05/27 Butters PMPS 104/+3 77

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Butters & Lyla, May 27, 2021.

  1. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Last Post

    I'm continuing to hold Butters's dose @ .875u as her numbers have been pretty decent.

    She finished her course of clindamycin on Tuesday, but she continues to scratch and paw around her mouth, and this afternoon I noticed some swelling around an eye. I'm going to try giving her some zyrtec on the off chance that there is also an allergy thing going on.

    I am keeping her on bupe and am waiting to hear back from her vet as to whether he is able to get her cardiologist to squeeze her in sooner for an echo. Otherwise, she has to wait for her appointment in Mid-July. I guess I'll just have to keep her on bupe until then.

    Have a good night, all.
     
    JaxBenji and thebigfuzz like this.
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Gosh I hope your vet is successful. Maybe she needs another round of clindamycin.:bighug::bighug:
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  3. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Yes. How many days of Clindamycin was it? I’m so sorry that she’s not apparently getting better. Does she eat well even though she paws at her mouth? How does she act otherwise? Normal or hiding or lethargic? It’s a good idea to try an antihistamine. You have nothing lose there.

    I can tell you are discouraged. I would be too! I hope things can move more swiftly with the cardiologist and she can hopefully get diagnosed properly.
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  4. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  5. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    It was seven days of clindamycin. She has been eating well for the past few days now, although she spits out any slightly bigger pieces of meat that have to be chewed. I shred the pieces with a knife and then she will eat them. Lol. She is acting pretty lethargic although she is on bupe, which I'm sure doesn't help. And she was restless all night. It is definitely frustrating. I don't really think it is an allergy but I figure it can't hurt to try zyrtec. I think I'm out of ideas after this. Even if she gets in sooner for the echo, she will still need an appointment with the dental specialist. I may just see if her vet will be willing to do the dental himself, as long as she is cleared by the cardiologist.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  6. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    :bighug::bighug::bighug:

    I’m sorry to hear Butters is having facial pain still. Hopefully she is cleared soon!
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  7. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Hugs mama bean and Butters :bighug::bighug::bighug: Cute +3 today :p
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  8. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Lyla, I hope they can figure out what's causing the swelling.
    I hope everything falls into place and you can see the cardiologist sooner and your vet can do the dental.
    :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  9. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Hi Lyla, do you have any Gaba left? Wasn't that what the vet gave you before for the seizure/facial issues? Am I on the wrong page here...could be...I apologize. I'm still trying to get my feet on the ground and figure out what's going on...

    Hope you and Butters are doing ok...although from this post it looks like she's having some other thoughts about all that!
     
  10. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Definitely sounds like a mouth thing. I feel so sorry for her. I know it is hard on you not being able to help her more except to alleviate some discomfort! More hugs!
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.

Share This Page