7/11 Jupiter PMBG/87 question regarding the pain meds

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=99647

I called the vet this AM and they said to come in at 1:30pm (eastern time) and they will recheck it. The mass definitely looks bigger then it did before... Even looks bigger today then it did yesterday.

Low AMBG again this morning so we skipped. I still think all the cats have a decreased appy recently, probably because it has been so hot in the house.

Todays Numbers:
AMPS-71
Skipped shot
PMPS-87
Skipped shot

Recap of yesterday:
AMPS-66
Skipped shot
+6-47
PMBG (taken 1.5 hours later then normal shot time) - 54
Skipped shot
+2 (2 hours after last test but normally +3.5) - 53
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter AMBG/71 Jupe getting vet recheck today

I'm so glad you were able to get him in today. Sending tons of prayers and vetty vines your way......
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter AMBG/71 Jupe getting vet recheck today

Hi guys ... I'm glad you got a vetty appt for this afternoon .. keeping you all in our thoughts and prayers ... :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter AMBG/71 Jupe getting vet recheck today

Paws crossed for a good vetty visit. Very nice number this morning! :mrgreen:
Liz
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter AMBG/71 Jupe getting vet recheck today

So glad you are taking Jupe today. If nothing else, it is a peace of mind visit. And if she thinks it is getting bigger, maybe they could squeeze him in for surgery earlier.

I know you are too worried about other things to appreciate them right now, but Jupiter's numbers are so wonderful :-D

Hope you get some relief from your worry today ((((Jamie)))
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter AMBG/71 Jupe getting vet recheck today

Keeping you in our thought sending vetty vine your way :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter AMBG/71 Jupe getting vet recheck today

So glad that you could get an appointment today. Paws crossed for a good result.
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter AMBG/71 Jupe getting vet recheck today

Sending good vetty vines your way - hope you and Jupe both stay calm and get some solid answers today.
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter AMBG/71 Jupe getting vet recheck today

Sending Good Vet Visit Vines for today.
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter AMBG/71 Jupe getting vet recheck today

Thank you all for the visits. I am so unbelievably nervous. Dane couldnt miss work today - so I am taking the car that leaks gas. I am terrified that I will run out of gas. I am also scared to drive because I took pain meds this morning. I thought they wouldnt be able to schedule until later in the day and I thought that by then, the meds would be worn off.

Jupiter is a very big boy.... 17 and a half pounds so I have no idea how I am going to manage getting him in the car by myself, but I am just going to try my absolute hardest. The carrier is in the car but if I bring it in he will run and hide. So I am going to attempt to carry him out to the car and put him in his carrier outside at the car. Just very scared he might try to get away - and the car is so close to the road...

I am trying to stay calm and not panic but it is very very hard.

Please continue to keep us in your thoughts and prayers today. I appreciate it so much.

I will update after appt to let you all know how it goes.
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter AMBG/71 Jupe getting vet recheck today

Oh, Jamie, is there no one else that can help you? Please put Jupe and yourself in the car, and close the doors, before you try to put him in the carrier. He is a big boy and don't want him to get away from you!!


Good luck!
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter AMBG/71 Jupe back from vet recheck

Hi everyone just wanted to give you all a quick update.

Jupiter and I got to the vet and back home safely.

the vet said it does look swollen and a little bigger but there is nothing she can do until Thursday. She said she cannot fit him into the schedule at all before thursday unless there would be a cancellation on tuesday. She said no matter if it gets bigger or not or anything she just cant do anything else for him until surgery.

She gave him a shot of an antibiotic called ampicillin. I asked her if it was infected and she said it probably is.

She also prescribed him tramadol for pain
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter AMBG/71 Jupe back from vet recheck

I'm glad you got some pain medicine, and hope it helps him to feel better, and I hope the ABs help to decrease the infection. Hugs, Jamie. You did good today.
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter AMBG/71 Jupe back from vet recheck

I'm glad you made it there and back home safely. I hope these meds help Jupe feel better. Sending feel better vines to Jupe and you, too.
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter AMBG/71 Jupe back from vet recheck

I'm glad you got to the vet and back safely! That must have been scary.

I hope the ABs work on getting that infection down. Many hugs to both of you!
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter AMBG/71 Jupe back from vet recheck

Jamie, Thank you for updating us on the vet visit. That must have been very hard for you to carry your big boy Jupiter to the car and get him into the vet. Glad you went and Jupiter got an antibiotic shot.

Keeping our fingers crossed for Jupiter and his upcoming surgery.
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter AMBG/71 Jupe back from vet recheck

So glad you got to the vet and back safely, Jamie & Jupe.

Sending vines that the AB's and pain meds make him feel better until he gets that nasty thing removed from his poor little foot.
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter AMBG/71 Jupe back from vet recheck

Hi Jamie,

What a day you had. I'm so glad that you made it there and back, and that you were able to get ABs and pain meds for Jupe. Sending you both vines and well wishes.

Kathie
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter AMBG/71 Jupe back from vet recheck

job well done jamie all the way around :-D .

I am sure the pain meds will help him. that has to be uncomfortable for him. would be like having a huge plantar wart on your foot.. owie.

cannot wait til Thursday.
hugs
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter AMBG/71 Jupe back from vet recheck

Sending lots of extra-strong, pain-be-gone vines (for Jupe and for you). Thursday will be here soon.

You did well today, Jamie.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter AMBG/71 Jupe back from vet recheck

I'm so happy you made it home "Leaking gas" Oh please be careful with that my jeep did that and almost caught fire in driveway. But your home safe so glad. You sound like me with Lucky I had just had wrist surgery and trying to carry him in and out of the car with 1 arm and my hip. :lol: 22lbs he was then.. I'm so glad Lucky loves his cage he sleeps in it all the time. I hope pain pills will give him relieve and make you more at ease :smile: will keep you in prayers
Linda
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter AMBG/71 Jupe back from vet recheck

I really want to say thank you to all of you for the visits today - you guys are so great and so supportive.

Jupiter seems to be doing much better. He is out and about and acting like he is feeling better. Just the way he is walking and moving around seems to be an improvement. I feel like hes trotting around like he owns the house!!! :-D :-D :-D I think the pain meds are helping

everytime i pet him he is rolling over and being so cute!!!! so glad the meds are helping!!!
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter AMBG/71 UPDATE! He seems to be feeling bett

Oh I'm so glad, he knows you love him,your doing so great it will be so great when this is over, "very soon: :smile:
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter AMBG/71 UPDATE! He seems to be feeling bett

Dane tested his pmbg and Jupiter purred!!! he never purrs when dane tests him, only when i do...

wow I am just so happy he seems to be feeling good.... maybe too good from the pain meds :lol:
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter PMBG/87 UPDATE! He seems to be feeling bett

That is great news, Jamie. I hope that you all have a quiet night tonight. You need to rest and gather your strength for next week!
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter PMBG/87 UPDATE! He seems to be feeling bett

I'm so glad he has some pain medication and you made it there and back without incident.
That has to have helped the anxiety just a tad.
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter PMBG/87 UPDATE! He seems to be feeling bett

his pupils are very dilated. its weird!

i am just so happy he seems to be feeling good and not hiding and he even seems a little playful!! now we just got to get him to eat a little better!
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter PMBG/87 UPDATE! He seems to be feeling bett

Hi Jamie. So glad that the pain meds are working to make Jupiter feel better. We have our fingers crossed that the A/B does it's job and starts working on the infection. You did a good job getting the big fella in and out the car. Have you ever tried a harness. Whenever we put a harness on PurrFace he lays down and doesn't move. It makes it easier for DW to get him in and out of the carrier. :lol:

We're keeping your family and Jupiter in our Prayers Jamie. Have a great night.
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter PMBG/87 UPDATE! He seems to be feeling bett

Thank goodness for good meds! So, glad Jupiter is feeling better! dancing_cat
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter PMBG/87 UPDATE! He seems to be feeling bett

What a great improvement! Pain meds were either going to make him feel good enough to "show you" he felt better, or they were going to zonk him out and make him all sleepy. I can hear the smile in your posts, Jamie! I'm glad he's out and about and enjoying his evening. :-D
I'll bet Dane was happy to hear that purring too. ;-)
And I hope the AB shot does the trick and since it's not going through his tummy, it won't make him feel like not eating.

Did they give you enough pain meds to get him through the next few days?

Great job today, Jamie. It had to be a very stressful day, and I'm very happy the evening has turned out so well for all of you.
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter PMBG/87 UPDATE! He seems to be feeling bett

We are all so glad to hear that Jupiter is feeling better.The dilated pupils could be the pain med, some cats get a bit loopy on pain killers.
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter PMBG/87 UPDATE! He seems to be feeling bett

So glad to hear that Jupe is feeling better. We all feel better when were not in pain ;-) And relieved you made it there and back safely nailbite_smile Great news :-D
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter PMBG/87 UPDATE! He seems to be feeling bett

So glad to hear that you got to the vet and back safely, and that Jupiter is feeling better. Sweetie often gets those huge eyes when his BG is in the good green zone. And then it might just be those wonderful pain meds he took :lol:

Hope you are resting now and taking care of yourself Jamie.
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter PMBG/87 UPDATE! He seems to be feeling bett

I haven't posted in a few days but have been checking in to see how Jupiter has been doing and I'm so glad to see he's doing better with the new medicines! It's so hard when they are not themselves and we can't always understand why. Heat, pain, stress...the list goes on. Hopefully the different antibiotic and the pain meds will continue to help him feel more like himself and then you can get some rest, too! I know the cats definitely pick up on our stress.
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter PMBG/87 UPDATE! He seems to be feeling bett

Jamie,
I am so glad to hear that you go pain med, and Jupiter is feeling better!
Great news!
 
Re: 7/11 Jupiter PMBG/87 UPDATE! He seems to be feeling bett

ok so they prescribed him tramadol. Its a 50mg pill but they broke them up in 4 pieces. Every 8 hours for pain - as needed. The pieces there vary quite a bit in size. Since I didnt know how he would react to the meds I gave him the smallest piece.

Should I keep trying to pick out the smallest pieces since he reacted really well with the first dose? Should I break the largest pieces to be a little smaller? Dont want to give him too much since he seems so happy right now dont know if anymore loopy would be good....

Should I give him another pill in 8 hours or do I wait til hes acting like hes in pain? She said its as needed.



also one other question... since he got the shot of ampicillin... should i start giving him the pearl probiotics again?
 
I don't know about the pearls, as I've never used them here.

As far as the pain meds go...
If this small piece worked, then I'd try to duplicate it size-wise. If at some time he seems to be hurting worse, then a slightly bigger piece? Although I'd guess that's hard to tell since he can't tell you how much it hurts. From what you described as far as how he was acting, I think I'd try to keep duplicating this dose.

Did she say NOT to give any closer than 8 hours apart? If she said "every 8 hours - as needed", I'd take that to mean not closer together? And if it doesn't seem like he's in pain, longer than 8 hours.
But again, cats are pretty good at hiding pain, so how can we really tell when it's to the point that they "need" another pill?

Guess that doens't help all that much, sorry. I can't recall the last time I had a cat on pain meds.
 
bottle says up to 3 times daily (every 8 hours) as needed for pain.

she said give it to him as needed... thats hard to tell though

he got his pill about 9 hours ago.... he is still acting fine and happy though


i just hate to wait until he is really bad pain though to give him one... because at that point he might be hiding and then for the hour it takes for the pain meds to start helping him... I just hate to see him in pain ya know?
 
I am also having a very very hard time giving pills, so if anyone has any suggestions, I would realllllyyy realllllyy appreciate it



i gave jupe some gravy to lick then i put the probiotic in his mouth then i put the pain meds in his mouth and he spit the pain meds out... i threw that pill out since it was really soggy and didnt want it to break apart and me not be able to give it to him... i gave him the new pill and i think he swallowed it... but im trying to give him a few licks of gravy to make sure the pill doesnt get stuck but he will not eat anything... he got mad and ran away from me... and i tried petting him to calm him so he would eat and he is acting very mad at me

i ended up getting him to take a few licks of a can of tuna... didnt let him eat much of that since i know canned tuna isnt good for him... but i tried so many things and he wouldnt even take a single lick of anything else
 
I'm glad Jupiter is feeling a better with the pain meds. All in all it sounds like a good vetty report. If it's just a small piece of pill, could you try putting it in a piece of butter or cheese? Some cats like pill pockets for meds.

I had to give lots of pills when I worked/volunteered at a shelter. I'd have a syringe full of water ready, grab the scruff, tilt the head back which opened the mouth, pop in the pill and squirt in the water as quickly as possible then hold the mouth closed and stroke the throat. Takes a bit of practice but can be easy depending on the cat.
 
he used to like pill pockets but he wont eat them anymore... ever since i used them to give the antibiotics... he used to take them daily for his prozac for anxiety
 
Maybe you can try a different flavor of pillpokets?
Lucy didn't go for any flavor of pillpokets, so I make a very tinny ball with her food and put a pill inside.
Lucy is very hard to pill too when she doesn't want to eat......
 
Have you tried a pill gun? Very helpful for keeping your fingers out of the way of teeth and claws, and if you practice with them, you'll get to the point where Jupe will be pilled before he really knows it

Also, if you blow air at his nose, it usually causes them to swallow out of reflex

As for the pain meds, I'd bet they would say the same as they do for people...you don't want to wait until he's in pain to give it or it won't work as well and he'll have to be in pain until it kicks in, so if it's prescribed every 8 "as needed", when it gets close to that 8hrs, watch him really carefully for signs of pain and get it in him before his pain level is back so high. It sounds like you've got a pretty good idea of the size of his first dose that seems to be working so well without making him dopey, so you might want to just give it every 8 hrs at least for a day or 2 until that antibiotic shot really kicks in

Good luck to you both! You sure have been through the mill with him!!
 
What about liverwurst? Not sure how that effects BG, but just a little piece 3 x a day for the pill might not be too bad. It is the perfect consistency to wrap a pill in. It is my "go to" cold cut for pilling. If he likes it that is, seems like they either love it or hate it. Good luck Jamie :-D
 
I find that wrapping the pill in a bit of pill pocket is a lot easier to push down the throat, than just a pill with no wrap.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top