3/15 Smokey AMPS 103 Dosecrease :), PMPS 96, +3 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melanie and Smokey

Very Active Member
Up to touch the blue again, but sucker Daddy gave us gravied food again for supper.

Monday is our checkup with the vet. Instead of making my poor girl shake the whole way there and back, today I was able to just drop off the spreadsheet and our vet called later to talk about where we go from here. She said let's go to .25u. :mrgreen:




Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9031
 
Re: 3/15 Smokey AMPS 103 Dosecrease :)

How would you feel about waiting a few more cycles before dropping Smokey's dose? Based on the protocol:
Tight Regulation Protocol said:
When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose.
You would decrease Smokey by 0.25u after one week (14 cycles). You're at 12 cycles as of this morning's shot.

Smokey's SS is great!!! And please tell DH to cut that out!!
 
Re: 3/15 Smokey AMPS 103 Dosecrease, PMPS 96, +3 77

Do you think that 2 shots short of protocol will make much of a difference? Hubby thinks he shot closer to .5 than .25, when he tested what he thought was .25 nothing came out so he backed it up closer to the .5. She seems to have come down quite nicely after her evening dose and supper.

I was just so happy that my vet (who wasn't to enthused about using partial unit dosing when I brought up .5u) actually suggested the .25u to ease her down since the .5u held so well. I didn't want to quibble two shots. I don't want to bring Smoke off so fast that we risk hurting her chances of remission. But I also hesitate to keep the insulin higher than she needs it just for the sake of counting shots, kwim? She just hasn't had any high numbers in so long no matter what we do with the dose.

I hope I don't come off as argumentative, just trying to explain my thought processes here. Its really taken some work to balance working with my vet and the protocol without compromising the success of the insulin nor the relationship with my kitties' primary medical caregiver.
 
Re: 3/15 Smokey AMPS 103 Dosecrease :)

Not argumentative in the least! Here's my thinking... The idea of going slowly is to give Smokey's pancreas as much support as possible for as long as the numbers dictate. The longer his pancreas has the support of even a drop of insulin, the more healing is occurring and the higher the probability that he will go OTJ and stay that way (anti-jinx!) I agree that it sounds silly to think that a day might make a difference and I don't think blindly following a protocol always makes sense. Ultimately, it's your decision. I also don't want to put you in a position where you feel like your being pitted against your vet. My goal is give you the information you need to make an informed decision.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top