8/29 Rupert PMPS 489 +3.5 266 +4.5 172

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=78004

numbers:
AMPS 585
+2 523.8
+6 446.4
PMPS 424.8
+3 421.2

Hm... well a red start is better than a black start and at least we have some action again today although, as usual, it's a fairly steep dive to the pink. Hoping, as always, that he'll slow down and level out a bit.

BEBT this morning, hungry and bossy, and now sleeping on top of his Nanner on the couch! He seemed a little sleepy yesterday, and no wonder with those numbers. Hoping we can get him into a healing range soon. I am really not sure what dose to give him whilst we are away, usually I reduce by at least .25 or to an actual 'line' on the syringe so it's easy for the sitter. Guess we'll see where he goes today. My thoughts at the moment are to give him the full 2.0 tomorrow morning and then reduce to 1.5 for the two days we are gone. I HATE the thought that he'll go up into these high numbers again though... but given that he CAN dive on a full 2.0 I"m a little nervous to leave him at that whilst we are gone. grrrrr. Silly cat.

Anyone have any thoughts on dosing advice?

Hope everyone has a good day. I"m off to work shortly, I came home early yesterday and managed a fabulous 2 hour nap in the afternoon! BLISS! Won't get to do that today though!
 
Re: 8/29 Rupert AMPS 464 +2 324

Hi guys .. heading down nicely rupert! Just take your time, nice and easy ... No dosing advice from me .. I'm sure others will be along shortly and can probably help figure this out before you leave .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/29 Rupert AMPS 464 +2 324

Naps. Wish they worked on me.
I went back to bed this morning after shot for 1 1/2. I guess that will be my new nap time even if I think it's just a continuation of bed time.

Trips.!? Hard decisions.
I always decrease a little too for safety.
Don't want to trust someone else to deal with it . You really need a cat devotee.


This dance can be really difficult sometimes. :YMSIGH:
I hope Rupert can work his way down and stay there soon too.
 
Re: 8/29 Rupert AMPS 464 +2 324 +6 68

and a diving we will go... again! nice to see the green, nice to see the action.. wish it wasn't so dramatic... as usual. Actually, I guess it's not dramatic anymore! Dramatic for Rupert would be a SLOW slide! sigh. so.. I"m guessing another bounce this evening and another couple of days of bouncing whilst we are gone.. so again... what should I do with his shot. I think I HAVE to reduce it from the 2.0 since it's apparent that it CAN be enough to send him low... am thinking to be on the super safe side 1.5?? again, all thoughts appreciated.
 
Re: 8/29 Rupert AMPS 464 +2 324 +6 68

It looks like Rupert wanted you at home today. Why is it they do the lowest numbers from the highest AM numbers? What a diver.

No thoughts on the dose, but at least it's only for a couple of days so he should get back to speed fairly quickly when you return.
 
Re: 8/29 Rupert AMPS 464 +2 324 +6 68

Hi Pip. You know I don't give dosing advice. I must mention though, that I am sooo happy that Checkers is on levimer. I don't have to deal with those hideous dives and soars any more......*knocks on wood*

Good luck with whatever dose you decide on. I know you will stick on the safe side. Better too high, than too low, especially with someone inexperienced with Rupie's famous dives.
 
Re: 8/29 Rupert AMPS 464 +2 324 +6 68 +7.5 194

darnit, he's climbing just as rapidly now. grrrrrrrrrrrr. but it makes deciding to lower his dose whilst we are gone a lot easier! wonder what he'll do tonight????????????
 
Re: 8/29 Rupert AMPS 464 +2 324 +6 68 +7.5 194 PMPS 489

489 as his PMPS.

all I can say is:

ARGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH ohmygod_smile

if he doesn't settle down soon it's vet visit time again to see if he has a tooth acting up again or something? this is getting truly silly.
 
slightly slow slide to yellow, with a quicker slide to blue... setting himself up no doubt for another bounce in the morning. Oh well, least he's hitting some nicer colours again so I shouldn't complain!
 
Hey Pip, What a crazy ride you guys had today! That was an interesting comment someone made about Levemir and smoother rides, earlier in the day here... I remember reading a while ago too, that some cats respond to it better. I don`t know anything, of course, with my whole 19 days here, hahaa. Seems like a year! I hope all is well there in Paradise (that is where I think you live, it looks like it!). - Alexa
 
Ok, back again :mrgreen:

Pip, you're a rockstar, keeping your cool through Rupert's bounces with only a little bit of venting here and there! I've been looking over the SS and Rupert's dosing history, and there are a few thoughts I do have. First though, the petsitter dosing query: The current dose of 2.0u seems to be doing some decent work for Rupert, since it brings him down into blues and greens nicely, but we've seen how he does dip lower when the shed is filled properly (which, now at the 15th cycle on the current dose, it certainly appears to be). So, I think your plan to reduce to 1.5u is a good one.

I see on your SS you note that the pet sitter will do no tests - I assume that is *excepting* pre-shot tests?

In more general terms, I think Sienne's suggestion (based firmly on TR ptotocol) a little while back of holding the current dose *until there are 3 dips into the 40s, or one into the 30s* is a good one. Rupert seems to be one of those kitties who simply will "bounce until they don't." I do think he's got potential to settle down and flatten out - he consistently returns to the healthy BG ranges, and he has shown that now and then his liver reacts a bit more reasonably: For instance, there was that lovely run from the 6th to the 7th of August - only a short bounce into the pink and right back to blue next cycle! I also see you held the dose there, despite the single dip into the 40s. The couple of following cycles are decent too - again giving Sienne's approach a very good shot at working well for Rupert.

I do wonder about Rupert's diet. Have you ever considered feeding him raw food? I understand there are some very good store-bought varieties of raw food in the US, and of course you have the option of making the food yourself, too. Of course, that's definitely a very LC option. I do see your concern that Rupert *may* be overcompensating for 6-7% carb food. But I think the opposite may also be possible - that he simply is very carb-sensitive. I'm thinking of days like the 20th and 24th of April, for example, where he bounced high and lastingly from the combination of dipping into the 40s and having MC food. Then again, if you compare that to a day like the 22nd JUly, he dipped (for longer though) into the 40s, had HC (FF gravy) and only went up into yellow. It's very difficult to say whether Rupert is reacting to "not enough carbs" or "too many carbs", or whether it's more the *type* of food or the specific day and its cycle's specific speed/range that affect Rupert variously.

All that being said, I still think raw is at least worth a try (with the caveat that you'd have to ready and able to watch him quite closely to catch any strong reactions). What do YOU think?

I hope Rupert doesn't miss you too terribly when you're away. Have a great trip, and travel safely. Let me know if you have any follow-up thoughts on my ramblings :mrgreen:
Hugs
Jane
 
Pip - if you are interested in giving raw food a try, PM me and I'll give you an overview of what's available locally. We have quite a range of choices. They do range in carb % a bit. I think Jane is suggesting going for some of the lower carb raw foods.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top