1/18 Zener PMPS 69;+1.5 128;+2.5 94;+3.5 68;+5 82 vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Looks like Zener is off the trampoline and on the diving board again. :shock: We were able to stop the drop with some MC so paws crossed he hops on his surfboard. Appy was not happy this morning, but some tummy massage seemed to ease the cramping and he is eating. He is up on Versailles, his specially adapted kitty condo, under the heat vent and watching the birds at the feeder outside the window. :mrgreen:

MamaBeanLiz is teaching class this morning. My early morning seminar class on Friday doesn't start up for a few weeks, so I could stay home and keep an eye on the Olympic diver. ;-) The MamaBeans have an appointment with Zener's vet mid-day to discuss his results and make a plan. Our vet is in the clinic today but not seeing patients, so she made an appointment especially for us.

We so appreciate all the responses, information, links and support from everyone. I don't have time to reply to each one of you individually, so please know how much your support and information helps us. We will be taking our iPad with all the posts and information on tests, meds, etc to our meeting with our vet this morning. Will post about our meeting this evening.

Hoping everyone in LL has a lovely Friday and a nice long weekend in the US.
 
Re: 1/18 Zener AMPS 165;+2 58;+3 87

Hi Anne & Liz,

Best of luck with your consultation with the vet today. I'm sure that you will be able to devise a plan that will help the Z Man and not be too difficult to follow. We will be thinking of you, and those thoughts are good thoughts.

Check back with you later.

Many hugs,

Ella & Rusty

Hey Z., great to see you in the lagoon. Surf safe, my pal,
Rusty
 
Re: 1/18 Zener AMPS 165;+2 58;+3 87

Great numbers Z Man :mrgreen:

Thinking of you guys today, good luck @ the vet :smile:
 
Re: 1/18 Zener AMPS 165;+2 58;+3 87

Sounds like Zener is having a great day now that his appy is back up post massage. How many furbabies have a Palace home...Versailles no less....for a kitty climber ? :lol:

Hope that the vet is able to calm your fears and give you a good plan of action (or inaction....whatever's better for Zener).....sometimes just knowing a little more is a comfort.
 
Re: 1/18 Zener AMPS 165;+2 58;+3 87

Morning Anne and special thoughts and prayers for you and Liz as you meet today with your Vet on the U/S and treatment. I know you have a great Vet, so that sure helps. Glad Zener's appy is better with the special massage from MamaLiz. Zener, how about a nice surf for your Beans today! :mrgreen: Will be waiting for an update on today's Vet visit.
 
Re: 1/18 Zener AMPS 165;+2 58;+3 87

Morning guys what a great day so far for Zener. Sending positive thoughts for a good consultation. Hope all goes well and you devise a great plan that will work well for everyone. Take care and we will be thinking of you today. Happy Fursday!
 
Re: 1/18 Zener AMPS 165;+2 58;+3 87

Look at Zener gearing up for the Olympics! Glad you guys caught him on his diving rampage! Hope you all get some good information, advice, meds, etc. from the vet tonight. Sending happy, healing vines for the cutest Zener on the planet!
 
Re: 1/18 Zener AMPS 165;+2 58;+3 87;+4 71

Nice green surf for Zener! :mrgreen: I got caught up on your condo from yesterday. I just wanted to say that the steroid is doable. Tarragon takes prednisonolone daily for his asthma and we have not had any issues. It just takes some insulin tweaking to make it work. Good vetty vines for you that you have a good meeting today. Big hugs guys!
 
Re: 1/18 Zener AMPS 165;+2 58;+3 87;+4 71;+6.5 57; vet

Oh my goodness, we cannot say thank you enough to LL for all the support and information. We are so grateful! :YMHUG:

Our vet met with us for over 30 minutes (and didn't charge us a penny) and went over the ultrasound results, bloodwork results, C & S (which is negative so far), possible treatment options and overall treatment plans and answered each and every question we asked. We had our iPad with all your posts with us and asked her about tests, medications and just about everything anyone had mentioned to us, plus our own research. She was very patient and discussed pro's and con's for all the options. It was definitely a "team" effort in developing our plan (Team Zener = Zener + MamaBeans + LL + Dr Miller ) :-D

The most important part is that Zener is feeling good and doing well with the current regime we have him on (IBD was suspected after last year's U/S and symptoms of poor appy, vomiting, constipation, poor motility). We had started him on Cerenia pill form regularly (we had used injections of Cerenia when he had bouts of inappetance, nausea and vomiting) and even more research has come out since then that supports the use of Cerenia in treating inflammation and cramping/pain with IBD and not only for vomiting. Results have been positive for maintenance use of Cerenia in IBD and we are certainly seeing that with Zener. The combination of ondansetron, zantac and cerenia are working well for him and will do no harm to his kidneys, so our plan is to continue with that. We will repeat the U/S in 3 months to check on the lymph nodes again and repeat measures of the intestinal wall, but we are not opting for invasive tests. It just feels like too much for our guy. We discussed all our options and are reluctant at this time to do surgical biopsy even though it seems to be the best way to confirm if this is lymphoma rather than a progression of IBD. He did so poorly the last time he was under anesthesia, we just don't want to go there. Our vet can do biopsies here in Flagstaff and can consult with an oncologist in the Phoenix area if we change our minds and feel the need to do that.

So, for now, we will carry on with our plan for his FD, IBD and CKD. Geez, it's the alphabet soup. Managing several things at once is sure a challenge. What to do for one, that will not make the other worse. So, plan for now is repeat his U/S in 6 months, repeat his bloodwork to watch his kidneys in 3 months and then if no change, probably 6 months. We will add in the budesonide, if symptoms progress. And since it is very early stage of kidney disease, adding extra water in his food and finding foods lower in phosphorus is our treatment of choice. We will consider fluids and other meds when the CKD progresses, but they are not indicated right now. And last, but not least, carry on with the tight regulation protocol with Lantus. Whew....

And meanwhile, the mighty Z has been outside in the sun, chased a few birds and surfed in the green lagoon, what a great day. :razz:
 
Re: 1/18 Zener AMPS 165;+2 58;+3 87;+4 71;+6.5 57; vet

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon That looks like a great plan and Zener has been doing so well w/ how him to the stress of the tests, at least not yet.you have been treating him. I can so understand not wanting to put him through all that again.

Zener obvious ly doesn't know there is anything different. (There isn't actually, you just know about it.) he is having one great day! bcatrun_gif
 
Re: 1/18 Zener AMPS 165;+2 58;+3 87;+4 71;+6.5 57; vet

I'm glad Zener is having a good day. Very nice greens. Your vet sounds like a great vet. That was so nice of her to take time to answer all of your questions. I'm glad you have a plan in place now. I'm sure it is a huge relief to know how to proceed and that you are doing the best for Zener.
 
Re: 1/18 Zener PMPS 69 vet

It sounds like a very good plan. You might touch base with Jill regarding supplements. She's very knowledgeable in that area. I don't know if she'll have any suggestions but it doesn't hurt to ask.
 
Re: 1/18 Zener PMPS 69 vet

It sounds like a great plan for Zener :YMHUG: :YMHUG: and how nice your Vet took time to answer all your questions and no charge. It sounds like you're handling everything so well now with his FD, IBD and you're at a good start for the CKD, as it's in the very early stages. So many people don't learn of the CKD until it's already far advanced, but Zener is very lucky kitty. Great on the monitoring and repeat of U/S, too. Have a great evening.
 
Re: 1/18 Zener PMPS 69 vet

Anne and Liz
I'm so glad you have a plan that is good for you mamabeans and Zener.
The aunties can breathe now too. :smile:
Your vet sounds fantastic. I'm glad you both could go to the meeting. Two heads ask better questions than one. :-D

Have a relaxing evening :smile:
 
Re: 1/18 Zener PMPS 69 vet

Hi guys,

Your plan sounds just right--for Zener and for his mamabeans. And what a great day for the Z Man! The LagoonMeister is so proud of him.

You are very lucky to have such a fine vet to work with.

Enjoy the evening and the weekend.

Lots of hugs from us,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/18 Zener PMPS 69 vet

That sounds like a very reasonable and conservative plan. I think it makes perfect sense for Zener and where he is right now.
 
Re: 1/18 Zener PMPS 69 vet

Just wanted to check in and say your plan sounds Very logical at this time & is best for all concerned...
We also had the option of the biopsy, but we all agreed that Moonie could not possibly survive a surgery at this time. But see how Zener does, he may totally surprise you! He may be much better with all the Meds!

I know have excellent vet care & how devoted you are to Zener...Yes multi medication is hard, but you just get used to it..You have my Love & Support & healing Prayers for our Man Zener, you are very important to all of us here--Hugs & Love from us!
 
Re: 1/18 Zener PMPS 69;+1.5 128 vet

This is the perfect plan...I'm sure Zener knows what awesome MamaBeans he has!! Sending many prayers and vines your way tonight and always!!
 
Re: 1/18 Zener PMPS 69;+1.5 128 vet

Sounds like a solid plan, and your vet sounds pretty dang cool. Zener is in good hands all around! Strength and healing vines to you all - extra scritches for the Z man!
 
Re: 1/18 Zener PMPS 69;+1.5 128;+2.5 94 vet

Thank you all so much for your love and support. I am sure we will get our heads around all this in the next few days and be back reading everyone's condos and repaying the visits and encouragement you are giving us right now.

@Sienne - I sent a PM to Jill, thank you for that suggestion.

And the mighty Z doesn't care about any U/S or bloodwork. He is relaxing in the green lagoon again this cycle. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/18 Zener PMPS 69;+1.5 128;+2.5 94 vet

Back to green again. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: These beans really ought to worry less and pet more!! Scritches to the energizer bunny from us. You have a great vet and sounds like a good plan going forward.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top