01/18 Charlie AMPS 59

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Tammy Campbell Gallant, Jan 18, 2021.

  1. Tammy Campbell Gallant

    Tammy Campbell Gallant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2020
    Charlie's AMPS is 59. I can't be with him all day, I can pop in to check his sugars and give him his food but will not be able to keep an eye on him all day. I am thinking of skipping his shot (0.1 units) is that the right call?
    Thanks
     
  2. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Will you be out all day or only for a part of it?
     
  3. Tammy Campbell Gallant

    Tammy Campbell Gallant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2020
    Most of the day. Till about 4pm (+8) I will be able to make a few quick pop ins to check but will not be here most of the day.
     
  4. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    OK. Might be safer to skip. we don't want another cycle like the AM of the 15th. looks like he is headed for another reduction.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  5. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Do get the odd test though. How he fares without insulin will be a useful data point to see if he is ready to go OTJ.
     
  6. Tammy Campbell Gallant

    Tammy Campbell Gallant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2020
    Great Thank you. That is what I was worried about. I didn't want him to go to low if I wasn't here.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  7. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Better to be safe :)
     
  8. Tammy Campbell Gallant

    Tammy Campbell Gallant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2020
    Yes I will do that and refill his low carb food. He is kinda picky and will only eat if you put a small amount in his bowl at a time. :D
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  9. Tammy Campbell Gallant

    Tammy Campbell Gallant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2020
    Thank you again and should I post his numbers here for an update?
     
  10. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes please and his SS too, if possible. But you can do it when you're back home! :)
     
  11. Tammy Campbell Gallant

    Tammy Campbell Gallant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2020
    Great. Thank you again!:bighug:
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  12. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It will be interesting to see how he does with NS. He’s doing so well!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  13. Tammy Campbell Gallant

    Tammy Campbell Gallant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2020
    I just took his sugar. It was 77 @+3. I gave him some more LC food and I will be back to check on him at +5 or +6.
     
  14. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    This is day 3 of this dose. Four more days like this and you move down to a drop dose. In prep for the next dose when you have time count how many drops are in your current dose. Everybody’s is different. :D
     
  15. Tammy Campbell Gallant

    Tammy Campbell Gallant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2020
    Charlie's sugars are 77 @+5.

    I am a little worried about doing the drop dose. I will practice drawing it up over the next couple of days.
    Thank you:bighug:
     
  16. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    For starters let’s see how many drops are in the current dose. It might already be really low and you might move to even less. The some dose. First let’s get through the 7 days on this dose. I just wanted to give you time to get prepared and see exactly how many drops in the current dose. Check out @Shiloh567 spreadsheet for an example. She thought she was giving a drop dose but had room to go lower. She had lots of low 100’s which you don’t have. So you may or may not need the drop dose. When a spreadsheet looks like yours it might not be necessary. I’m getting a little ahead of things here but you are sooooo close.
     
  17. Tammy Campbell Gallant

    Tammy Campbell Gallant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2020
    Is there a video on how to measure drops? I did read it and will reread it but if I had a video I might find it easier to follow. :bookworm: I couldn't find one on YouTube.
     
  18. Tammy Campbell Gallant

    Tammy Campbell Gallant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2020
    Charlie's PMPS 4.1.

    He did so well today. Today was the first day someone has not been home with him the whole time since he was diagnosed. He was probably glad to have some alone time.:joyful:
    I am practicing drops with some water, just to get the hang of it. Tomorrow I will count how many drops are in his dose now.
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  19. Tammy Campbell Gallant

    Tammy Campbell Gallant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2020
    Sorry

    Charlie's PMPS was 74, I forget to convert it sometimes.:banghead:
     
  20. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    No worries. The ss does it for us. Real nice with a skip
     
  21. Tammy Campbell Gallant

    Tammy Campbell Gallant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2020
    Thank you for your help again today!:bighug:
     
  22. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Some people do drop doses this way. You push the plunger fully, keep it pressed, insert the needle in the vial/pen and release the plunger. The insulin you get is a drop. Try it out.
    I don't know how many drops that would work out compared to your existing 0.10U dose.
     
  23. Tammy Campbell Gallant

    Tammy Campbell Gallant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2020
    Charlie is getting 2 drops with his 0.1 units. I got it figured out!:)
    Thanks :bighug:
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  24. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Looks like he did alright without insulin yesterday. His numbers didn't spike. That's good!
     
  25. Tammy Campbell Gallant

    Tammy Campbell Gallant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2020
    Yes I was excited. I was worried about noone being home but he did well. I didn't get a reading last night because I must of shut of my alarm and went back to sleep. :(
     
  26. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    That's okay. I think your testing days are soon coming to end. Touch wood/ Anti-jinx! :)
     
  27. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Good morning. Tammy, you are doing TR, right? The signature still says SLGS.
     
  28. Tammy Campbell Gallant

    Tammy Campbell Gallant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2020
    Yes, sorry I will go change that.
     
  29. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I thought we did this but was questioning my memory. Thanks. So close. :D
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  30. Tammy Campbell Gallant

    Tammy Campbell Gallant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2020
    Fingers crossed!!!:joyful:
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  31. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Next question. Was last night’s dose .01 or .10?
     
  32. Tammy Campbell Gallant

    Tammy Campbell Gallant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2020
    .10 sorry I changed that as well.
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  33. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Three more days like this and you go down to a drop, unless he drops under 50 sooner. :D
     
  34. Tammy Campbell Gallant

    Tammy Campbell Gallant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2020
    Fingers crossed I am hoping for the three days, I don't like going under 50 :nailbiting:
     
  35. Tammy Campbell Gallant

    Tammy Campbell Gallant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2020
    Starting off day 7 (AMPS 70) in all green!:D Hoping for another great day off all green!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  36. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Hi Tammy, that's great! Start a new thread today/tomorrow? :)
     

Share This Page