Linda and Bear Man
Member Since 2009
Last week's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=7584
amps 220, +3 153
I am trying out a lower dose in preparation for Bear's beloved DPS giving shots. Two nights ago, he gave me a +13 of 103, and I ended up skipping a shot. I don't really want him dipping deep into the greens these days, and especially not while Andrea is taking care of him, so I am seeing how the F.5U (down from .75) looks on him. He seems pretty stable and comfortable this week. If things hold, I should be able to get on my plane next Old Timer's Day for a short visit to Disney World with my sister and the kids. I told Andrea to just keep him eating, no matter what, and if in doubt, don't shoot. He will have more access to dry while I am gone, and will probably run a bit high. Andrea will have her hands full with the shot/binder/food/meds timing and everything else that needs doing here in the crazy house.
OT: Miss Emily had her abdominal ultrasound yesterday. Her kidneys looked pretty good. No mineralization. They were consistent with chronic past or ongoing pyelonephritis and interstitial nephritis. The IM vet does not suggest a change to a renal diet, or treatment with a binder. Having said that, I have been feeding her the same lowER phosphorus food that Bear is on, and will keep feeding that to her. The vet suggests rechecking a urine culture on her frequently. The bigger surprise was the evidence of chronic IBD with pancreatitis. We have sent blood out for PLI and B12/folate testing. The vet wants to consider treatment with Ursodiol and Prednisone and a hypo-allergenic diet (I think those are too high carb for her, though, as she is pre-diabetic).
Emily's U/S report: http://docs.google.com/fileview?id=0Bwg ... NzNk&hl=en
Teddy is feeling well, too. He has been taking Tylosin, which has helped a lot with his diarrhea and hematochezia. Here he is taking a nap on Bear:
amps 220, +3 153
I am trying out a lower dose in preparation for Bear's beloved DPS giving shots. Two nights ago, he gave me a +13 of 103, and I ended up skipping a shot. I don't really want him dipping deep into the greens these days, and especially not while Andrea is taking care of him, so I am seeing how the F.5U (down from .75) looks on him. He seems pretty stable and comfortable this week. If things hold, I should be able to get on my plane next Old Timer's Day for a short visit to Disney World with my sister and the kids. I told Andrea to just keep him eating, no matter what, and if in doubt, don't shoot. He will have more access to dry while I am gone, and will probably run a bit high. Andrea will have her hands full with the shot/binder/food/meds timing and everything else that needs doing here in the crazy house.
OT: Miss Emily had her abdominal ultrasound yesterday. Her kidneys looked pretty good. No mineralization. They were consistent with chronic past or ongoing pyelonephritis and interstitial nephritis. The IM vet does not suggest a change to a renal diet, or treatment with a binder. Having said that, I have been feeding her the same lowER phosphorus food that Bear is on, and will keep feeding that to her. The vet suggests rechecking a urine culture on her frequently. The bigger surprise was the evidence of chronic IBD with pancreatitis. We have sent blood out for PLI and B12/folate testing. The vet wants to consider treatment with Ursodiol and Prednisone and a hypo-allergenic diet (I think those are too high carb for her, though, as she is pre-diabetic).
Emily's U/S report: http://docs.google.com/fileview?id=0Bwg ... NzNk&hl=en
Teddy is feeling well, too. He has been taking Tylosin, which has helped a lot with his diarrhea and hematochezia. Here he is taking a nap on Bear: