**DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME STARTS 3/10**

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Member Since 2009
Moderator
Day-Light-Saving-Time-2012-300x202.jpg
For most of us in the U.S., it’s almost time to Spring Forward. This is rather inconvenient for Lantus Landers because we try so hard to stick to a 12-hour schedule, but we can make the necessary adjustment.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG’s for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots. Remember shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.

If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your time a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by 15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00
  • Thursday AMPS at 7:00
  • Thursday PMPS at 6:45
  • Friday AMPS at 6:45
  • Friday PMPS at 6:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 6:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 6:15 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 8:15
  • Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning

Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time by 30 minutes. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00
  • Friday AMPS at 7:00
  • Friday PMPS at 6:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 6:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

***Please bump until March 10th***
 
Thank you Sienne. I completely forgot about the time change and the affect on our kitties BG numbers.

Have a great weekend.
 
Your brilliant :lol: :lol: :lol:
I hard time following while reading...lol and you typed it up in such an easy to understand fashion lol :lol: :lol: :lol:
We are all very lucky to have you.
 
Every year DST gets earlier and earlier in the Month. March 10th isn't even spring!! I hate having to get up in the dark again, just as it was beginning to get light in the early morning!

Thanks for the reminder, Sienne!

Ella & Rusty
 
Gobbles' shot time is 5 a.m. I have no qualms about it being later in the morning, and in fact, had thought about moving it later. This time-change thing takes way more common sense than I have. Therefore, His new shot time will be the "new 5 a.m." which will read 6 a.m. on my clock.
I'll just go to bed an hour earlier to make up the hour of sleep that I'll miss.
Does that sound correct? Am I even making sense?/
 
thanks Sienne, I printed it and put it on the cupboard door. Now i won't mess up even in the early morning when my brain isn't working.
xoxo mary
 
Ugh! For dodo's like me who just saw this and it's too late to start a few days in advance and who's brain can't figure it out.... can somebody tell me how to do the changes starting with amps tomorrow (Sunday) morning when it will be one hour later? Elian's normal shots are 10:00am/10:00pm. So would I do 11:00am/10:45pm; 10:45 am/10:30 pm; 10:30am/10:15 pm; 10:15 am/10:00 pm? Thanks in advance.
 
Also change to daylight savings time if applicable in your FDMB user control panel, or else it looks like recent posts were made an hour ago :?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top