7/3 Jupiter PMBG/89 +3.5/65 skipped shot again-dose question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to yesterdays condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=99026

update: WOW a 59?!?! even with no shot?!?!

Skipped shot this AM. Jupiter seems okay so far today. I can tell his paw is really sore today - and he doesnt even like when I look at it! I will post an update later today about yesterdays vet appt and the surgery he needs.

copy/pasted from last night: No shot this morning. I feel bad about not shooting, but on the other hand I really think it was the safest option right now. I need to be able to control his numbers a little better. I dont like when hes eating gravy and still dipping down in the 50s. Its scary because if gravy isnt keeping his numbers up, what happens if he goes even lower? So we skipped the shot today and I will still monitor him a little during the day today to see where hes at and I am hoping someone will be able to help me decide how much to shoot tonight.



Todays numbers:
AMPS-102
+2.25-106
+5.75-59 fed LC
+6.5-69
+7.5-51
+8.5-53
+9.25-45
+9.75-54
+11-80
PMBG-89
+2-77
+3.5-65

Recap of yesterday:
AMPS-76
Shot 2.25u @ 9:04am
+2-63
+3.5-51
+4.25-42
+4.75-56
+5.5-75
+6.5-56
+8.25(back from vet)-66 (fed lots hc)
+9.25-115
+10.5-174
PMPS-106
Shot 2u @ 9:02pm (some of the insulin seemed to leak back out)
+2-32 retest-36
+2.5-56
+3-79
+4-93
+6-54
+6.5-58
+7-76
+7.5-82
+8.5-109
+9.5-113
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AMBG/102 +2.5/106 +5.75/59 No shot this AM

Either the depot is still working or his pancreas is today. Nice nadir :-D
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +2.5/106 +5.75/59 +6.5/69 No shot thi

Smart move not shooting this morning. How late did you give HC last night? Or did he just nibble on it all night long? Just wondering if any of those early numbers are related to that.

I hope you get some sleep today. Sending tons of healing vines to Jupiter's paw.
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +5.75/59 +6.5/69 +7.5/51! No shot thi

I left out HC all night. At AMPS we picked up all food and only put down LC for today

I am wondering if I should shoot the PM dose tonight and if so, how much?


+7.5- 51! wow. I think I made the right decision skipping the shot this AM
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +5.75/59 +6.5/69 +7.5/51! No shot thi

look at you guys go!!!!!!!!!

no shot.
i WOULD see what he is planning on doing. why?? cause if you are having to force him to eat HC every hour to keep # up, then I am guessing he is getting too much insulin. let's see what those with more dosing experience has to say. marje??? whatchya think
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +5.75/59 +6.5/69 +7.5/51! No shot thi

Wow, Mr. P, you are rocking! :mrgreen: Sending tons of vines for Jupiter and you, Jamie.
Liz
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +5.75/59 +6.5/69 +7.5/51 +9.25/45 No

okay i really dont understand what is going on!!!! 45!!!!! i tried feeding some hc but he doesnt seem hungry
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +5.75/59 +6.5/69 +7.5/51 +8.25/45 No

Jamie - I'm thinking skipping might be an idea tonight too. Today is Marje's work day.

Jupiter - up PLEASE!! Time to surf higher. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +5.75/59 +6.5/69 +7.5/51 +9.25/45 No

Jamie,
45 is still okay. Pretty amazing cycle though. Looks like no shot tonight either?
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +5.75/59 +6.5/69 +7.5/51 +9.25/45 No

I am wondering should i completely skip shot or maybe give like 1u or .5u.... is it bad to drain the depot that much?
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +5.75/59 +6.5/69 +7.5/51 +9.25/45 No

do not worry Jamie. he is only working off the shed right now and that is wearing off or will. not nearly as critical as if you just gave a shot. so if he eats,he eats. should be fine. just test and do not worry if he does not eat
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +5.75/59 +6.5/69 +7.5/51 +9.25/45 No

Wow look at those numbers with no shot! Come up a little, Jupiter! Hopefully he'll surf safely the rest of the day and night!
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +5.75/59 +6.5/69 +7.5/51 +9.25/45 No

Let's see where Jupiter is at closer to PMPS before deciding on whether to skip tonight.
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +5.75/59 +6.5/69 +7.5/51 +9.25/45 No

It is amazing that he has these numbers with no insulin today! Kind of scary too nailbite_smile Sending healing vines for Jupe's paw, and for you to feel better Jamie.
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +5.75/59 +7.5/51 +9.25/45 +11/80 SHOO

wondering if I should shoot tonight or not? I fell asleep so I forgot to pick up food...HC has been out past hour. +11-80
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +5.75/59 +7.5/51 +9.25/45 +11/80 SHOO

Just how tired are you? From the looks of your SS, you've not been getting much sleep.

Let's see where Jupiter is at when PMPS rolls around. Also, I'm thinking you may need to reduce the dose given the 45 today.
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +5.75/59 +7.5/51 +9.25/45 +11/80 SHOO

Let's see where he is at +12.
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +5.75/59 +7.5/51 +9.25/45 +11/80 SHOO

Jaime,
Are you back to feeling 100% yet?
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +5.75/59 +7.5/51 +9.25/45 +11/80 SHOO

I am really tired but I want to try to do whats best for Jupiter
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +5.75/59 +7.5/51 +9.25/45 +11/80 SHOO

Wow, this makes three consecutive cycles that Jupe drops below 50!
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +5.75/59 +7.5/51 +9.25/45 +11/80 SHOO

Jamie,
You pulled up the food at +11, right? Well actually it would be +23 technically.
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +5.75/59 +7.5/51 +9.25/45 +11/80 SHOO

I am thinking it might be better to skip tonight because I am not sure I will be able to stay awake all night testing
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +5.75/59 +7.5/51 +9.25/45 +11/80 SHOO

He's been low all day without any insulin this AM. Only the depot at work.

If Jupiter were my cat, I'd skip and get a good night's rest.

You have to remember to take care of yourself too Jamie. Take the night off is my suggestion.
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +5.75/59 +7.5/51 +9.25/45 +11/80 SHOO

Jamie, once you've had a good night's sleep, then you'll be better able to take care of Jupiter. He's still in green in spite of the missed shot. He'll get back on track quickly enough.

I think it's a good call to skip too.
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +5.75/59 +7.5/51 +9.25/45 +11/80 SHOO

I agree. I think you should take the night off and get some good rest Jamie.
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter AM/102 +5.75/59 +7.5/51 +9.25/45 +11/80 SHOO

this would be his normal shot time - hes at 89 - but I am going to skip tonight
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter PMBG/89 skipping shot again

Good call!!! I am amazed how well Jup is doing w/o this mornings dose!! Way to go Jup!!! Maybe, just maybe Mr. P is sputtering????
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter PMBG/89 skipping shot again

Yeah, good call to skip. You must be exhausted with everything that has been going on with Jupiter. Get a good nights sleep and see you in the morning.
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter PMBG/89 skipping shot again

I say - hooray!!! If he can maintain such good numbers on just the shed draining, perhaps Mr. P is doing some real work again - hooray!!!
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter PMBG/89 skipping shot again

Any suggestions on how much I should shoot in AM? If his AMPS is less then 75 should i still shoot? I wont be able to post to ask for help in morning before shot time
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter PMBG/89 skipping shot again- dose question

Oh Jupi, nice numbers, I hope you get some rest tonight. you doin :smile: g good
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter PMBG/89 skipping shot again- dose question

Jamie

I would shoot 2u in the morning if he has a number above 50 if you feel well enough. If he is still low (in the 80s or less) snd you arent feeling well, you could continue to skip. The depot can affect up to six subsequent cycles and perhaps more. I would think Jupes depot will drain within 3-4 cycles.
 
Re: 7/3 Jupiter PMBG/89 +3.5/65 skipped shot again-dose ques

Hi Jame. fwiw, I would think a skip is in the best interest of Jupiter. safety first, dosing should always be secondary. You need to take care of you too. I do think too that a reduction is in order. It is more than apparent that Jupiter is done with that dose, you are struggling to keep him out of the danger zone, with HC fuds. Take care of you both. Jupiter will adjust and find those greens when he is ready too. Forcing constant greens on our kitties, as some here would suggest, is just not safe. A kitty does not need to be green 24/7. All of the above is just my opinion: been there done that type of thing. Wishing you much luck with Jupiter. I hope you can get some rest. Take care.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top