7/25 punkin amps 166 +3/137 +5/121 C. Difficile | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

7/25 punkin amps 166 +3/137 +5/121 C. Difficile

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member since 2011
yesterday

what a long night. oy. it's like having a newborn again.

last night's numbers:

pmps 78
+1 67 (when i saw no food spike . . . i figured it was going to be a long night.)
+2 51 DH gave tiny bit of HC, like 1 teasp including food
+2.75 43 gave 1 oz HC (end of previous HC can)
+3 56
+4 56
+5 43 1oz HC
+5.5 45 1 oz HC
+6 49 1 oz HC (the end of an entire Fancy feast can)
+6.5 57
+7.25 72

DH got up with punkin this morning and in my bleariness, i told him if punkin bounced to shoot the same dose and we'd reduce tonight. if he was lower, like under 150, to reduce. when i got up and he'd kept the dose the same with an amps 166, i kicked myself for not getting up, cuz i would've taken the reduction this morning. hoping punkin doesn't skate low and have a poke/carb fest all day today. i'll know in 10 minutes when i test him again which way the day will go.

waiting for poo test results. oh, and thanks for the suggestions yesterday - i've tried all the home remedies for stopping him up or improving his gut flora/fauna in the past 2 months. i'm thinking he needs drugs at this point.

eta: *the HC isn't really HC, it's 15%ish. the other reason i think this is likely infection is that it began with his dental on may 2nd, and his numbers went up at the same time. we had to go up in dose 50% although he's slowly coming back down now.
 
Re: 7/25 punkin amps 166 +3/137

Hi guys .. nice numbers for punkin! I hope that you get the test results for his poo soon .. poor lil fella .. Funny you say last night was like having a newborn .. my mom once told me (after complaining about getting up with mocha every hour) that having a newborn would be no sweat :lol: have a great day!
 
Re: 7/25 punkin amps 166 +3/137

Wow, punkin, you are a wild man these days! (((Julie))) hope naps help. I rarely took naps pre-FD but I do a lot now. Paws crossed on the vet report.
Liz
 
Re: 7/25 punkin amps 166 +3/137

Poor Punk! My vet suggested a live culture probiotic for Tess called Petdophillus. It is supposed to be more effective than the dried Fortiflora. I get it at a local health food store.
 
Re: 7/25 punkin amps 166 +3/137

Poor Punk! My vet suggested a live culture probiotic for Tess called Petdophillus. It is supposed to be more effective than the dried Fortiflora. I get it at a local health food store. Tess gets it every day, no extra flavoring like the Fortiflora has.
 
Hi Julie, sorry punkin is having troubles down there and hope you get the test results soon and a treatment plan to help. No fun, is it punkin! Mags had big problems, but the opposite of punkin's - constipation. Sending some good vines for punkin.
 
when my mom was in a nursing home i complained to my mother-in-law that all the conversation there revolves around people's bowels. "have you had a bowel movement today?" and then they want details. my mom was very private and really not happy with that.

my m-i-l said "poop makes the world work." tacky but true. :lol:

i tried to post earlier on punkin's results, but only got the subject line in and then the board went down.

he's got a bout of Clostridium Difficile, likely from the post-dental clindamycin. This is what i found in a Clinical Report from the Journal of American Veterinary Medicine Association, May 1, 2001: http://www.triton-vet.com/clostridium difficile diarrea gatos.pdf

Clostridium difficile has been recognized as an important cause of sporadic and antibiotic-induced enterocolitis in various animals, including horses, pigs, laboratory mammals, prairie dogs, Kodiak bear, and a penguin.

Administration of almost any antimicrobial may be associated with CDAD, although clindamycin, cephalosporins, and penicillins are most commonly implicated in humans.

in other words, take an antibiotic and you might get an infection. anyway, we've got metronidazole for it, which i'm thinking is what mannie was just taking. i feel relieved to know what's up - i've taken him in to the vet twice since that dental, both times telling her he was having some loose stools and that i'd had to go up in dose and was wondering if he might have an infection. the last week he's just not feeling good and i can tell he's got no spunk. so i hope this will turn him around. she said as early as a couple of doses would likely make a difference.

and punkin - he's saying "WAHOO PILL POCKETS!" :lol:
 
Oh wow Julie, you hear so much about people in hospitals getting c.diff but i've never heard of a kitty getting it!! Hopefully Punkin is on the road to recovery now and the poop problems disappear. There has been an awful lot of poo talk around LL lately hasn't there? :lol:
 
Did you get post dental films? Is there any chance there was a root that was left?

You may want to try a strong probiotic in addition to the metronidazole. ReNew Ultimate is one that was recommended to me. You start with 1/3 of a capsule twice a day. I found it at Whole Foods in the refrigerated supplement section.

Also, just as an FYI, when Gabby was having poo problems, she needed to be on the metronidazole for about a month. Every time I stopped it, the liquipoo would return.
 
I'm glad you finally found out what the problem was. Here's hoping Punkin is now on the road to recovery.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top