01/16 Fortune dose increase? AMPS 287 +3 343 +6 381 +9 316 PMPS 265 +2 358

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by RachelG, Jan 16, 2021.

  1. RachelG

    RachelG Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2021
    Happy Saturday!

    Yesterday

    Fortune's skipped dose due to the vet is 6 cycles ago as of this morning. His numbers are still high (and maybe bouncing?) but not as high as they were. (phew! It is very scary to see the 400s and 500s!)

    According to TR, since his numbers are still high but the nadir is under 300, we should be going up .25 IU for his evening shot. I don't want to rush the increase, however, so open to input if we should wait additional cycles.

    Fortune has been high with unregulated BG for well over three months so while we are trying to be patient, I want to make sure I'm not unnecessarily delaying things for him.

    We also picked up low carb rabbit today so we plan on switching his food this evening. Fingers crossed this helps with his disease progression!
     
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    See if he drops any more but I think you can increase.
     
    RachelG likes this.
  3. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    What have you been feeding Fortune the last day? Just wondering if the higher numbers were due to food changes. You did say something about feeding his old food yesterday. It's always good to note food changes in the spreadsheet.
     
    RachelG likes this.
  4. RachelG

    RachelG Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2021
    We haven't changed his food yet but we did give him a few dried minnows. We are planning to introduce the rabbit tonight (just picked it up today). Thanks for the tip! I'll make note what we feed.

    He dropped a little more, but still in the 300s @ +9
     
  5. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I think you're fine to increase.
     
    RachelG likes this.
  6. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    OK, I though you had started some older food yesterday, but it sounds like he just needs more insulin.
     
    RachelG likes this.
  7. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Good luck with the increase ♥:bighug::bighug::cat:
    @RachelG
     
    RachelG likes this.
  8. RachelG

    RachelG Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2021
    We went forward with the increase, and he jumped at +2! :arghh::banghead:

    We will try to wake up early and do a +10, but I'm hoping it's just new dose wonkiness. The new food is supposed to be very low carb...
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  9. RachelG

    RachelG Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2021
    You're right, we were supposed to lol. But forgot...:D
     

Share This Page