8/31 Hershey PMPS(120) +7.25(54) +8.75(42) +9.25(52)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
8/30 Hershey

I feel like the White Rabbit in Alice In Wonderland - "I'm late, I'm late, I'm late!"

Lots of scurrying around at my house today trying to get Doug ready to go out of town. Hershey is behaving - staying out of trouble and keeping calm numbers - so we don't have to worry about him. He seems happy - doesn't purr so much anymore, wondering if part of that is age. And, he's not eating a lot. He's not skipping meals or anything; he's eating about 8.5-oz daily. I'm thinking that must be about right for him because he keeps coming back to that amount when his numbers are nicer. The Miralax seems to be helping - poo not so hard anymore. I was going to say I've noticed he doesn't sleep as much anymore, but looked around to see he and Oreo are in a deep sleep. Hershey is easily aroused from sleep. Sometimes Oreo scares me because I have to shake him to wake him. I even started calling for Doug one day because I feared the worst! :o

I hope y'all have been enjoying a wonderful day. It's a beautiful sunny day here, but also hot and HUMID!

Thanks for visiting us!!!

Libby (& Hershey, too!)


AMPS (190)
+12 - Shot .65u at 3:00am - 1/16th tsp Miralax
+5 (108) - fed, but didn't eat until at least +6
+7.75 (72)

PMPS (120) +12 - Shot .65u at 3:00pm - 1/16th tsp Miralax
+4.5 (104)
+5.25 (74) - fed, ate <1/4
+7.25 (54)
+8.75 (42) - fed tsp 7% Friskies Pate'
+9.25 (52)
 
Re: 8/31 Hershey AMPS(190) +5(108) +7.75(72) PMPS(120)

Numbers are lookin’ great Libby. Hope you get some time to relax this weekend too!
Best to you guys...
:mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/31 Hershey AMPS(190) +5(108) +7.75(72) PMPS(120)

Hershey is getting into normal numbers, they eat less, are more active, & may sleep less(MOonie sometimes wants to be with us all day!) BUT these are all Good signs!!! Hershey is getting BETTER :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
Moonie eats about 2-2 and a half 3 oz cans a day, & goes very often into a very deep sleep also...AND she is on Miralax for a long while--Hey we are all getting older, He is doing great!!!!Very Normal for a older cat( not an old cat) :lol: -Not to worry!-Hugs & Love from us!
 
Re: 8/31 Hershey AMPS(190) +5(108) +7.75(72) PMPS(120)

Good flattish cycle for Hershey today. It looks like he is settling into this dose quite nicely. Happy cycling tonight!

Nice to hear the Mirlax is working, it looks like you might have the right dose for him.
 
Re: 8/31 Hershey AMPS(190) +7.75(72) PMPS(120) +5.25(74)

Hey, Donna - Thanks. I'd love to have some time to relax this weekend, but not holding out a lot of hope for it! :lol:

Hey, Roni - Thanks; I'm thinking they're good signs, too, as long as he isn't losing a lot of weight or starting to look like he did last November. I wish he'd hold his weight closer to 12-pounds, but maybe he doesn't agree that's where he needs to be...at least, not right now. I hear ya' on we're all getting older - my fall last Saturday (and residual soreness) reminded me of that!! :lol:

Hey, Wendy - Hershey better be careful, I could get used to these numbers...FAST! :-D


+4.5 (104)
+5.25 (74) - fed, ate <1/4
 
Re: 8/31 Hershey AMPS(190) +7.75(72) PMPS(120) +7.25(54)

+7.25 (54)

I talked to Hershey about not getting cute with a high bounce tomorrow...we'll see if he listened...
 
Re: 8/31 Hershey AMPS(190) +7.75(72) PMPS(120) +7.25(54)

Hershey's looking good today!

I'm wondering about the deep sleeping.
Shadow never did it before being on insulin where I can push her and not get a response.
She's always been a catnapper before.

So is it age or insulin that makes them sleep deeper?
 
Re: 8/31 Hershey AMPS(190) +7.75(72) PMPS(120) +7.25(54)

Hey, Sienne - Yes, I am cautiously excited about his SS lately. :-D

Hey, Rhiannon - It's Oreo, my non-diabetic who sleeps so deeply sometimes. I don't know what causes it. Oreo is only 5, so I haven't a clue...

Well, I think I may test him one more time and hit the bed before midnight for the first time in many months....or, I may skip the test since it's +8 now...

Goodnight!!
 
Re: ??8/31 Hershey PMPS(120) +7.25(54) +8.75(42)

I decided to test real quick before heading to bed.

+8.75 (42) - fed tsp 7% Friskies Pate'

So - do I have to give him a reduction? He's been doing sooo well on this dose the last day or so. Could I wait to see if he drops again? Or, should I go ahead and reduce? I'm going to be in charge of shots for the next week or so and am nervous enough about that (given my history of fur shots).

I was thinking I could:
1) Keep this dose and see if he drops again
2) Shave this dose to maybe .5u because last time it seemed .45 just wasn't enough. Of course, that was then and this is now...

Thoughts? 3 hours until shot time...THANKS!
 
Re: ??8/31 Hershey PMPS(120) +7.25(54) +8.75(42)

Wow, that came out of nowhere! I figured Hershey would just start back up and give you the night off. He must have read you were planning on hitting the hay by midnight?

I don't think you have to reduce, Libby. If Hershey doesn't agree with that, he'll let you know soon enough though. Maybe see if he bounces in the next three hours, at which time you can "shoot the bounce" I think it's called? Then reduce in the morning. But I think that is predicated on him bouncing pretty well going into the PMPS shot.... I don't know, I'm still trying to learn all this stuff!

So are you testing again soon?


Carl
 
Re: 8/31 Hershey PMPS(120) +7.25(54) +8.75(42)

Hey, Carl! I keep going back and forth about a possible reduction. If this was Monday, I'd say we'd hold and keep a check on him. But, it's almost Saturday and I'll leave him most of the AM cycle on Sunday, so that's making me lean toward shaving to .5u. :YMSIGH: You're right, it came out of nowhere. I surely didn't expect him to have dropped after the +7.25 test, that's why I almost didn't test.

+9.25 (52)

I think he's okay now, so I didn't feed him any more.
 
Re: ??8/31 Hershey PMPS(120) +7.25(54) +8.75(42)

wow on the numbers! look at all that green. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: So much for going to bed early huh.

well no dose advice here. I think it's really your call. If you find you are working too hard to keep Hershey's numbers up then you should reduce, If not, then hold the dose . With Mannie, we reduced when he's had three tests in the 40's, over difference cycles. It's what worked for him. Of course that was then, things have changed a little since his dental appy issues, when reductions came from that and not numbers... Good luck with your decision. Maybe ask the question again when more folks are online ?
 
Re: 8/31 Hershey PMPS(120) +7.25(54) +8.75(42)

A strategy that's used on the German Lantus board is to wait until a cat drops below 50 on three occasions or drops below 40 once in order to reduce the dose. That's an option.

And Carl, it's, "shooting through the bounce."
 
Okay - unless I hear that this is a really bad idea, here's my plan -

Shoot .65u in 2.5 hours if he seems to be bouncing. Well, what number would that be? Maybe a pink? Okay. A pink AMPS and we'll shoot .65u, then reduce to .5u at 3pm.

Shoot .5u in 2.5 hours if he doesn't seem to be bouncing. So, if he's blue or green. But, thanks to scheduling we'll be pretty much locked into the .5u for about a week, maybe.

Sound like a plan?
 
Thanks for the clarification Sienne. :smile: I'm glad, because in PZI, we're always telling people "Don't shoot the bounce!" One word makes a world of difference.

Libby,
That sounds like a plan. I wouldn't expect to see a pink PMPS though. He went down to 42, but he only was at 120 to start, right? I'm thinking that's not a deep dive, or a quick one, so maybe he won't bounce at all.

Carl
 
Hey, Michelle - Thanks for checking on us :-D

Thanks, Sienne. Sounds like a good idea. So, we'll plan to stick with the .65u and 'keep on keepin' on' :-D
 
Carl - You slipped in while I was posting. You're right - ONE word makes a world of difference! From your mouth to Hershey's liver - hoping for little to no bounce!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top