02/18 Jax +12 88,+12.5 92,+13 89 (NS)

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by JaxBenji, Feb 18, 2021.

  1. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Yesterday

    Today's dental surgery day! Jax did not seem pleased his breakfast was some gaba and salmon :p And it's raining here and jusstttt below freezing but I think we have dodged the ice that some areas to the north of us are getting.

    Surf safely, kitties, and eat your alllllll of your snacks especially since Jax is not allowed to :p
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2021
  2. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Thank you :bighug: After much self-debating :joyful:, I went with 0.25u.
     
  3. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Sending prayers for Jax's dental and calming prayers for you. I hope you just get rain.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  4. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
  5. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Best of luck today and I hope the weather will be good!
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  6. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    some kitties may call that the breakfast of champions:p.
    Sending a heap of vetty vines to Jax!:bighug: Butters will be thinking of him when she chows down on her next snack:cat:.
     
    JaxBenji and Katherine&Ruby like this.
  7. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Good luck with the dental! :bighug:
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  8. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Loads of positive vines for better teeth and a quick and easy recovery complete with low BGs! :bighug:
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  9. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Calm and healing :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  10. Margaret (and Pearl)

    Margaret (and Pearl) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2020
  11. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Thank you everyone :bighug::bighug::bighug: His doctor called a little bit ago and he's out of surgery and had two extractions (both upper 3rd molars). His doctor wants to keep an eye on him a bit longer since he's loopy from his gaba :joyful: so I will go get him in about 2 hours and have a curbside chat with her.

    Are there specific drugs I want to come home with? When I talked to his doctor at his drop off, she said she'd let me know on antibiotic once she sees his mouth and I believe they are going to give me more gaba for pain management.
     
  12. Margaret (and Pearl)

    Margaret (and Pearl) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2020
    Buprenex (kitty morphine) for pain for sure, unless they have packed the wounds with the Buprenex (not typical unless a dental specialist), usually they rely on the oral Bupe. And definitely get the antibiotic - may want to consider a Convenia injection (yes it's controversial) just b/c you don't want to have to put a lot in his mouth right now (?).
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2021
    JaxBenji likes this.
  13. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I'm glad Jax is finished. Pain relief and an antibiotic for sure.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  14. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    He may or may not want to eat tonight. Do you have any meat only baby food? You may want to make sure he's eating before you give insulin.
     
    JOJI and Kit and JaxBenji like this.
  15. Tina Marie (GA) and Jan

    Tina Marie (GA) and Jan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    My vet won't give anything more than Onsior for 3 days, and an antibiotic. I've seen several other choices mentioned. We can only get bupe for extreme pain. I do wish I had some on hand though.
    They have also snuck in a Cerenia injection along with a dental.

    So happy Jax is safe now, even if a bit loopy. Have a nice day Susanne!
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  16. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Thanks! She mentioned did mention onsior if she thought it was necessary. I'll see what she says at pick-up - she comes out to the car to talk to us which is nice in these times. I got the feeling at drop-off she didn't dispense bupe unless surgery was super involved.

    Yes! I bought a jar of gerbers turkey and a jar of gerbers chicken (just meat, water, & cornstarch). His doc said to give him a small snack when he gets home so I'll try his usual food then.

    He's with a board certified dentist so I keep reminding myself to trust her :cat:

    He had a convenia injection in January since we couldn't get in for his dental for a bit (due to the doctor's schedule) and since then I've read it's not super effective at bacteria in the mouth (along with concerns about how long it stays in the body); his doctor did mention another shot of convenia at drop-off but I asked to get an alternative if she decided antibiotics are necessary...she said sure (and I can't remember the other drug she said)...from my reading and even from talking to the doctor today, there is a shift from prescribing antibiotics as "preventative" measure and only prescribing if necessary...here's one paper on it...SO MUCH INFO o_Oo_Oo_O

    Thanks of course for all your input...we are all trying so hard to make informed choices for our kitties :cat:
     
  17. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Glad the dental is over :bighug: Hope for a speedy recovery!
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  18. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Glad to hear the dental is over, and two bothersome teeth are out.

    Clindamycin is the go to AB for the mouth. It tastes foul, so consider than if you are asked pill or liquid for it. You definitely want to give him probiotics (2 hours apart) with Clindamycin. I can speak from personal experience on that too. :blackeye:

    My dental vet specialist's go to is buprenorphine for pain. Onsior is an NSAID and even the manufacturer says no more than 3 days for cats. Bupre can be given longer term if needed.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  19. Lisa & Oberon

    Lisa & Oberon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2020
    Glad it went well! Hope he starts to feel better soon.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  20. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Glad this is now behind you. Did Jax come home with the anesthesia still working? Dolly always did, falling into walls, crying from pain I would imagine. Since using the Oxyfresh the last four years she has had perfect checkups. I hope Jax recovers from the extractions quickly. :D. I hope you all have a good day. Dolly sends hugs to Jax and Benji. :bighug::bighug: Hope the weather improves :nailbiting:
    Everyone stay safe. :bighug::bighug::):cat:
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2021
    JaxBenji likes this.
  21. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Thanks Wendy :bighug: Here's what they sent me home with (Jax is 14.2lbs or 6.44kg)
    • Clindamycin 25mg - they gave me the pill and to start in the morning
    • Gaba 100mg every 8-12 hours - start tonight...I know to stay ahead of pain but holy moly he's so drugged right now...
    • Onsior 6mg - one tab every 24 hours for three days - start tomorrow
    • 1-TDC capsulses - rub on gums starting tomorrow
    They gave a shot of onsior in the office -do you know if I then still do 3 days of pills or just two? From reading manufacture site, seems like today is day 1 and days 2 and 3 will be my pills...I'll call and ask too.

    He also had a injectable Simbadol Buprenorphine Extended Release 0.43 of 1.8mg/ml, injectable of Clindamycin Injectable 0.23 of 150mg/m, and Cerenia (0.65 of 10mg/ml).

    And any thoughts on dosing tonight? If he's eating, I'll do his full dose but he seems very confused on food...well on life in general (he ate about 2t and a bit of that was Gerber's turkey). Hoping he'll be less druggy in a few (3) hours.
     
  22. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Get a BG test when he gets home, and then compare that to PMPS. Some anaesthesia induction drugs lower the BG, so it depends which one they used, one type has no impact. Also, feed small meals, a tsp or two, 20-30 minutes apart. Anaesthesia again plays with the GI system. The small meals will also let you see whether he'll feel like eating tonight.

    The reduced dose this AM should help keep him up tonight, but I've also seen people with a cat and dropping numbers due to anaesthesia and the cat not feeling like eating. :eek:
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  23. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    .

    I blended Georges food after his extractions so he could just lap it up, no need to chew, he seemed to appreciate that. We were only given an anti inflammatory, (no gaba or bupe), so I think he was still sore.
    I noticed that he wanted to eat but would try and chew his soft food and he would spit it out.

    Vines and prayers he is feeling better soon.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  24. Laura and Gremlin (GA)

    Laura and Gremlin (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Yay! I'm so glad Jax is home and well.

    Even though the antibiotic injection is controversial and not great for mouth issues, that's what Grem has had twice for his broken tooth, one preventative and one with early signs of infection. He broke his tooth when I was giving him his regular tablets :facepalm: And he's always been notoriously hard to pill (though easier with only one front leg). With all the meds I was already having to shove in a sore mouth, we decided one more was out of the question.
    When my civvie Luna had a tooth pulled, I don't think she was given anything... Pretty sure I gave her some of Grem's Meloxicam (at the vets instruction) for a couple of days and that's it. But she ate perfectly fine from the get go, fortunately. It was like nothing had ever happened!

    I do hope Jax eats and recovers well! But I'm sure there will be no problems at all with such a good mumma bean looking after him!
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  25. Tina Marie (GA) and Jan

    Tina Marie (GA) and Jan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    The tiniest bit of advice I'd love to offer - do not give 100mg of Gaba 3x a day! I know it looks like that dose startled you like me! Poor guy would be wiped out or melted, right?!

    Jax - you get to feeling better buddy! Eat enough to get the fuzzies out:cat:
     
  26. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    I think he had Dexmedetomidine (? I'm reading off my invoice and then googling...). He's been coming down a little bit since we've been home:

    +8 155
    +9 140
    +10.25 116

    I was planning to shoot at +12.5 to get closer to our preferred schedule so I may get a +12 and feed and see if he'll eat. If he's green at shot time and I'm not confident in his eating then I would skip I think...if I think he'll eat, I may still do a reduced dose. Decisions....I did pick up a few more jars of baby food just in case as he did easily eat that up when we got home.
     
  27. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    So glad to hear Jax is home. Lots of meds, pills, thats a "no" for Dolly. We have tried everything and found a tiny bit of a pill pocket, enough to enclose the pill and then rolled in FortiFlora. Probably not the best solution after a dental :oops:. Maybe Jax is compliant with pills, I hope so. I use the oral Buprenex for Dolly's pain. It goes on the gums so that might not be what you would want.

    Sending healing prayers for Jax :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:\
    Hope he isn't in a lot of pain.
    All of you take good care and as always (when she remembers :rolleyes:) big hugs from Dolly to Benji :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  28. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Thanks, Gill - I think Jax is feeling like George...wants to eat but doesn't like the feeling or something (he's so drugged up still that I doubt he haas pain but who knows...). He still is eating pate so perhaps I'll blend with more water than usual and see if that helps. Thanks for the idea :bighug:
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  29. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    thank you :bighug: no it didn't startle me :joyful: he's a big boy and handles 100mg okay (we've been using it for temperament at the vet). I may do twice a day...I'll see what he's like once he starts eating a little bit more. He is still so drugged :p
     
  30. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Happy to see Jax is home have a good evening Susanne :bighug:
     
  31. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    I know and I considered it - no judgement here if others use it (I mean he did have it in January). In any case, I actually called the vet up and exchanged his Clindamycin tablets for liquid (bitter liquid but better than a tablet...and I actually asked for the liquid in my written note to them but it's so hard communicating with covid restrictions). He had an clindamycin injection today so he'll get his bitter liquid tomorrow :) Thank you for your well wishes :bighug: kisses to grem!
     
  32. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Thanks Adrienne :bighug::bighug::bighug: I saw you shared this with someone else recently (maybe Ruby & Katherine?) so I ordered a pack of greenies to have on hand just in case. I am pretty confident in getting the gaba in him and then only have to get his onsior in (just two days...I'm sure we will get through it!).
     
    Our Dolly Girl (GA) likes this.
  33. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    If Jax eats, anyone have thoughts on insulin dose? He definitely seems hungry but also not his usual self just yet after his dental adventures & drugs.

    He had a 0.25u this morning and the readings since he's been home are below; he has only had ~2t of food (between +8 and +9).

    +8 155
    +9 140
    +10.25 116
    +11 104

    I'm kind of wondering even if I get him to eat if I should do a reduced dose (1u? or 0.75u?) just to play it safe? @tiffmaxee or @Wendy&Neko or @Gill & George or @Marje and Gracie ?
     
  34. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Max got buprenorphine for pain. He got clindamycin also. He ate when he first came home but a little later refused so I opted to not give any insulin the first night. I was a wimp and didn’t want to mess with him too much. So I’d likely give a reduced dose. I’m glad Jax is home. :bighug:
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  35. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    So you can ignore my PM that asked you to stop by lol :joyful: Thank you :bighug: so if I think he'll eat, do half dose? (and whyyyy is he dropping...I thought he'd be high so dealing with this is catching me off guard lol). I know I can skip and he'll be okay.
     
  36. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    For some the anesthesia leads to a decrease in bg. I felt I didn’t want to mess with Max after in case he was in pain. I didn’t want to fight a low bg.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  37. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Good point...I guess I'll see where he's at. And he had Dexmedetomidine for anesthesia from what I can tell from his invoice - I just read the drug info and it says it raises glucose because it inhibits insulin release...Jax didn't get the memo on that :joyful:
     
  38. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Was that for induction? My vet only uses gas. I bet Jax got that as well. Isoflurane?
     
  39. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Oh you're right - two page invoice ($$$$$$$ lol) - Sevoflorane Gas Anesthesia (70 minutes!) - does that a inhibit insulin release too? I'm thinking I'm skipping because I had to heavily supervise him eating 2t of food.
     
  40. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I don’t know what it may or may not do to the bg. My worry was if I couldn’t get Max to eat. I wasn’t about to syringe feed or finger feed. I’m a wimp though.
     
  41. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    I need to take a few minutes to catch up. BRB.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  42. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    I’d probably skip. He might eat a bit now but not later and I’ve seen too many cats whose BG has dropped the cycle after getting anesthesia. It’s one thing if the BG is much higher. He’s had a tough day already and his mouth is likely sore so if you aren’t worried about ketones, etc (I’d test), I’d give him a break.

    My little guy has had a few episodes of tonsillitis who h they give him clindamycin liquid. If you put it in the frig, it kills the taste. He never acts like he’s getting anything more than water.

    Good luck and I hope he feels better.

    Edited to add: I’d hold off on the gabapentin and then when you do think he needs it, try a much smaller dose. When my Livvie was spayed, they gave her a full dose of bupe for her weight and it was way too much for her. She must have been hallucinating because she went from one water bowl to the next and “dug” all the water out. She looked like a baby seal. I waited until her pupils were no longer dilated and gave her a half dose and she was much better.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  43. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Thanks, Marje :bighug: I stalled a little bit, realized how confused/drugged he was, and then decided to skip. Glad I did - less pressure on him (and me!). You are right on grabbing a ketone test (no history, knock on wood).

    Thanks for the tip - first dose in the AM so putting in the fridge now!

    I am pretty sure that's what's happened here - he had a larger dose of gaba for temperament (200mg) this morning then got Simbadol Buprenorphine Extended Release 0.43 of 1.8mg/ml at his surgery - he is still so high o_O. I haven't given any meds and will hold off on any more gaba until he needs it.

    On the bright side, his teeth are so white :D Just ready for the drugs to wear off a bit!
     
    Marje and Gracie likes this.
  44. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’m glad you skipped. The meds could kill the appetite as well.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  45. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    I'm glad too - less stressful! And, he's eating a bit better now! I am having to make him soup and he's making a mess :p but he's eating - hope it lasts. I think his injectable bupre + the gaba from this AM + some other meds from surgery was too much for him and some of it is finally wearing off. And skipping means straight to our preferred shot time - so hurray for that :cat:
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  46. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Man that’s a lot of drugs. I’m not a fan of sustained release drugs. Once in, you can’t get them out. I can see why he’s so drugged up. Poor boy!
     
    JaxBenji and Our Dolly Girl (GA) like this.
  47. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Glad your boy is home and everything is well!

    Couldn't you get a kitty version of Whitening Strips at Walmart for that? :p
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  48. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    That’s how Dolly always was after dental surgery. Scared me, she would fall into walls, had no balance. Couldn’t leave her alone for fear she would try to jump on the couch and get hurt. :nailbiting::nailbiting: The dose of gabapetin, prefilled syringes, they had me give her for vet visits would knock her out for two days.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  49. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hi Susanne,, I wasn't on all day, it's 2 AM. I just wanted you to know I hope Jax isn't in pain. Poor boy must of been high as a kite.
    I feel bad he had to get 2 teeth pulled. Poor baby. I hope he feels much better in the
    AM. I'm glad this is behind him. I'll check in tomorrow. ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    JaxBenji likes this.

Share This Page