07/30 Shmee AMPS 281, +8 142, PMPS 163, +2 191

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda & Shmee

Very Active Member
Previous condo

Good morning everyone,
High AMPS to be expected since I did a NS last night to drain the depot, because the last few days were really starting to make me nervous with how often he was getting the HC. Started back up with 4U this morning, we will see how that goes.

I am really starting to get shaky about our upcoming trip... still haven't figured out what setup we are going to be using for the backseat yet but hoping to get that figured out this week. DH graciously offered to help pay for some things ❤️ which made me happy since I didn't get quite as much of a loan as I was hoping for, so I think I am going to have him pay for the kennel.

I hope everyone's Monday's go by fast :smuggrin:
 
Previous condo

Good morning everyone,
High AMPS to be expected since I did a NS last night to drain the depot, because the last few days were really starting to make me nervous with how often he was getting the HC. Started back up with 4U this morning, we will see how that goes.

I am really starting to get shaky about our upcoming trip... still haven't figured out what setup we are going to be using for the backseat yet but hoping to get that figured out this week. DH graciously offered to help pay for some things ❤️ which made me happy since I didn't get quite as much of a loan as I was hoping for, so I think I am going to have him pay for the kennel.

I hope everyone's Monday's go by fast :smuggrin:
Will be thinking about you guys:bighug:
 
Which one did you get?

The large. Mostly to hold all the pens if we have power out more than 24 hrs. I have yet to travel or take her where she will be away from home at insulin time. Used it the day she had her dental cuz they wanted me to bring it and it was hot out and 40 minute ride each way.

Wish I had it for Smokey, I took him a lot when I had to go to NJ for days at a time.

http://www.frioinsulincoolingcase.com/frio-large.html
 
Amanda,

I've been a bit preoccupied with school and everything else besides and have shamefully missed some of the details here...

How long is the actual trip to get where you are going? Driving or flying?
 
Do you have one of these for the insulin? I have the large one. If I ever lose power for days again I don't have to worry about the insulin being cold. Great for travel as long as you don't pack it in a bag, it must be exposed to air to work.

http://frioinsulincoolingcase.com
Thanks for the suggestion Paula, no I do not. I still have to go over the paper Sarah gave me for traveling with diabetic kitties, I was hoping there would be a suggestion like this for storing the insulin. I was just thinking cooler, but I will look into the cooling cases.

Amanda,

I've been a bit preoccupied with school and everything else besides and have shamefully missed some of the details here...

How long is the actual trip to get where you are going? Driving or flying?
Please don't feel shameful :) you have helped so much, I love your videos, and you have a lot on your plate.
His appointment is August 27th. I will be driving through the night Sunday the 26th, taking him straight to the appointment by 10am. My GPS says it's 7.5 hours away, Dr. McCue @ AMC suggested to allow at least three hours for NYC morning traffic ( :nailbiting::blackeye: ), plus break times, so I was thinking to try and leave here by 10pm? I don't want to get there too early though so still thinking about it and open to suggestions. I have your soft sided crate in my Chewy cart, along with a few other similar ones that I have found. I am bad at making decisions, I analyze too much and I am a true bargain betty, lol. But I should hopefully have decided on one tonight or tomorrow. All the ones I am comparing are just like yours so I should have pretty much the same setup (loved your backseat video of your crate by the way, I think I will do your litterbox idea too).
Dr. McCue said he can be in the hospital for up to a week :(, although he might be able to go home by the weekend if he is doing well. So I booked an AirBNB until Monday September 3rd (checkout Tuesday). I will be staying in the Brooklyn area about 45 minutes away via subway. I got a shared AirBNB, so it has two other rooms that people will probably be in, with shared common areas. So it should be interesting. I really don't mind accommodations like that though, I shared a tiny room when I volunteered in Africa and shared a dorm with seven girls :eek: when I did the Disney College Program, haha. So I am comfortable with it. I actually just got back from the only time I have ever been to NYC a few months ago with my mom (weird timing), so I don't plan on being much of a tourist, plus I can't really spend extra money (other than the Comedy Cellar - I really want to see a show there). I actually just had an interview today and was offered the second job I was hoping for :smuggrin:, so if I accept that job all my time will be doing my online training for that, and visiting my Shmee.
 
Congrats on the second job! Well done. :)

I used the Frio wallet (bought it on ADW) for the plane trip to Colorado. For the car ride I just put the insulin cartridges in their original box, wrapped with a face cloth (could also use bubble wrap) just enough that it didn't move in a tupperware container. Then I put it in a cooler with frozen gel packs. The tupperware/face cloth prevented it from being in direct contact with the cool packs. It was in the 90's during our drive. :eek: I also kept some water and food in the cooler. The Frio wallet I got was the smaller size, enough for a couple pens/cartridges. It fit inside a lunch box size insulated cooler. I had a gel pack in there too, along with other meds that needed to keep cool.

Sleep last night must have felt good. Looks like you'll get more tonight.
 
Congrats on the second job! Well done. :)

I used the Frio wallet (bought it on ADW) for the plane trip to Colorado. For the car ride I just put the insulin cartridges in their original box, wrapped with a face cloth (could also use bubble wrap) just enough that it didn't move in a tupperware container. Then I put it in a cooler with frozen gel packs. The tupperware/face cloth prevented it from being in direct contact with the cool packs. It was in the 90's during our drive. :eek: I also kept some water and food in the cooler. The Frio wallet I got was the smaller size, enough for a couple pens/cartridges. It fit inside a lunch box size insulated cooler. I had a gel pack in there too, along with other meds that needed to keep cool.

Sleep last night must have felt good. Looks like you'll get more tonight.
Thank you, and yes most definitely ;):smuggrin: I was thinking wow I remember what it feels like now to get deep sleep :woot:
 
Thanks for the suggestion Paula, no I do not. I still have to go over the paper Sarah gave me for traveling with diabetic kitties, I was hoping there would be a suggestion like this for storing the insulin. I was just thinking cooler, but I will look into the cooling cases.


Please don't feel shameful :) you have helped so much, I love your videos, and you have a lot on your plate.
His appointment is August 27th. I will be driving through the night Sunday the 26th, taking him straight to the appointment by 10am. My GPS says it's 7.5 hours away, Dr. McCue @ AMC suggested to allow at least three hours for NYC morning traffic ( :nailbiting::blackeye: ), plus break times, so I was thinking to try and leave here by 10pm? I don't want to get there too early though so still thinking about it and open to suggestions. I have your soft sided crate in my Chewy cart, along with a few other similar ones that I have found. I am bad at making decisions, I analyze too much and I am a true bargain betty, lol. But I should hopefully have decided on one tonight or tomorrow. All the ones I am comparing are just like yours so I should have pretty much the same setup (loved your backseat video of your crate by the way, I think I will do your litterbox idea too).
Dr. McCue said he can be in the hospital for up to a week :(, although he might be able to go home by the weekend if he is doing well. So I booked an AirBNB until Monday September 3rd (checkout Tuesday). I will be staying in the Brooklyn area about 45 minutes away via subway. I got a shared AirBNB, so it has two other rooms that people will probably be in, with shared common areas. So it should be interesting. I really don't mind accommodations like that though, I shared a tiny room when I volunteered in Africa and shared a dorm with seven girls :eek: when I did the Disney College Program, haha. So I am comfortable with it. I actually just got back from the only time I have ever been to NYC a few months ago with my mom (weird timing), so I don't plan on being much of a tourist, plus I can't really spend extra money (other than the Comedy Cellar - I really want to see a show there). I actually just had an interview today and was offered the second job I was hoping for :smuggrin:, so if I accept that job all my time will be doing my online training for that, and visiting my Shmee.

This is wonderful news to hear! It really sounds as if you have it all figured out! I could not remember if you were flying or driving and just how long it will take. 7.5 hours is far better than 30, but still a massive task all it own! Has Schmee ever traveled before? I know, even for Pig (a seasoned traveler), the long hours were hard. He got anxious after about 3-4 on the road. I gave him increased doses of Gaba and some Rescue Remedy, but I would consult your vet on the Gaba for sure before giving more than his normal dose. Anything over 10mg/1kg (2.2lbs) - (I think) is considered a sedative dose. I will need to check dosing on that to be sure. However, the right set up and driving at night should help!

You are soooo brave! I would be worried sick about NYC traffic. I know I live in a small town, but that is situational only. I actually move here from Las Vegas and that is BIG, but NYC is still scary. I have never been there, so imagine it is not really anyting like you see on television.

I am also glad to see that you are staying the week there. Being able to visit Schmee in the hospital will not only help you, but him as well. That anxiety is nothing to play with and I know I could not be far from Pig for that long. I can barely leave him for a few hours!

And I do not think making the right choice for you is being bad at decisions. I think it is being wise to what you need and want. And for real, shopping for the best deal is never a bad thing! If you only knew how long it took me to figure out exactly what I was going to use on our trip you would not worry one bit about it! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
You can also if funds permit, get a small or large cooler you can plug into your car. In case motel doesn't have refridge or I've been to a few that didn't even have ice. It helps to have all based covered.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top