5/31-Racci-PS129,+4-42,+4-48,+5.25-53,+6-56,PMPS-145,+4.5-76

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
Was using Relion Ultima (about 15% higher) while waiting for Contour strips to come. Contour just got here for +4 reading.
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=72137
5/30/12-Racci-AMPS-168V, +4-230,+9-218,PMPS-253, Vet Update

Hi LL!
Racci has had me on the run most of the day with a reduction and a really low green surf! :o I wasn't quite prepared for it mentally today but luckily my order arrived today with the Contour strips so I caught it relative to Racci's usual numbers. Racci ate her 2 early breakfasts well but wasn't interested in her amps meal for over an hour after we finished and then I had to bring it to her. She wouldn't eat her lunch so I got some dry DM in her trying to bring her bg up a little. She hasn't pooped today either. I think she's a little sore from her shave and anal glands being expelled or she's just constipated from all the stress of the vet and this crazy week and not feeling well. I know she's upset with me testing so often, poor baby. ;-) She's very tired today. She was frisky this morning early before her shot. I know how she feels though. I fall asleep every time I get to comfortable today too. :lol:

Other than that, everything is cool here. I'm just keeping a real close eye on Racci today between her low bg and her infection and not feeling well, I'll be babying her today.

I hope everyone else is doing well or getting better. Talk to you later.

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci

EDIT: in subject line: 129 is amps and only relion bg for day.
 
Re: 5/31-Racci-R-AMPS-129,+4-42,+4.6-48,+5.25-53,+6-56

Looks like Racci is feeling somewhat better with all those great numbers. But she clearly wants attention from you today. Good thing you are able to give it to her.
 
Re: 5/31-Racci-R-AMPS-129,+4-42,+4.6-48,+5.25-53,+6-56

Hi Wendy,

Yes, she certainly took up my day today! It's a good thing I went back to sleep for another hour this morning and rested. She wore me out. :lol: She finally pooped and ate a decent meal at +8 & went in the bedroom to go to sleep again after I cleaned her, before I could get another test. I hate waking her for another one since I'm pretty sure by now she's come up but you never can tell with her lately. She was constipated & that explains why she wouldn't eat. She never does when constipated. Poor Racci's bottom is sore from being shaved yesterday & her vagina looks swollen. I don't think she's feeling very well today. That could be the infection. I'll have to call the vet back and ask.

I hope Neko is well and happy. I haven't had a chance to look at many condos in so many days.

Thanks for visiting!!!
 
Re: 5/31-Racci-R-AMPS-129,+4-42,+4.6-48,+5.25-53,+6-56

Could you check your SS with respect to the dose you gave Racci this morning and yesterday's date?

I'm not sure I'm following why you've decreased Racci's dose for the PM on 5/28 and then fattened the dose again in the morning and did the same thing yesterday. Did you shoot a skinny dose this morning?

If these aren't typos, I'm not sure what to suggest regarding dose. If you skinnied the dose this AM, I'd probably stick with that dose. If the information on your SS is accurate, I really want to encourage you to follow the protocol.
 
Re: 5/31-Racci-R-AMPS-129,+4-42,+4.6-48,+5.25-53,+6-56

Racci's doing well with her figures! You must be thrilled & exhausted Melaine! Good luck on the reduce dose.

Why is Racci's bottom sore & swollon? Is the shaving too much on her skin? Is it hot to your touch? No wonder she constipated, must be very uncomfortable. What do man apply after their shave? Something cool? You can try to see if Racci feel more at ease if you apply a piece of ice wrapped inside dry towel to apply on her bottom, avoid the area around the vagina & anus part.
 
Re: 5/31-Racci-R-AMPS-129,+4-42,+4.6-48,+5.25-53,+6-56

Hi Sienne,

I forgot to get the ss up to date. I'll do it asap. As far as the fat and skinny, today I gave a regular dose, which is what I've been trying to do with Racci. I wanted to get her off the fat & on to the 3.25 so I've been moving down a little turn of the syringe every time. The reason for the skinny yesterday am is because it was late by an hour because of the vet visit and I wanted to try to keep her on schedule if possible last night since she's usually high after a vet visit anyway. It turned out that she was, 253, so I was able to shoot her on time. The 28th was the day I started the change. I have days in there that Racci wasn't eating well and reliably, so I went skinny on her dose. I'm going to have to look at it carefully & add my notes from m;y handwritten copy. I've been trying to make that 3.25 dose work for her and it hasn't been quite right.

The reason I'm wondering if I should decrease now is because I caught the 42 at +4, which means she was most probably lower than that earlier at about 3.5 whih has been her nadir when 5.5 isn't. She didn't seem to feel as good at such a low bg today. She was much more chipper before her shot. I don't know if that's coincidental or not since she is sick. Maybe being sick made her go low too? I don't want her that low tonight while I'm sleeping either. I wouldn't mind if she surfed the 70's-80's but 40-50's is too low for comfort.
 
Re: 5/31-Racci-R-AMPS-129,+4-42,+4.6-48,+5.25-53,+6-56

Hi Helen,

Yes, I think the shave was too much for her delicate skin and she also has an infection so that might have something to do with it too. She liked when I used the cool spray cleaner on her so the cool compress is probably a good idea. I don't know about ice though. It might be too much. Thanks. I'll try some cool compresses. I have to go get her meds ready. It's that time. Be back in a llittle while.
 
Re: 5/31-Racci-R-AMPS-129,+4-42,+4.6-48,+5.25-53,+6-56

I would make notes on your SS if you're making certain of those dose adjustments. That way you'll remember and I won't plague you with questions -- especially if I don't remember your having answered my questions!! It's really helpful if you do note an early or late shot, etc. especially if there's a point where you (or any of us) are trying to make sense out of Racci's numbers.

I agree that surfing the 40s is less than desirable. It's your call whether to reduce again. What I would consider, though, is that if the reduction doesn't seem to be holding, increase the dose back up. You don't need to wait 3 days to increase with a failed reduction.
 
Re: 5/31-Racci-R-AMPS-129,+4-42,+4.6-48,+5.25-53,+6-56

Thanks, Sienne. I think I'll try it and see what happens. As you said, I can always go back. BRB. It's time now.
 
Re: 5/31-Racci-R-AMPS-129,+4-42,+4.6-48,+5.25-53,+6-56

Look at Racci go!!! Oh I feel bad that her poor bottom is so sore--POOR BABY!! hope the cold compresses helps her out-
I also find that Moonie gets tired sometimes after her am shot, and eats much less when she goes low--
I just hope she will be well tomorrow & more healing will make her feel better--My Love & Hugs from us!! :!:
 
Re: 5/31-Racci-R-AMPS-129,+4-42,+4.6-48,+5.25-53,+6-56

Hi Roni,

I feel even worse about her bottom. It was my fault because I told them to do it like last time so I didn't have to guess about whether she had the sores back or not and could tell what was going on with her and clean her better. She kept making a mess of herself even with it short, with that bushy tail and not getting everything out. If I had known it would hurt her tho, I wouldn't have had them shave her so close.

Racci usually gets extra hungry when she's low as if she knows that eating will bring her up. :razz: It's unusual for her not to be hungry when she's low. She almost always gets tired after her shot and meal but usually eats or naps for an hour and then eats. Poor Racci felt better before going to the vet. At least she'll get rid of the infection now hopefully and then she'll really feel good.

I hope Moonie is feeling better! With all this going on I haven't had a chance to check on her.

Thanks Roni.

My love and hugs back to you,

Melanie & Racci
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top