7/4 Zener PMPS 133;+2 287;+4 262

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Hi LL, thanks to all for responding or finding others to respond to our question about IBD meds for Zener. We feel fully prepared with lots of options to discuss with our vet tomorrow. Zener is having a good morning. He seems to feel much better now that "all his beans are in one basket". ;-) No poo in the LB this morning, so Chief Inspector Crapdash will go on yard patrol shortly to see what's up (or out) with the poo situation.

@rhiannon and shadow - as predicted last night, blues. :smile: So glad you are getting some rain now too. Do you still have active fires nearby?

@Elaine & Dusty - thank you for the info on meds. Metronidazole is the one our vet mentioned for firming up loose poo. I got a very needed laugh on the saga of the stinky poo. :lol: Fortunately, Zener doesn't have very stinky poo. Tillie on the other hand... :roll:

@BJM - thanks for the info on how steroids work and issues with stopping them abruptly. Thanks also for the link to the IBD group, I signed up. We like to be fully informed when we visit our vet, and she would be very disappointed if we did not come in prepared. ;-)

@Wendy - ah, yes a dance without knowing the steps, that's a good one! Just when we get a little confident that we know the steps, then the dance changes to another one we don't know. :lol: A vid would be cute, these beans are so unprepared. :roll: We will have to work on it.

@Sienne - thank you for sending a message to Linda. I completely blanked about contacting her. She helped us before find the combo of ondansetron and Cerenia for Zener.

@Ella & Rusty - our vet truly would be disappointed if we didn't come to an appointment having done our research. She told us last visit that she worries when she sees Zener on her schedule because she wants him to be feeling well, but she enjoys seeing, chatting about how he is doing and exchanging information. :-D Liz is out for a run in our cool morning.

@Deborah & Shasta - as instructed, the extra drop and back to blues! :razz: I's feeling the love Shasta, thanks pal. - Zener

@Linda & Bear Man - thank you so very much for this information. You helped us before and we got Zener on both ondansetron and Cerenia, which has worked well until the recent bout of pudding poo. He has not yet had any blood in his stool, but has the other symptoms. CAT scans a few months ago revealed thickening of the intestinal walls and lymph nodes. We opted not to do a biopsy as we would have to travel almost three hours to have that done, so we do not have a firm diagnosis of IBD versus intestinal lymphoma. With this information from you, I feel like we are fully informed to discuss the next options with our vet. :YMHUG:

Our monsoons have started up, so the really hot temps are over for now. Beans and kitties are relieved. One of the positives about living in such a dry climate, is fireworks are not legal. There will be a few things that go off tonight from visitors or tourists who either don't know or don't care. Once something pops or flares in the sky, the police are on it, too much fire danger. So, all in all, we don't have to deal with all the loud noises that so many kitties and droolers dread.

dancing_cat Happy 4th to those in the US, and happy Fursday to all! dancing_cat
 
Re: 7/4 Zener AMPS 329;+2 169

Uh...... I hope you don't have plans for the day 'cause Zener clearly is in dire need of attention!

No kidding about fireworks. You'd think with the recent fires and the loss of the firefighters in your area, people would be more thoughtful. Between your snow, rain, heat, and fires, I keep wondering why you live where you do!
 
Re: 7/4 Zener AMPS 329;+2 169

Sienne and Gabby said:
Uh...... I hope you don't have plans for the day 'cause Zener clearly is in dire need of attention!
Zener thought it was a holiday for him, nothing like full bean attention to make it a holiday. :lol:

Sienne and Gabby said:
No kidding about fireworks. You'd think with the recent fires and the loss of the firefighters in your area, people would be more thoughtful. Between your snow, rain, heat, and fires, I keep wondering why you live where you do!
BWAHAHAHAHAHAH about living where we live. We so love the dry climate and the four seasons, winter here is nothing like the midwest and we like the snow. Plus, we are outdoorsy types and we are oh so very close to so many beautiful places, like the big ditch aka Grand Canyon. You are absolutely right about the recent fires and the tragic loss of 19 firefighters that people would have a clue. As my dad used to say "never underestimate the stupidity of people in the out-of-doors."
 
Re: 7/4 Zener AMPS 329;+2 169;+3 116

Hi Guys - what a nice slide today for Zener. I wish you guys much luck with Zener's next vetty appt. I so hope all goes well. Kudos to you both for gong in prepared.

enjoy your 4th. I love your dad's comment. More than true.
 
Re: 7/4 Zener AMPS 329;+2 169;+3 116

Sorry to have missed you yesterday. Welcome home Liz! :-D :-D :-D And rain! I am soooooo jealous!

Interesting on all the meds info yesterday.When Emma arrived she had bad diarrhea and very stinky stools. What really seemed to help was first switching to raw (about half her diet) and then adding psyllium husk (1/4 tsp BID) when she had a recurrence. It firmed her poo up nicely. Interestingly, I started giving Tess 1/8 tsp Bid and her hard little nuggets have softened up and are much easier for her to pass. Fiber in itself doesn't have as much effect on cats as it does on people, but it is a prebiotic which is food for the good gut bacteria. It absorbs water in the stool, which bulks up soft poo AND draws water into the stool which softens hard poo. Since it isn't a drug no side effects unless you give too much and then it is just a very BIG POO! (I goofed and gave Emma 1tsp BID the first day! :shock: )

BTW, prednisone and prednisolone: prednisone must be converted to prednisolone in the body to be effective. Cats tolerate prednisolone much better.
 
Re: 7/4 Zener AMPS 329;+2 169;+3 116;+4 118

Apparently, Zener did NOT like his amps and wanted to get far away from it. Good job, Zener. Time to surf...only time you need to get off that surf board is to poo, ok?! Sending poo vines and anti-fireworks vines for you all. (the poo vines are really for Zener, but I guess it never hurts to spread the wealth!) :-D Happy 4th of July!
 
Re: 7/4 Zener AMPS 329;+2 169;+3 116;+4 118

So happy Liz is home. Just in time for the crapdash.LOL Very nice slide for the boy today. I hope it is just the weather changes that are bothering him. Good luck at the vet. Glad you are so prepared for the visit.

Have a good 4th.!
 
Re: 7/4 Zener AMPS 329;+2 169;+3 116;+4 118;+6 86

Hi Anne. Looks like Zener decided to spend some of the holiday at the Lagoon. Hope he does some surfing there.

It's unfortunate that there are people who don't think about the possibility of fire when playing with fireworks. We have a burn ban here because of the extremely dry weather we've been having but there will be some nuts that will be firing off bottle rockets, not knowing or caring where they land.

Hope you have a great day Anne.
 
Re: 7/4 Zener AMPS 329;+2 169;+3 116;+4 118;+6 86

There's that nic Zener man slide! Hi Anne and welcome back Liz. Did you have hail, too? I caught something on TWC other day. I'm so behind with everybody. Sending good Vetty vines for tomorrow. Mags is sending the Poo Fairy over your way with a GPS after she stops here first. Happy 4th!!
 
Re: 7/4 Zener AMPS 329;+2 169;+3 116;+4 118;+6 86

Anne & Zener said:
@Linda & Bear Man - thank you so very much for this information. You helped us before and we got Zener on both ondansetron and Cerenia, which has worked well until the recent bout of pudding poo. He has not yet had any blood in his stool, but has the other symptoms. CAT scans a few months ago revealed thickening of the intestinal walls and lymph nodes. We opted not to do a biopsy as we would have to travel almost three hours to have that done, so we do not have a firm diagnosis of IBD versus intestinal lymphoma. With this information from you, I feel like we are fully informed to discuss the next options with our vet. :YMHUG:

If you are still considering doing a biopsy, don't start any steroids, as they will invalidate the results of the biopsy.
 
Re: 7/4 Zener AMPS 329;+2 169;+3 116;+4 118;+6 86;+8.5 101

@Linda & Bear Man - thanks again for your expertise. We decided not to do the biopsy following his ultrasound almost 6 months ago. We know it's tough to treat without an accurate diagnosis, but we just couldn't put our guy through the long travel to have it done. It would take us 3 hours to get to the IM vet who could do the biopsy and then 3 hours to get home. He has been doing very well with his med cocktail of cerenia, ondansetron, zantac, miralax and occasional cypro until this recent bout of pudding poo that developed during a spell of very hot weather. His BG values have stayed pretty good and insulin has ranged from 0.75 to 1.0u most of the time. We've reduced his Miralax dose from 1/8t to 1/16t once a day and are considering trying to use pumpkin instead. So far, no poo today.
 
Re: 7/4 Zener AMPS 329;+2 169;+3 116;+4 118;+6 86;+8.5 101

That's a nice long blue slide, Zener.

I wouldn't trade living where we do. So far we can get out of the fire's way.
Los Alamos and Flagstaff are pretty much the same... elevation and weather and climate.
We love where we are.
And yes, our local fire is out but the one near Santa Fe still runs amuck. Looks like Arizona is having a turn in several locations.
 
Re: 7/4 Zener AMPS 329;+2 169;+3 116;+4 118;+6 86;+8.5 101

Nice slide for Mr.Z today :-D good luck with the Vetty visit tomorrow, will be sending lots of vines for a nice easy visit.
Kathie
 
Re: 7/4 Zener AMPS 329;+2 169;+3 116;+4 118;+6 86;+8.5 101

Nice numbers for Zener today. I hope no one shoots off fireworks. You'd think people would be smarter.
 
Re: 7/4 Zener PMPS 133

Great PMPS for Zener tonight. Excellent cycle if you remove the start. :lol: Will Zener keep you up partying tonight? I hope it's that and not the fireworks. :twisted: That's why I always hope for rain on Halloween.

Very educational couple of days on this condo. Sending tons of good vetty vines for tomorrow.
 
Re: 7/4 Zener PMPS 133

Happy 4th with lots of safe and no fireworks!
Chief Inspector Crapdash
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I hope there's something for the Inspector to write up??
Holding you all and sending good vetty vines for tomorrow.
Have a nice quiet night.. fireworks wise... who knows what Zener has up his little sleeve.
hugs and scritches
mary and ollie
 
Re: 7/4 Zener PMPS 133

Hi Liz and Anne,

What beautiful numbers for Zener today (except for the first one) :-D Hope he surfs for the rest of the night!

Good luck at the vetty appt tomorrow. I always feel a little stressed myself at the vets :-D

Storms have stopped here, fireworks going strong, hope they end early~

Have a great night!
 
Thanks to all for visiting Zener's condo yesterday and today with information and encouragement. The mighty Z had a good day today with some nice numbers, happy appy and generally feeling better. Beans feel less worried when he feels better. ;-) He has been feeling much better since our weather cooled off.

Found a small, well formed solid poo outside tonight. Wasn't sure which kitty it belonged to, then TT deposited a large and aromatic prezzie in the LB inside, so poo patrol deduced it must be Zener's. :cool: We will still keep our vet appointment tomorrow, always good to make a plan for what to do if the pudding poo problem continues.

He jumped on the express elevator at his +2, but at +4 seems he is not still heading for the penthouse. So, taking this opportunity for some rest and pokey break.

Ni ni LL. I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top