1/28 Ruben pmps 357 +5.5 115 +6 104 +7 133

Status
Not open for further replies.

RubenTheCat

Member Since 2013
396 amps AT
gave shot reduction Yay .5u
thank you for all who stayed with me last night. i know how tired you must all be.
i'm gonna try to get more sleep but will check here for a while.
let me know when you think next bg should be?
I'm thinking around +4 or even better +5? hope so
both ruben and I are pooped. (yawn)
(((((((((fdmb)))))))))
cats rule!!!

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=87834

condo from yesterday ^ hope i idi that correct?
 
Re: 1/28 amps 396 AT

Morning guys just wanted to stop by and say hi and welcome! Looks like you are doing well so far, congrats! Wondering what the AT is in your subject line, shouldn't it say Ruben? I would get a +5 since it looks like Ruben is bouncing and try to get some sleep. Take care. And I think it is fine to leave food out.
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396

AT was for alpha trax, but i guess since i have it under ruben's ss i dont need to put it. thank you for checking we appreciate it.
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396

Morning and wanted to welcome you. I hope you catch some well deserved rest. I was reading your Sunday condo. You did great with the help of Marje and Carl and others cheering you on. Have a great Monday.
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396

Hi guys .. have I been to rubens condo before? It seems like I have, but honestly can't remember! If not, welcome from us! Glad you had some nighttime helpers working with you .. sure makes you feel a lot better when others are there doesn't it? Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396

Hello, and welcome!

I did a little 'eavesdropping' last night, and you did great! You were in good hands (but you already know that!).

You deserve some rest today. Take care!

~Josie (& Ripley)
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396 320 +5

320 +5
I know the number is high but is the consistancy better than dropping?
I haven't noticed lots of drinking or peeing but honestly been sleeping til now.
thanks for the love from everyone. we need it!
as for having marje, carl, wendy and the gang with me last night, there are NO WORDS to explaine my gratitude. I'm kinda attached to them all now...lol
when do you guys think I should test next? I', really hoping you guys say pmps, Ruben and I need a rest (i have not found finesse yet, at all) his poor little ears. all greasy form neosporin and the blood line is just plain blown out. when i shine a flashlight on his ear, its just line, then bloody mess, then line again < sorry lil ruben, mommy loves you, i swear! :cry:
I need to shower and run a quick errand, clean my house and dont feel like doing anything except snuggling with my best friend
saw this last night and thought it applied to all of us


"he is your friend, your partener, your defender, your companion animal
you are his life, his love, his leader
he will be yours faithful and true, to the last beat of his heart
you owe it to him to be worthy of such devotion"

Mission accomplished gang.......we rock
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396 320 +5

my vet wants me to call to update her ruben,
her advise when i left was shoot 1u every 12hrs
she said only shoot .5 if he drop 100bg or less
afraid if i tell her im not following her protocol that she have some kind of negative feeling, I dont want her to drop me incase of emergency should i just say he's doing ok and wait til a visit to show her the numbers or should i tell her the truth?
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396 320 +5

josie, that pic of ripley with the gd flower around her neck, was almost to cute to bear...uber cute
squeeze her little head for me
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396 320 +5

Tell the vet he is playing and happy with his catnip ball. tell her the blood glucose readings you have been getting but dont tell her the dose and see what she says .. unless she asks. She might say "reduce the dose" based on last nights numbers.. and then you can say you already did.;)

Oh and he is probably bouncing today. We will see what happens over the next few cycles. But it means at least you can snooze till tonite! And Marje and Carl too lol.
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396 320 +5

how does someone express how grateful she is when no words seem to truely convey the depth of her emotions
unfortunalty it comes out my eyeballs...lol all tears and snot when i think of how grateful i am to most of all you MOM < i know how you felt (feel) about grandma, you are my giver of life and everyday you give me more of it
to the wonderful people here. marje, carl and wendy.....is it getting old everytime i say thank you. theres so many words in the english language and yet only two are supposed to express gratitude from generally to deeply. we need to come up with varieing degrees of thank you's, and yet i still dont think ther would be one big enough for these people and this forum here.
Ruben is it guys, he is my "popcorn" my everything, my purpose to get up and go when life is beating me down, my secret keeper, my best friend. you may have all gave me more time with him, if even just one exta breath all my stress and worry are worth it. i vow to give back into the world the kindess, support and compassion you have all shown me, and maybe one day, i can give back to you.
he's in my arms as we speak, purring and looking longingly into my eyes they say there is a par of a persons soul that remains unawakened until they recieve the love of an animal. ruben, thank for awakening me.
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396 320 +5

Hi Sam!

I've got a busy day but I wanted to just drop in real quick. I'd really like a +10 on him today so if he drops again tonight, we will have a reference point. So have fun running your errands but please be sure and get a +10.

Thank you for your very sweet words but we are all just paying it forward. And I am also very proud of how focused you stayed last night. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396 320 +5

you got it +10 it is
i oonly stayed so focused cause you all and maybe a little to the zanax ....lol
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396 320 +5

RubenTheCat said:
i oonly stayed so focused cause you all and maybe a little to the zanax ....lol

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Lovely quote above about our furry companions.

I think it's great if you have time when he's high if you visit other condos and look at other SSs. Also, lots of people can just use a kind word of support and encouragement and you are very good at that.

See you later, gator. ;-)
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396 320 +5

:YMHUG: I've been following along with you since your first post and I lurked through last night's low number shooting. You did a fantastic job! You have come such a long way already and I am so glad you found this board to help you through this process. The people here are so amazing and knowledgeable and have all been where we're at. I can only hope to some day come close enough to their level to help pay their generosity forward. :YMHUG:

I wouldn't worry about his ears too much; they'll heal. Michelangelo's were a mess the first couple of weeks. With Mikey, his right ear bleeds better than his left, so I usually test him on that ear. Whenever I test on his left ear, however, to this day it still leaves a red blotch under the skin. Just make sure you put pressure on the poked mark afterwards as this helps reduce bruising and scabbing.

I think you also asked about using a lancet pen at one point. I have used both freehand and a lancet pen. I currently prefer the lancet pen (Acccu-Chek Fastclix) since I got a ton of free lancets for it that I haven't used up and it's much faster than manually poking. I've also found it's easier for "guest testers" to use than freehand because they don't actually have to "slice" the skin directly themselves (helps with the squeamish), although there is more chance for "out-of-area" poking. I'll probably switch back to freehand once I run out of lancets because I do like the control of freehand better than the "aim for the general area and hope you get close enough" method of the lancet pen. You definitely don't want to be poking through the ear so if you are using a lancet pen, it should be on one of the lowest settings. Let me know if you have any specific questions about using the lancet pens (I've used a few different ones) and I'll try to answer them for you.

As for Neosporin, the nice thing about it is that it does have a topical analgesic (pramoxine) for pain relief if his ears are hurting him. The downside is that this makes it heavy and greasy. I used it the first week with Mikey, but it seemed to really annoy him and he kept rubbing at his ears, trying to clean them, and licking his paws. My neighborhood pet store recommended Vetericyn, which is water-based and not as oily as well as being non-toxic. Yes, it is expensive, but one bottle will last you for a long, long time and you can use it on pretty much anything, including yourself. (I've even used it on a few cuts and scrapes of my own and have been impressed with how quickly it's healed vs. other stuff.) This seems to have worked much better for me and Mikey, but ECID and I figured I'm mention it as an option to consider if you keep having problems with him rubbing at his ears.

party_cat Go Ruben, Go! Earn another couple of reductions and get OTJ for Mommy, okay? :RAHCAT
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396 320 +5

just wanted to say, you did a FANTASTIC job last night Sam

Big thanks to marj and carl
oh and BTW
eff the bf.....lol all about ruben, should have been here when i needed him, he's just upset cause ill pick ruben over him and he's right. plenty of fish in the sea and now that i found here, i know there are guys who love their cats like me.

Carl is mine. so watch it babe right carl ;-)

J/K sam. a little thing carl and I have had going for awhile, right sweetie
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396 320 +5

lol you got it dian, I know my place :-D
he's all yours :-D
just this forum makes me aware of what is out there. Hope you don't mind if I borrow carl for support and advise, but i will keep my paws to myself...lol
almost time for +10 reading
see you at 5pm
kapasa - thank you for the advise, tomorrow i'm gonna spend some time and start looking around here more. been so consumed with posting and ruben and trying to stay healthy myself that i havent really gotton to do the research i'd like. should have more time tomorrow
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396 320 +5 335 +10

335 +10
say i miss the blood line but still get blood is that still ok?
just now he bled on the outside of his ear, not sure if thats blood line blood, or just blood? does it make a difference by much? could of been blood line but could't say for sure.
really praying not to have another night like last, for me ruben and the gang. but i will do what i have to for rubenhead
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396 320 +5 335 +10

RubenTheCat said:
335 +10
say i miss the blood line but still get blood is that still ok?
just now he bled on the outside of his ear, not sure if thats blood line blood, or just blood? does it make a difference by much? could of been blood line but could't say for sure.
really praying not to have another night like last, for me ruben and the gang. but i will do what i have to for rubenhead

No real difference. In general, you want to aim for above the blood line (it's called the "Marginal Ear Vein"). If you get the blood line, it's not a big deal; it just bleeds a heck of a lot more than a capillary. What actually happens in the first two weeks is that your cat's ears start creating more of these capillaries, which is why ears start "bleeding better." I've also wondered if this might be part of the reason why they look so terrible when we all first start out testing....
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396 320 +5 335 +10

Sam

Try not to hit the vein. It bleeds a ton and can cause them to be more sore. I'm not sure if you had a chance to read my post on Testing and Shooting Tips but it has a picture of the ear and the best area to poke. You want to stay to the outer edge. Be sure you warm the ear really well without burning him.

So now it will be very interesting to see if he likes to drop off quickly at the end of the cycle. You don't need another test until PMPS so I'll check back with you then. Good job!
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396 +5 320 +10 335

:lol: :lol:
Ive given ruben catswell talapia, turned his nose up, went got catswell chicken breast-nothing, got him pure ocean white fish- :lol: laughed at me, now got him beef liver and put it in his mouth spit it out. wtf is wrong with him lol what cat doesnt like those things..oh ruben, just want to make you happy-going broke doing it.
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396 +5 320 +10 335 pmps 357

pmps 357
feeding
shooting .5u < that right, right? I know it is just double triple checking?
when does everyone think my next bg should be?
please let it +5 or +6
but what ever the gang says , im in
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396 +5 320 +10 335 pmps 357

I hope Rubens numbers are good for the pm reading. Awaiting the results..... nailbite_smile
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396 +5 320 +10 335 pmps 357

+3 it is
side note ruben isnt eating much, don't thinks its cause he doesnt feel good. he licks all the juice off but then wants me to break it into little bites for him, theres no way i can hand feed him when i go back to work
should i leave his food out and assume when he's hungry enough he'll eat? i know to pull up around he +10
he only ate about 1/4 can of wet (he's way under for the day- think he's just a carb junkie and isnt liking htis transition)
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396 +5 320 +10 335 pmps 357

RubenTheCat said:
+3 it is
side note ruben isnt eating much, don't thinks its cause he doesnt feel good. he licks all the juice off but then wants me to break it into little bites for him, theres no way i can hand feed him when i go back to work
should i leave his food out and assume when he's hungry enough he'll eat? i know to pull up around he +10
he only ate about 1/4 can of wet (he's way under for the day- think he's just a carb junkie and isnt liking htis transition)

Do you add water to his wet food? Try mashing it up with a bit of warm water into a gritty "milkshake" texture and see if that's more palatable for him.
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396 +5 320 +10 335 pmps 357

great idea :-D
i will def try,
should i leave food out for a bit?
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396 +5 320 +10 335 pmps 357

I usually leave it out. The extra water also helps keep it from drying out, which is especially good on the days I'm not home and have to use my timed feeder.

Just remember to pick up all food 2 hours before his next shot time as food can affect the pre-shot BG numbers.
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396 +5 320 +10 335 pmps 357

thank you kpasa
that stinkin pic of "angelo" lol gets me everytime. his little stinking head i could pop it off its soo cute.
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben pmps 357

RubenTheCat said:
thank you kpasa
that stinkin pic of "angelo" lol gets me everytime. his little stinking head i could pop it off its soo cute.

The techs at my vet keep threatening to steal him away. :lol: He was so adorable when he was a tiny kitten that it would bring me to tears sometimes. Now that he's getting bigger, he's becoming less adorable and more of just simply a really beautiful cat.

My new kitten, Henry, looks a lot like your Ruben. I especially love this pic of yours! I'm gonna have to pilfer that idea and get one with Mr. Henry in a bow tie. In fact, I think I have one around here somewhere from our old pet rabbit's Halloween costume (he was a magician one year and would pull my brother out of a hat).
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben pmps 357

I'm so happy you visited Gracie's condo today!!

The green smiley face is used when the kitty's BG is below 100. It's a good thing! :-D
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben pmps 357

so i know i said earlier that i thought ruben seemed ok today, but i take it back. i went in to double check on him (stir him up a bit) but when i wen to pick him up he cried a little like dont bother me. i took him out in the living room w me and he just lied down where i put him. :sad: sleepy and doesnt want to eat really, thought it was the transition of food but re thinking it.
is it safe to say he feels that way due to the numbers? a big god bless you to all those that adopt DC? this isn't easy.
hate to think he feels crappy, but i guess that why im on here, to help make him feel better.
oh ruben-my sweet boy, let me take this from you
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben amps 396 320 +5

dian and wheezer said:
just wanted to say, you did a FANTASTIC job last night Sam

Big thanks to marj and carl
oh and BTW
eff the bf.....lol all about ruben, should have been here when i needed him, he's just upset cause ill pick ruben over him and he's right. plenty of fish in the sea and now that i found here, i know there are guys who love their cats like me.

Carl is mine. so watch it babe right carl ;-)

J/K sam. a little thing carl and I have had going for awhile, right sweetie

Well, Dian, I thought we had something special....that is, until you proposed to Mike like a dozen times! But I get it, now that BJ has gone OTJ, I guess we're "back on"? Nice to see you dear! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben pmps 357

ruben got up and ate a little -it's 1/2 hr b4 his test hope thats ok? he hasn't been eating much so im letting him, is this gonna skew the #'s a lot?
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben pmps 357

RubenTheCat said:
so i know i said earlier that i thought ruben seemed ok today, but i take it back. i went in to double check on him (stir him up a bit) but when i wen to pick him up he cried a little like dont bother me. i took him out in the living room w me and he just lied down where i put him. :sad: sleepy and doesnt want to eat really, thought it was the transition of food but re thinking it.

This is one of those times I usually go back and read this message from your cat. There could be a lot of reasons why this is happening, but it's most likely nothing; just him feeling crummy from bouncing and/or food change or just him being a cat. It's still a good idea to make a note of it and keep an eye on him to see if he improves, but I wouldn't worry too much just yet.
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben pmps 357

Has he been eating enough food, drinking water? Did you check him for ketones today? Mplease let me know...this concerns me.

How was the conversation with your vet?
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben pmps 357

Marje and Gracie said:
Has he been eating enough food, drinking water? Did you check him for ketones today? Mplease let me know...this concerns me.

How was the conversation with your vet?

Yes, listen to Marje. :-D Make sure his ketones are okay first.
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben pmps 357

RubenTheCat said:
is it safe to say he feels that way due to the numbers? a big god bless you to all those that adopt DC? this isn't easy.
hate to think he feels crappy, but i guess that why im on here, to help make him feel better.
oh ruben-my sweet boy, let me take this from you

Just like us people, they have good days and bad days, Sam. I'm guessing that it feels kind of odd going from high numbers to low number, back and forth. But with time, those swings will happen less often, and to a lesser degree. Today he's just having a blah day, but don't be too worried about it. At least he's giving you a break from stress today. :smile:

Carl
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben pmps 357

Yes, I was wondering the same thing.... how'd the conversation with the vet go?

Carl
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben pmps 357

ugh, ok i'll wait til he goes to the bathroom, i hate this?
feeling sick again, i cant help it, dont know how to conroll it.
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben pmps 357

convo went well, she gave me her e-mail and said to send her the stats. I said what you said marje and she agreed with the dose decrease. over all felt good about it.
if he does have ketone-do i take him to vet asap?
his breath didn't smell funny but i know that might not mean much.
i was out for a while today, so didnt' notice water intake, but it has been less, it seems like by a lot. but cant say for sure.
im going to be posting his +3 soon, hope he pee's soon
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben pmps 357

RubenTheCat said:
ugh, ok i'll wait til he goes to the bathroom, i hate this?
feeling sick again, i cant help it, dont know how to conroll it.

drinking24 Red wine and dark chocolate: two of nature's own anti-depressants. :lol:
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben pmps 357

RubenTheCat said:
i was out for a while today, so didnt' notice water intake, but it has been less, it seems like by a lot. but cant say for sure.
im going to be posting his +3 soon, hope he pee's soon

I don't know about the ketones because Mikey hasn't had them yet (knock on wood). For water, since Ruben used to be on dry, you'll notice a decrease in his water intake because of this. If you add more water to his food (like I do) he might stop drinking water altogether. I never see Mikey drinking water any more and only rarely see Henry doing so, mostly because he likes playing with it.
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben pmps 357 +3 212

+3 212 < i have no idea any more, better number and not as rapid decline<thats good, he did he some about 20min ago tho
Kpassa-thanks for the words, i need them, i honestly been a complete basket case since this. I wish i could get it under controll
i constanly have that sinking pit in the bottom of my stomach. gulp ugh. im always a happy girl too. that annoyingly happy type too. this is not me
when should i test next, also should i leave food out? he's supposed to eat 3 cans ff a day, id say he's gotton about 1 can in total
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben pmps 357 +3 212

He's coming down enough that I think you should get a +5. We're eating dinner but I will be back soon.
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben pmps 357 +3 212

If no one more knowledgeable comes on, I would suggest at least getting a +4 since it'll give us some good data on how fast Ruben might drop. Mikey, for example, can drop around a 100 points in an hour as he's getting closer to nadir. For him, he's usually coming down off some high numbers so it's not too bad, but if he was reading a 212 and an hour later he was 112, that's usually when I prop him up a bit with LC food to ride through his nadir.

ETA: cross-post with Marje. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 1/28 Ruben pmps 357 +3 212

+5 it is
thanks marje, makes a world of difference to know i can count on you being here for me. I need you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top