01/31 Spacey PMPS=136

Status
Not open for further replies.

Spacey & Ella

Active Member
Link to yesterday

I think Spacey's infection is back. That was to be expected of course. Making an appointment with the vet tomorrow.
She is purring, eating, drinking, very vocal, walking. But again lying as if she's uncomfortable and she has watery eyes.

Her numbers are also bit up. Don't know whether it is cause she ate +2.5 or the infection. Maybe both.
Poor thing.

@Ronnie and Libby: It sound a bit strange to me that food would help her to stay in the green range. Shouldn't the bg go up after eating? So no, I don't feed her around that time, but there is always food around that she can eat. Guess she isn't hungry at +9/10. But I keep it in mind and try to give her a bit by hand or so.
But can both of you also explain a bit more?? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 01/31 Spacey AMPS=122, +3=133 Feeling blue today

Hi Ella, your doing fantabulistic here :mrgreen:

One minor point-kitty can't hypo on .1u of insulin, just isn't enough,so you don't need to worry about that.

The point about offering food around +9/10 is that it will stimulate the Pancreas to work on the bg numbers. If it's working it will then hopefully mean you will see a lower, hopefully even green preshot.If no food, nothing for Pancreas to work on-make sense?

Also breaking Spacey's meals down into smaller ones won't overwhelm the Pancreas (eating an orange whole would be hard work, yet in segments is easy-only analogy that came to mind!). It is also getting the Pancreas used to working (stimulated) on an on-going basis.

Hope you see a pattern of green today :-D
 
Re: 01/31 Spacey AMPS=122, +3=133 Feeling blue today

Hi Ella,
Hope Spacey infection clears soon, good luck at the vets tomorrow.
Mike & Bo (GA)
 
Re: 01/31 Spacey AMPS=122, +3=133 Feeling blue today

Spacey's numbers look great here--Sorry you are feeling blue--
Just remember--Every Set back is a set up for a come back!!
And Spacey will come back to herself soon--Good luck at the vetty tomorrow--Will be watching for update-
You need a HUG today!--Here's one :YMHUG:
 
I have been upgrading her to 0.25. Don't know if that was wise. Did it cause her curve was higher than the last couple of day's.
I guess it's time for battle against the infection and after that we can downgrade again.

Btw. Not I'm feeling blue, but Spacey does. I'm green, super green. :mrgreen:

And a bit stoned from the pain meds.. :lol:
 
keep surfing, Spacey!

Keep an eye on his numbers with the dose increase. He hit 61 yesterday so there's not really a lot of room for an increase, you'll need to keep testing.
 
Libby... do you know if a cat can go hypo on 0.25?
If so, I probably should go back tomorrow morning to 0.1, cause I'm not at home to check her...
 
I think it is possible to have a low enough number on 0.25 to be concerned. But, please differentiate between low numbers and a symptomatic hypo. The concern here is that Spacey already had a low of 61 on 0.1. With doubling the dose, you could have very low numbers that you would need to monitor very closely. You may want to see how the PM cycle went and think about the dose issue in the morning. If there's an infection, it is likely to raise Spacey's numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top