ella AMPS 346 +2=369

Hi guys .. oh no ella! Turn it around please, you can do it! Good luck with the other syringes .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/16 Ella AMPS 346 +2=369

Hi Tamara,

I don't think I have posted in your condo before, though I am a regular lurker. I am a fellow GTA resident, residing in Oakville. Your question yesterday about travel caught my eye.

tpr said:
OT: We are travelling to Montreal in two weeks and are thinking of taking Ella with us as we are staying at a pet friendly hotel. She has NEVER travelled farther than half an hour in the car, which she always associates with the vet and her meows are torture to our ears. I'm wondering if it's best for her well being if we leave her here and have someone administer less insulin to keep her safe or have her endure the trip. I'm also curious to know how people keep their insulin at an appropriate temperature duirng longer travels in the car.

Thanks:)

I don't know if you have seen this Google doc by Patti/Merlin about travelling with cats.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1gMwbpx3Lnrq5KDiKk0lhyQIRZylEmhztYhxZCpNcDqM/edit?hl=en_US&pli=1

If you do take Ella with you to Montreal (my home town!), my biggest concern about staying in a hotel with her would be controlling the environment when you are not in the room. You would not want any hotel employees entering the room to allow her to escape. You could possibly travel with a small crate, if Ella would tolerate being confined, to put her in while you are away from the room.

The insulin can be kept cool in an insulated lunch container with a freezer pack (well wrapped to prevent freezing of the insulin).

The cat can travel either in a crate or carrier, or loose in the car (less safe) but preferably on harness and leash. My main rule would be that the door of the car is never open if the cat is not confined. She should also have ID on her, and preferably a microchip. Patti's document will address a lot of points. As was mentioned yesterday in your condo, Ella and Edward travel with Rusty, so she may have more tips.
 
Re: 5/16 Ella AMPS 346 +2=369

Thanks for visiting everyone:)
I came home at lunch to check on her and she's 349...hmmmm. I think I will try the longer syringes again and I guess if they don't work then she qaulifies for a dosecrease?

Thanks so much for the link Linda! I will definitely read it when I have a free moment. I'm happy to know that we are neighbours:) We live in Long Branch, probably just 20 minutes away. It's nice to know there are other FD members near by:)

ps: Montreal is my home town too:)
 
Re: 5/16 Ella AMPS 346 +2=369 +6=349

PMPS 369 Ella was starving and joined the CPC! I'm using the long needles again an hoping for some yellows:)
 
Re: 5/16 Ella AMPS 346 +2=369 +6=349

Good luck with the longer syringes, and I hope Ella will come down a bit soon.

Did you hear that Ella, dosecrease? nailbite_smile
 
Re: 5/16 Ella AMPS 346 +2=369 +6=349

Long or short needles, even with the yellows, Ella needs more insulin. The only difference is that with mostly yellow nadirs, you increase by 0.25u. If nadirs are generally over 300, you increase by 0.5u. It is not good for Ella to be sitting in these numbers for 2 weeks.
 
Re: 5/16 Ella AMPS 346 +2=369 +6=349

Hi Sienne,

430 +2 :(

Even with all this data, I don't even know when her nadir is. How was she able to give us yellows the other day? I'm scratching my head as to what is going on. When she was on 1 and 1.25 units before that was too high for her. I don't get it.
 
Re: 5/16 Ella PMPS 369 +2=430

I see Ella is successful as a cat, she is confusing her mamma and being unpredictable. Nadirs can change from cycle to cycle, as Neko proved again to me today. Good luck with the dosecrease.
 
Re: 5/16 Ella AMPS 346 +2=369 +6=349

Hi Tamara,
I agree with Sienne: Ella needs more insulin. Since she is no longer diving and bouncing, more insulin will act to bring the whole range of numbers down. I really don't think the length of the needle on the syringe would make a difference in Ella's numbers: as long as the insulin gets injected underneath the skin, the insulin will be delivered. Have you begun to use the fresh vial of insulin? I think that it is time to start it!

As Linda says, we travel a lot with Rusty--a 6-hour trip to NY City; a 1.5 hour trip to our camp. He is not a fan of car travel, but he puts up with it. We carry the insulin in a cooler, well wrapped to protect it from getting too close to the cold block and possibly freezing. We carry a back-up meter, extra strips, etc. If you are staying in a hotel, make sure that your room has a 'fridge! (and carry a small thermometer so you can keep it next to the insulin).
If Ella isn't used to cars, it is probably best that she ride in her carrier. Rusty rides free in the car, but we always take the carrier in case of emergencies. We keep the door to his carrier open, so that he can go into the carrier to sleep, if he wants to. He likes to sit on top of the carrier and look out the window. Rusty tends to get carsick at the very beginning of a trip (nerves). We cover his area of the car (a small SUV with the back seats folded down) with newspaper, so that when he gets sick, that part of the paper can be torn off. We also take some puppy pee pads to use as vomit catchers. We carry a litterbox in the back of the car and he uses it several times on a long trip. We always have paper towels for clean-up of the contributions to the litterbox. When we make a rest stop (for the beans) we put out a small dish of food (with a lid; carried in the cooler) and pour some water, but Rusty usually ignores food and water. (Stu, our GA kitty, and Alice, Stu's predecessor, always ate and drank during a trip and rarely got carsick. ECID.)
Rusty wears a collar with our phone numbers written on it, his name, and the fact that he is diabetic.
I think that Linda's suggestions with regard to staying in the hotel are excellent. When you go out you should always put the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door so that chambermaids won't come in (and so that Ella won't bolt).

Patti's essay on traveling/camping with a cat is a Google Doc and is terrific.

I can't think of anything more at present. Just make sure that when you arrive in Montreal you spend some time with Ella so that she gets used to her environment. Explain to her when you go out that you'll be coming back. Perhaps do a trial run (go out for 1/2 hour). Cats don't like their routines disturbed!

Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/16 Ella PMPS 369 +2=430

Good luck with the new dose, and possibly travelling with Ella!

C'mon, Ella...time to work that juice!
 
Re: 5/16 Ella PMPS 369 +2=430

Good luck with the dosecrease! Dont be afraid of increasing the dose Tamara, as long as it brings their bg down and we are testing.. Follow the protocol & Ella wil be fine. As everybody said, sitting on anything above the blue is not a good sign for them because they'll get used to it & bounce even when hitting the blue.
Your trip sounds fun ! We dont have distant travelling in HK, its a very small place. Taking our cat on the road is a rare to us. Hope Ella cope well with your plan! When do you plan to go?
 
Re: 5/16 Ella PMPS 369 +2=430

+4.5 308. Seems like a fast drop from +2. Sometimes I don't know if I can trust this meter. Earlier on, I took multiple tests and it gave me numbers ranging from 300-400. Anyways, I will set my alarm for a +6 and see if she is still going down.

Thanks for all of your kindness, support and advice:)

I will dosecrease, as long as she doesn't drop to something ridiculous by the morning. She loves to pull those tricks on the days I can't come home for lunch.

Ella, Thanks SO much for the travelling advice:) I might take Ella for a few extended car rides to see how she does. If she's stable on a dose before we go away I may consider just hiring a vet tech to come in and check on her although I bet I'll be nervous the whole time I'm gone!

Hope everyone has a fantastic evening:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top