4/16 Zoe PMPS 86...+2.5 49 +2.75 56 +3.25 79 +4 79 +5 70

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily and Baby

Member Since 2013
Good evening!!!

Yesterday's Condo

So, we skipped this morning as I had to be away all day, plus with the low preshot number Zo gave I was not going to leave him alone all day after shooting! And now the little gaffer has given me the lowest EVER preshot number! Now last night a shot the lowest he's had and he went up after and he has had little to eat today, I didn't feed right when I got home because it was only an hour before preshot testing so I didn't want to mess with his numbers.

SO, the question is, do I shoot this number? He's lower then he was this morning but I have no other data as to if he's going up or not. Do I stall and test again in half an hour?
 
Re: 4/16 Zoey PMBG 85

Well, well, well. Zo Zo, what do you have up your sleeve? 85 isn't that much lower than the 97 you shot last night. If you can monitor, have plenty of strips and MC and HC food to bring him up, I'd say go ahead and shoot. As we say around here, shoot low to stay low. :mrgreen:
Liz
ETA: If you can get another test, no feeding, that would be good too.
 
Re: 4/16 Zoey PMBG 85

What is up is sleeve is right! He is so unpredictable! I think I will wait another few minutes and grab another number since it's almost half an hour anyways and he hasn't eaten yet. I'm all set with supplies, so let's see what he's up to tonight!! I bought some digital calipers today to measure his 0.75 dose so I can be more accurate and consistent. Does anyone has data on what measurement 0.75 would be on the digital calipers with BD Ultra-Fine 3/10 shorts?

OT: My meat grinder came in today and I'm going to start making raw food this week or this weekend! I'm excited :-D !!!! That's not sad is it? :lol:
 
Re: 4/16 Zoey PMPS 86, +1 85, +2 61

Zo made a slow start, but he's sliding down quicker now! I think I will get a +2.5 to see how fast he's going. He had a bit of LC so slow him down a bit, just in case he's falling too fast! I'm trying to get used to these low numbers; he's had a lot lately!
 
Re: 4/16 Zoey PMPS 86, +1 85, +2 61

You're really getting the hang of this!! I was going to suggest getting a +2.5 but you were ahead of me.

It looks like all of a sudden, Zoey decided to really like green.

Marje can give you info on using digital calipers. You might want to drop her a note.
 
Re: 4/16 Zoey PMPS 86, +1 85, +2 61

These number are great! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: And, yes, they are a little nerve wracking at first, but you will get very used to them very quickly. :-D Yep, give him some LC to get him to surf.
Liz
 
Re: 4/16 Zoey PMPS 86, +1 85, +2 61

Thanks ladies!! You make it easier to be calm with low numbers because I know help is always close at hand! Thank you so much for that!! Zoey and I both benefit from all your help and advice!!

This kitteh is sure loving the green! Looks so good! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/16 Zoey PMPS 86, +1 85, +2 61, +2.5 49

Ok, so he is dropping fast. I wouldn't be nervous except he was sitting on my lap after testing and was kind of zoned out and growled at me a little. This is worrisome because Zoey NEVER growls, ever. So he's getting some 13% gravy FF right now. Should he get honey or anything? He might have just been mad about another test, but it's strange for him... I'm going to test at +2.75 to see what's happening...
 
Re: 4/16 Zoey PMPS 86, +1 85, +2 61, +2.5 49

And now, Zoey gets some HC!! Congrats on the dose reduction. (I think Zoey's on a mission!!)
 
Re: 4/16 Zoey PMPS 86, +1 85, +2 61, +2.5 49

Should I do something higher than 13%? He responds really fast to MC usually, but I'd like to stop the downward spiral he's on!
 
Re: 4/16 Zoey PMPS 86, +1 85, +2 61, +2.5 49

It's up to you. If it were me, I'd probably reach for something a little higher given the fast, early drop. You know how carb sensitive Zoey is, Personally, I'd rather put the brakes on and then switch over to MC if you need to. I think you need to trust your gut.
 
Re: 4/16 Zoey PMPS 86, +1 85, +2 61, +2.5 49, +2.75 56

Phew, coming up a bit. I jinked myself with all the calm, happy green talk! I can breathe again lol. Thanks Sienne for keeping close! Do you suggest no more food and another test in 30 minutes to make sure he's still coming up and not just from food?
 
Re: 4/16 Zoey PMPS 86, +1 85, +2 61, +2.5 49, +2.75 56

Woohoo! Congrats on the reduction, Zo Zo! You are doing great, Emily. I know it's scary but these are wonderful numbers. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Liz
 
Re: 4/16 Zoey PMPS 86, +1 85, +2 61, +2.5 49, +2.75 56

I probably would have waited until +3 to test. I think you'd probably see that Zoey will be in the 60s by then. It takes at least 20 min. for food to hit the blood stream.

How about testing at +3.25 and seeing where Zoey's numbers are at. You can decide then to see if more food is needed to keep the surf going. It's still early in the cycle. It looks like Zoey's nadir is at around +5 so you've got a way to go before you can expect numbers to head up.
 
Re: 4/16 Zoey PMPS 86, +1 85, +2 61, +2.5 49, +2.75 56

Thanks Liz! I'm hoping he's not so low from maybe not eating as much as normal today since I was away. I guess time will tell! Oops, jumped the gun then lol. Good to know for the future, thanks Sienne! :) We will get a +3.25 and see if he needs more nom noms :)
 
Re: 4/16 Zoey PMPS 86, +1 85, +2 61, +2.5 49, +2.75 56

You also skipped this morning. So even if he didn't eat as much as usual, his depot wasn't full up either.
Liz
 
Re: 4/16 Zoey PMPS 86, +1 85, +2 61, +2.5 49, +2.75 56, +3.2

Well the carbs definitely got him swinging up! Should I do a +3.75 or wait till +4 or 4.25? Should I feed him again? I've never had him go so low at the beginning of a cycle! Silly guy :razz:
 
Re: 4/16 Zoey PMPS 86, +1 85, +2 61, +2.5 49, +2.75 56, +3.2

Great cycle Zoey! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Good job tonight Emily.

Emily, I use digital calipers and find that .4mm per .25U on the BD Ultrafine 11. So, your .75U would be 1.2mm (3 x .4). You might want to experiment with a few used syringes. Measure the 1U mark on a few that look like they have the zero line in the right spot, then average them. I just find the .4mm per .25U is easy math and seems to be close enough.
 
Re: 4/16 Zoe PMPS 86 +1 85 +2 61 +2.5 49 +2.75 56 +3.25 79 +

Thank Sienne :) He's surfing it appears! More nom noms to keep him steady?

Thanks Wendy! What type of calipers are you using? Is the important?

Edit: Also, Wendy, where exactly do you measuring on the plunger? The top of the black part or the bottom?
 
Re: 4/16 Zoe PMPS 86 +1 85 +2 61 +2.5 49 +2.75 56 +3.25 79 +

My calipers are no name, just called carbon fiber composites digital calipers that have a inch or mm setting. When I went into a Harbor Freight later, they looked almost the same, with different colour paint. I measure from the inside of the collar to the top of the plunger, so measuring the insulin in the syringe.
 
Re: 4/16 Zoe PMPS 86 +1 85 +2 61 +2.5 49 +2.75 56 +3.25 79 +

Thanks again Wendy! Mine are Mastercraft, which is a Canadian company I think. I'll play around with a few more needles to get the hang of it; its hard not so shake and to see everything clearly! Hopefully I get better! :-D
 
Re: 4/16 Zoe PMPS 86 +1 85 +2 61 +2.5 49 +2.75 56 +3.25 79 +

I use a magnifying glass to check the results. I usually check 3 places around the barrel of the syringe, because sometimes the plunger isn't even all the way around. :roll: I saw the Mastercraft ones on the Canadian Tire website - they get good reviews.
 
I will have to look for a magnifying glass then! Thanks!

Hmm... Now Zoey is going back the other way. I gave him LC at +4 and he picked at it again around +4.5; should I be doing a MC? Is +6 good for the next test?
 
You guys are doing really well :mrgreen: and Zoey looks great in blue and green.

I'll follow your experiences with the calipers - I may need to get some too! Oh yes and I've also been thinking about getting a grinder and try making my own cat food.
 
Since Zoey has earned a deduction this cycle, he has nothing left to prove so you can pick your food of choice. What would you do during the day if you had to go back to work?

I just got a cheap magnifying glass at a stationary store.
 
Thanks Cathy! He seems to like these colours lately! I'll let you know how the calipers work! I did a bit of a cost comparison (not to mention a health comparison) on doing a raw food and it will save me quite a bit per day with three cats, so it makes sense in lots of aspects for me! I'm hoping the kitties take to it!

Wendy, I would probably give him a MC as he responds really quickly to carbs, so maybe I will do that! Have to work in the morning, so since he has proved his need for (another!) reduction, it does make sense to give him a higher carb!! Thanks!!!!

Thank you everyone for all your help and support! Life savers on this board, I swear!! :-D :-D
 
Hello.
I haven't made it here yet to pop in and say Hi and Welcome.
Looks like some nice surfing
vil-surfb.gif
happening here.
 
Hi Emily!

Wow what progress Zoey has made while I was off the board. He's doing great :-D

I'm glad Wendy gave you the info on the calipers. In don't use BDs so I wouldn't have the caliper measurement for them; I'm glad she could help you. It makes it alot easier.

Congrats on the .25u reduction!
 
Wow, Zoey is doing terrifically on the insulin!

I would also measure several times around the barrel like Wendy suggested. With my bad eyes, I just had to take my glasses off and I could see better. I also held the syringe to the light and looked through the syringe when I measured. Definitely practice with a couple syringes. It get's tougher at those low values!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top