10/17 Gracie PMPS 93

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

10/16 Recap:
AMPS: 289
+5: 183
+6: 153
+7: 120
+8.5: 136
PMPS: 139
+2: 204
+5: 237


Good afternoon! Sending lots of healing vines today to Fitzel, Pat's Shadow, Rocket, Comet, and any others who need them.

Missy G appears to still be in a bit of a bounce after her 30s the other night but so far, it's not too high of a bounce. I gave her the dose reduction last night so we will see if she can hold the f.5u this time. Paws crossed. Her chin looks really good but the vet said she wants her to stay on the clavamox one more week to be sure that it thoroughly addresses the infection. I'm glad she's cautious. Other than that, our little brown girl has all 5Ps in place....although her playing "P" is a little reduced today since her sidekick, Tobey, had a dental appt.

Speaking of Tobes, we just got home a little bit ago and YAY....no extractions necessary!!! He carries the herpes virus and so it affects his gums....he's more prone to gingivitis even though we brush every single day. We had the anesthesiologist there and she said he did beautifully and induced and woke up very nicely and calmly. He's doing great....he's been eating and napping. He is so funny because any pain drugs at all and his normal lovey self becomes super duper uber lovey. He cracks us up! So all is good. The vets are going to put their noggins together and see if they can come up with some other treatment we can do at home that will better address his gingivitis issues....just brushing isn't getting it.

And, lastly, I had a long talk with the anesthesiologist about Gracie and an eventual dental for her when she needs it. I love love love this vet. She was on the AAHA working group to write the anesthesia protocol for feline diabetics. She said that in order to keep them stable, they should have their regular dose of insulin AND their regular foods before a dental and the dentals should always be done in the afternoon. We've used her for anesthesia for all our cats and her philosophy has always been to not withhold water at all and to let them have a small meal (tsp of food) which is finished 5 hours before the anesthesia. She said if FDs get their insulin and fuds early in the morning, the dentals can be done five hours later in the afternoon and the cats are more stable. Unfortunately, many vets do dentals in the morning and won't work their schedules around doing a dental on an FD in the afternoon and they still want to fast cats for 12 hours before anesthesia. So....if your cat needs a dental, ask your vet to check out the AAHA guidelines for anesthesia for FDs.

Working on cat insurance paperwork this afternoon....I've let it amass. Shame on me. Will BBL. Have a great day.
 
Re: 10/17 Gracie AMPS 158 +4 198 Tobey Dental

So good to hear Tobey had no extractions and everything is good.
Hope they can figure out something for the gingivitis issue.
I'm amused by Tobey's "I love you, man" demeanor.
That's got to be great.

I just copy and pasted what you said about dental for future reference since my "vets" aren't quite up to current thinking yet.
I might need that sooner than later.

Hope Gracie's chin keeps on healing and she holds the dose this time. Paws Crossed!!
 
Re: 10/17 Gracie AMPS 158 +4 198 +8 150 Tobey Dental

Great news about Tobey! Trix was the same way after her dental...it was as if she'd just came back from Woodstock :lol: !

Very interesting FD dental info...I'll have to tuck that away.

Have a great evening!!
 
Re: 10/17 Gracie AMPS 158 +4 198 +8 150 Tobey Dental

Great news with Tobey's dental :-D and hope the Vet can come up for a plan for treatment for gingivitis. Maggies has it, too! Very interesting guidelines for dentals.
 
Re: 10/17 Gracie AMPS 158 +4 198 +8 150 Tobey Dental

So glad Tobey's dental went well! Too funny about the uber lovey dovey boy. Not a bad day for Missy G either.
 
Re: 10/17 Gracie AMPS 158 +4 198 +8 150 Tobey Dental

Nice numbers Gracie! Glad Tobey's dental went well...and thank you for the vines for Shadow!
My new vet suggested a "Pulse Therapy" aproach to the gingivitis for my two, particularly Raja. We gave her 7 days of once a day Clindamyacin after her dental and then I was to go in either at one, two or three months to pick up more Clindamycin for another week of "Pulse Therapy"....
I decided to go in now at two months from her dental. That is to be continued throughout the year with doing the ABs once a day for about a week....it is supposed to keep the inflammation down so I am looking forward to seeing how it goes for us.
I will be interested in knowing what your vets suggest....it IS a problem and one that I would love to solve....
Hugs to you all! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/17 Gracie AMPS 158 +4 198 +8 150 +10 121 Tobey Dental

I'm glad everything went well with Tobey's dental. I hope Gracie comes back down for you soon.
 
Re: 10/17 Gracie AMPS 158 +4 198 +8 150 +10 121 Tobey Dental

Great news for Tobey.

I wonder how those dental guidelines would relate with a late nadir cat?
 
Re: 10/17 Gracie AMPS 158 +4 198 +8 150 +10 121 Tobey Dental

Yeah. Good news on the dental and no distractions.

No fun on the insurance paperwork. Hope its not too daunting of a task.

Surf Gracie, Surf.

Have a great night Marje. Nice work with Lisa and Leo.

Karen
 
Re: 10/17 Gracie AMPS 158 +4 198 +8 150 +10 121 Tobey Dental

Hi Marje

Sorry I haven't gotten over to your Condo today. Yay for Tobes on the dental. That's always a big relief - I hate the anesthesia. Thanks for the information for FD dentals - definitely good to know and I'll bookmark this.

I love the lubby dubby Tobes - that's really funny! None of my animals have ever been anything more than tired and loopy. No extra love for me, just want to sleep.

Ok Gracie, keep coming on down to nice numbers. How about you and Leo average your numbers and you both walk away with nice greens?
 
yay baby girl!!!

Sienne....I did talk to Dr. L about Gracie's late nadir. She said she studies their SSs and discusses with the CG the cycles. She can figure out the best time to do the dental and can control the BG if needed. We were just getting into a good nitty gritty conversation when she was called out.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
yay baby girl!!!

Sienne....I did talk to Dr. L about Gracie's late nadir. She said she studies their SSs and discusses with the CG the cycles. She can figure out the best time to do the dental and can control the BG if needed. We were just getting into a good nitty gritty conversation when she was called out.

Wow - VERY impressive! You are lucky to have such an informed and interested vet.
 
So nice to see Gracie back in greens where she looks best and that Tobes didn't need any major work.

Interesting on the new anesthesia protocol. Following on Sienne's question, I wonder what they do about cat that like to have a wandering nadir. I like the idea of letting them have insulin and fuds before hand though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top