03/28 Henry AMPS 84 +3.5 78 PMPS 96 +3.5 83 +5.5 80

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Golf2015, Mar 27, 2021.

  1. Golf2015

    Golf2015 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    1. BG Reading @ AMPS is (84)
    2. Preshot Dosage =1.25 units
    3. Fed 1.6oz of 7% Carb
    4. Next BG Reading @ AMPS +3.5


    Previous Thread
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2021
  2. Golf2015

    Golf2015 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    1. BG Reading @ AMPS +3.5 is (78)
    2. Fed 1.2oz of 7% Carb
    3. Next BG Reading @ PMPS
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2021
  3. Golf2015

    Golf2015 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    1. BG Reading @ PMPS is (96)
    2. Preshot Dosage =1.25 units
    3. Fed 1.6oz of 7% Carb @PMPS
    4. Next BG Reading @ PMPS +3.5
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2021
  4. Golf2015

    Golf2015 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    1. BG Reading @ PMPS +3.5 is (83)
    2. Fed 1.2oz of 7% Carb
    3. Next BG Reading @ PMPS +5.5
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2021
  5. Golf2015

    Golf2015 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    1. BG Reading @ PMPS +5.5 is (80)
    2. Fed 1.6oz of 7% Carb
    3. Next BG Reading @ AMPS Tomorrow
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2021
  6. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Robert, have you thought about feeding Henry some lower carb food? Wondering if that would help to bring his numbers a bit lower overall and prevent those blue preshots. 7% is pretty high. There's a lot of food out there that is 4% and lower that might be worth trying.
     
  7. Golf2015

    Golf2015 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Sure I'm open for food suggestions

    One major problem will Henry eat it?

    The food Henry is fed now is Fancy Feast Classic Pate Turkey & Giblets Feast Wet Cat Food

    Protein 11%
    Crude fat 5%
    Crude Fiber 1.5%
    Moisture 78%
    Ash 3%

    1.5% is calculated with this formula from on-line ==> http://fnae.org/carbcalorie.html

    Plug those in and you get 1.5% carbs

    This is the food Henry has been fed for the last three months or more
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  8. Golf2015

    Golf2015 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    I tried Tuna (four feedings one per day for four days I have this in the notes highlighted in red) which has no carbs and it did not change his numbers probably because the Turkey and Giblets is 1.5%
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  9. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Sorry, I was confused by your note on each test "Fed 1.6oz of 7% Carb." I assumed the food you are feeding is 7% carb. Ruby used to eat FF Turkey & Giblets and the carb is actually 4.5% (add all of the percentages you listed except for ash and subtract that number from 100 to get net carbs). You could probably find something lower than that though on this list: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...m6PPfEUz9YmzMGMxkmcBk6uRR0/edit#gid=113878384

    A lot of Tiki Cat is 0 carbs as are the Fancy Feast Naturals. But of course it's a question as to whether or not they will be accepted by Henry's discerning palate. :) It might take a while for food changes to make a difference in numbers so maybe stick with it for more than 4 days?
     
  10. Golf2015

    Golf2015 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    No Katherine the 7% is what I got from another on line calculator and I just give up on these calculators because of some many different results so I just stuck with the 7%

    I did not know which figure to use so I chose the highest figure and stuck with it which was 7%
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  11. Golf2015

    Golf2015 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Katherine Thank You for the link

    Hey I looked up Fancy Feast Turkey and Giblets ==> Line 561 and it had the carbs listed as 2%
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  12. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Yes, I saw that too. I thought perhaps this list wasn't very up to date. Cat food manufacturers change formulas all the time. I came to 4.5% from the numbers you listed on the Guaranteed Analysis but it seems that getting carbs percentages is far from a perfect science. I was relieved when I started feeding Ruby food from Weruva because they publish their own data about carb percentages on their website so I never had to figure it out on my own.
     
  13. Golf2015

    Golf2015 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Katherine

    The Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblets under the DRY MATTER FORMULA (excludes the water content in can) is 7%
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  14. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    This is the kind of calculator I suggest you do not use if you only have guaranteed analysis values.
     
  15. Golf2015

    Golf2015 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Correct I got 1.5% too
    But I always round up making it 2%
    So when I was putting in 7% in my postings I had put DMB to be accurate
     
  16. Golf2015

    Golf2015 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Then what would you suggest to use so I can post the correct carbs?
     
  17. Golf2015

    Golf2015 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Chat with Purina about the carbs in Turkey & Giblets Pate

    Info
    at 15:20, Apr 1:
    Welcome to Purina! Please wait for a Pet Advisor to respond. We will be with you momentarily.


    Info
    at 15:20, Apr 1:
    You are now chatting with Thaltal.


    You
    at 15:20, Apr 1:


    What is the % CARBS in Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblets Pate? Name is Robert

    Thaltal
    at 15:20, Apr 1:
    Hi, this is Thaltal. How can I help you today?


    Thaltal
    at 15:21, Apr 1:
    That's a great question. Let me find that for you.


    Thaltal
    at 15:24, Apr 1:
    Guaranteed Analysis for carbs is 1.5%


    You
    at 15:24, Apr 1:


    Thank You

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Golf2015

    Golf2015 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    I plug the % on the back of Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblets Pate into this online calculator

    http://fnae.org/carbcalorie.html

    It calculated 1.5% too
     
  19. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    That’s not the number you should ask for. You need to ask for the as-fed or dry matter basis. The GAs tell you nothing,
     

Share This Page