06/17 Abbott PMPS 288 +3 142 --Big Drop?

AbbottTheCat

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...vated-bg-pre-dental-work.263510/#post-2964234
previous and new member thread

numbers and labs in spreadsheet, signature updated

Let me just start by saying I love all of you for contributing to this fantastic forum!
Also, sorry it's so late but first dose and I'm nervous.

I gave my first ever dose 6/16 at 8pm. I wanted to start at .5 with SLGS but I accidentally gave 1.
I know it could have been worse, and I am 100% certain that I gave 1 and not anything higher. Got that half-marking figured out now...

Is this too big of a drop? Should I be worried? I only have the PMPS +3 test but I could stay up (it's 1 am here and saying I am dead tired would be a huge understatement)

I have nothing to base my worries on other than I have literally no experience in this, just hours upon hours of research here.

I have a hypo kit on hand and plenty of test strips. I am not seeing any worrying clinical symptoms referenced on the sticky. Thoughts?
 
Hi Drew, welcome to the LBL forum. :-) I thought I'd reply ASAP - I have yet to go back and read your first post.

288 to 142 is a big drop. But not anything to panic about. The normal range for blood sugar is 50-100 mg/dl on a human meter, so he is comfortably above normal.
Did he get food between PMPS and +3? Could you feed a spoon of his usual LC food and test at +4?
 
Hey there, thanks for responding, I feel awful about posting so late but I know that sleep is at a premium with a lot of members here, even so, thanks and nice to meet you.

He did not get food between PMPS and +3 other than then the freeze-dried turkey treats I give at testing, so right at +3.
I gave him a few tablespoons of his usual LC at about +4. But As of this writing we have hit +5 on the nose. I could test right now at +5.

Should also mention he destroys his food at dinner time, which is when I gave him the first shot. I know I should be giving smaller meals but I was so exhausted I let him eat it all, he usually does anyway.
 
I am in India so it's noon for me, so don't worry about keeping me up. @Bron and Sheba (GA) is in Australia and we are part of the "night watch" ;)

Did you get a +5?

We use food to "flatten the curve", reduce the diving, which in turn could trigger bouncing. Don't know if you've seen this sticky:
Using Food to Manipulate the Curve


OK, i just tested at +5 and it was 90
Green on the first cycle! Great first reaction to Lantus. Looks like a PJ party on the very first cycle - lucky you! A little more food and test at +6?
 
Last edited:
I am in India so it's noon for me, so don't worry about keeping me up :) @Bron and Sheba (GA) is in Australia and we are part of the "night watch" ;)

Did you get a +5?

We use food to "flatten the curve", reduce the diving, which in turn could trigger bouncing. Don't know if you've seen this sticky:
Using Food to Manipulate the Curve



Green on the first cycle! Great first reaction to Lantus. Looks like a PJ party on the very first cycle - lucky you! A little more food and test at +6?
so like a few tablespoons of his reg LC food? and test at +6? food now or closer to +6? I have fancy feast gravy on hand...
 
Should also mention he destroys his food at dinner time, which is when I gave him the first shot. I know I should be giving smaller meals but I was so exhausted I let him eat it all, he usually does anyway.
Unregulated diabetic cats cannot process their food and are therefore ravenous. Think of insulin like it's a key and on every cell in the body there's a lock. Without the keys, no matter how much food they eat (which breaks down into glucose which is what the cells need to survive), the cells starve. The glucose stays in the bloodstream (which is why the blood glucose is high). As their numbers improve, their appetites also reduce.

We suggest feeding smaller meals through the day and night - easier on the pancreas, flattens the curve and kitty is happy!

really so this is good??? :)
Yes! Our aim is to get him to spend as much time in normal numbers which is when the pancreas heal. For some cats it takes weeks, if not months before they start seeing normal numbers.

so like a few tablespoons of his reg LC food? and test at +6? food now or closer to +6? I have fancy feast gravy on hand...
Just a teaspoon of his regular LC food after every test - especially in "active" cycles is good. You do not want to fill him up. You want him willing to eat every hour or two, if needed.
 
Yes, I gave him a teaspoon of his LC.

Interesting, I have fed him basically a zero carb powder added to protein for about six years now. His treats are single ingredient freeze dried. I have NO idea how he would react to carbs, maybe there is an alternative to carb that I could give to manipulate the curve?

Also, should I be breaking out the hypo kit at this point if I get a low +6.5?
 
nutritional analysis of his food attached
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2022-06-17 at 2.03.58 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-06-17 at 2.03.58 AM.png
    377.5 KB · Views: 121
Do you feed him raw food? People who do, keep some higher carb canned food when they need to feed carbs. Medium carbs (MC) is 10-15% and high carb (HC) is >15% There are some folks who feed raw because their cats have IBS or allergies and they add honey/kro/syrup to raw food to increase the carb%

Also, should I be breaking out the hypo kit at this point if I get a low +6.5?
You need to worry about low numbers only of he drops below 50. Let's see where he is at +6.5. I will be around.
 
Do you feed him raw food? People who do, keep some higher carb canned food when they need to feed carbs. Medium carbs (MC) is 10-15% and high carb (HC) is >15% There are some folks who feed raw because their cats have IBS or allergies and they add honey/kro/syrup to raw food to increase the carb%


You need to worry about low numbers only of he drops below 50. Let's see where he is at +6.5. I will be around.
I feed him a supplemental complete powder that can be used with raw or cooked protein, I use cooked turkey and pork.
I just bought some Fancy Feast gravy lovers chicken and beef feat for my hypo kit, I have four 3oz cans on hand. I don't know if its HC or MC. Is that enough cans?

And I have vanilla Kro in my kit. Also have various honeys. I wouldn't call him IBS or allergic. What would be the healthiest carb option, maybe honey or syrup?
 
I feed him a supplemental complete powder that can be used with raw or cooked protein, I use cooked turkey and pork.
Yes. EZ Complete.

I just bought some Fancy Feast gravy lovers chicken and beef feat for my hypo kit, I have four 3oz cans on hand. I don't know if its HC or MC. Is that enough cans?
You can check carb% here:
https://catinfo.org/chart/index.php

What would be the healthiest carb option, maybe honey or syrup?
Honey/karo bring up the BG a little faster than higher carb food.

How long till the +6.5? Will check-in accordingly.
 
You are good for the night. :-) You can take a break from testing till AMPS. Remember to go back down to 0.5U in the AM.
 
Ok great!! I will go back down to .5u. I have been up for almost 20 hours. Just worn out from the mad dash to get everything together after DX last week.

Is there anyway I can make today easier? Maybe do less testing? What would be the minimum testing I could get away with today?
And if he reads below 150 on AMPS do I still shoot??
 
Ok great!! I will go back down to .5u. I have been up for almost 20 hours. Just worn out from the mad dash to get everything together after DX last week.

Is there anyway I can make today easier? Maybe do less testing? What would be the minimum testing I could get away with today?
And if he reads below 150 on AMPS do I still shoot??
Oh, I guess I could bump up the carbs at AM feeding and could monitor less. and get zzzzzz's
 
You must be exhausted!

Does Abbot not like being poked? Most of us test a couple of times in a cycle. Till you get to know how he responds to insulin - when his onset and nadir are etc. you want to test a little more. Once you know his patterns you can go easy on the testing. With SLGS, it's usually only the preshot tests and a weekly curve - though we do recommend getting spot checks to catch any lows.

From tomorrow, you want to break up his main meal and feed a little at +1 and +2.

If you get a number below 150 at AMPS you might want to skip. For new members who do not have enough data on their cats, we recommend skipping below 150.
 
Good night! You want to start a new thread for tomorrow. The reason we ask for a new thread every day is so that they threads don't become too long to read. Especially in an emergency.
 
Back
Top