08/19 BB PMPS 144 /+2 49 +3.5 71

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Dawnjanell, Aug 19, 2020.

  1. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Previous thread

    BB had her dental today I have another thread started about it here.

    Her PMPS was 144, she ate her usual dinner but 2 hrs later she is at 49. I am feeding and testing but am shocked that she dropped so much so quick.
     
    Briere Fur Mom likes this.
  2. Briere Fur Mom

    Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Give her a lil MC about a tsp. Re-test in 30mins
     
  3. Briere Fur Mom

    Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    You've dealt with low #s a couple times according to your SS. How are you feeling tonight? Confident. I know you're shocked. I would be too. Big moves in 2 hours.
    Did you get a chance to feed her prior to the fasting period...after you picked her up from the dental?
    How's BB acting?
     
  4. Judy and Freckles

    Judy and Freckles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Sometimes when you get an unusual number it's due to a wonky test strip and the best way to be sure is just to get another test right away.
     
    Dawnjanell and Briere Fur Mom like this.
  5. Briere Fur Mom

    Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Thx Judy!! Forgot to mention that;)
     
  6. Briere Fur Mom

    Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    If you can, when you have a chance....change your condo title to include PMPS. Smthg like 8/19 BB PMPS =149 +2=49.That way it'll show the drop from PMPS to +2. Grab peeps attention. Also keep you SS updated so others can quick glance and know what's going on:bighug:

    How ya doing? Did ya happen to follow Judy's advice and get another test just to make sure it wasn't a wonky strip?
     
  7. Briere Fur Mom

    Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Saw the updated SS Nice. Was that 64 after carbs?
     
  8. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    The 64 is after a spoonful of her normal low carb with a drop of gravy from a higher carb mixed in.
     
    Briere Fur Mom likes this.
  9. Briere Fur Mom

    Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Do you know the "protocol" for low #s?
     
  10. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    I am not feeling as confident tonight! I have been up since 4 am so I could give her a little breakfast before the cutoff time, and this is just so early for a low.
     
    Briere Fur Mom likes this.
  11. Briere Fur Mom

    Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Yes it's early in the cycle. Gonna have to stay on top of her.

    Basically the way we handle low #s:
    Got the low#, intervene with the appropriate carb..MC/HC. Re-test in 30 min. If you get a rising # then you can not feed and again test in 30 min to determine if the "funny" business is possibly over.
    I have a feeling BB might have other plans. Paws crossed she doesn't
     
    Dawnjanell likes this.
  12. Briere Fur Mom

    Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    If she is a +6 nadir kitty you may be in for a long night. Gonna have to power through to keep her safe. Hopefully her #s will climb this coming test w/o food.
     
    Dawnjanell likes this.
  13. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Yes I was able to feed her a small meal 2.5 hrs before PMPS and then a full meal again at PMPS.
     
    Briere Fur Mom likes this.
  14. Briere Fur Mom

    Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    BB has earned a reduction in dose tomorrow morning. New dose .75u.

    I was just wondering if the drop was associated from BB eating less today. Good she has an appetite:)
     
    Dawnjanell likes this.
  15. Judy and Freckles

    Judy and Freckles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    sigh.... I'm better at reminding others than I am at reminding myself to do it! lol
     
    Dawnjanell likes this.
  16. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    +5 is her normal nadir, I am sure glad I have tomorrow off as I am sure this is going to be a long night.

    BB is her normal happy camper, purring like crazy, alert, and hungry. She seems to have gotten the peeing under control, so hopefully that was just from the anesthesia.
     
    thebigfuzz and Briere Fur Mom like this.
  17. KittenTheCat

    KittenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2020
    A reduction after a skip! :D Hopefully BB stays away from the sharks so you can get some rest!
     
  18. Judy and Freckles

    Judy and Freckles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    in your remarks section of your SS, you'll want to note what you did so if it this same scenario happens again, you'll be able to recall what you did tonight
     
  19. Briere Fur Mom

    Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    I know BG #s can drop during anesthesia. I wonder if residual anesthesia can have the same effect. Interesting..gonna have to research
     
  20. Briere Fur Mom

    Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    ETA on next test?
    Come on rising #!!!
     
  21. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Thank you both for being here, I had been just enjoying her coasting along and got to relaxed.
     
    Briere Fur Mom likes this.
  22. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Having dentals done can have an impact on longer term BG trends and insulin needs too, if I am remembering correctly.

    Hope the surf goes smoothly!
     
  23. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
  24. Briere Fur Mom

    Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    K one more w/no food in 30 min


    ETA: Should have said one more test w/no food in 30min
     
  25. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Are you certain the vet did not give a shot?

    Kahlua Brownie Sundaes for the human.

    post_1088226.jpg
     
  26. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Yummy I could sure use one about now. The vet told me they did not, and I confirmed again with the vet tech when I picked her up. They did give her some high carb food so possibly that just hadn't worn off yet when I did the PMPS?
     
    Briere Fur Mom likes this.
  27. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    +3.5/ 71
     
    thebigfuzz and Briere Fur Mom like this.
  28. Briere Fur Mom

    Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    K...she's flat. no more rising #. You want to try an hour w/no food or lets get another in 30 min w/no food? Since she hasn't potentially hit nadir you may end up with a dropping # until then. I'd prolly get another in 30 if it were me.
     
  29. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Hi! Looks like BB came up a bit. When you have a moment, are you able to update your thread title so others can also see that BB came up a bit? I hear your nadir is usually +5/+6 and looks like BB sure likes those greens from your SS. What are your thoughts on next test?
     
    Briere Fur Mom likes this.
  30. Briere Fur Mom

    Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Dawn I'm gonna step out. Tanya's going to take over and help support.
    Good luck and sorry you're having a late night. But, you're keeping BB safe!!!:bighug::bighug:

    Thx sooo very much Tanya:bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  31. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    I'm here! :) So Dawn, what have you decided to do next? No food and a +4?
     
  32. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    When you have a moment, are you able to update your thread title so others can also see that BB came up a bit? :bighug:
     
    Red & Rover (GA) and Dawnjanell like this.
  33. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    I'm thinking get the +4 and then feed her since it's her normal second dinner time.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  34. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Sure, sounds like a plan to me!
     
  35. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Looks like +4 may be in just a few mins? :cool:
     
  36. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
  37. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Feeding her normal low carb meal.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  38. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    That's good.....don't feed anymore and test again in 30 minutes....if still stable or higher, test again an hour later and if still good then, you can probably call it a night

    It's fine to let her have her usual +4 meal but you want to keep testing for 2 hours since the last time you had to give anything medium or high carb
     
    Red & Rover (GA) and thebigfuzz like this.
  39. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    I'm sorry I missed this message, was def not ignoring you. I really do appreciate the support!
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  40. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
  41. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Oh yeah....Congrats on the reduction!!!
     
    Red & Rover (GA) likes this.
  42. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Thank you! I am hopeful the dental will help long term towards getting her off the juice.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  43. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Did BB have any extractions today? Or just a nice cleaning? My guys always seemed to need to have extractions every time :eek:
     
  44. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    They often do!! We've seen lots of cats have dentals and then start earning reductions quickly!
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  45. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    They cut one off under the surface, said the root was fused to the bone and would be too much trama to remove. Discovered she was actually missing 4 (I only knew of one) but said she had very little tarter and no signs of infection.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  46. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Glad no signs of infection! Ouch on the one they cut under the surface :confused:
     
  47. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    I posted earlier in the Main forum asking but haven't gotten any responses. Have you guys had any issues with your cats having accidents after a dental? BB peed her bed twice this afternoon, am wondering if it could be from the anesthesia.
     
  48. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    +4.5/ 71
     
  49. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Totally possible....anesthesia can do all kinds of weird things. It should be pretty much out of her system tomorrow
     
  50. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Great!! Now don't feed any more unless she drops below 50 again (and if she does, that 2 hour clock starts over)
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  51. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    I agree that anesthesia can do strange things...I haven't personally had that one. Elie had a very strong personality and would just poop on the floor when he wanted to express his dissatisfaction :facepalm: Luckily, that didn't happen too often! I wish I still had the picture of Elie after one of his dentals...oh man! The look he gave!
     
  52. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    I checked BBs sisters glucose one time 3 months ago and she is still giving me evil looks. BB is the polar opposite purrs like crazy whenever anybody gets near her, the Vet said she even woke up from the dental purring and kneading.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  53. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
  54. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Aww BB :bighug: sounds sweet.

    Just checking on the timing of our next test? I think @Chris & China (GA) suggested a +5.5 above :)

    How are you doing? It must be late there?
     
    Dawnjanell likes this.
  55. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Way to go, BB!!

    I have to get off the computer for tonight but it looks like you're probably over the worst of it. Hopefully she'll surf the rest of the cycle and not bounce to the moon!
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  56. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Nevermind! :facepalm:
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  57. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Are you going to try and get some sleep too @Dawnjanell? I'm here for you as your late night moral support if you need it :)

    What would you like to do?
     
  58. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    It's midnight here.
     
  59. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I always suggest testing for 2 hours from the last time you had to feed anything medium or high carb. I think at +4 she was just feeding regular low carb.

    Glad to see another late night warrior @thebigfuzz
     
  60. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    I had a 4 hr staycation nap LOL.
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  61. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    I want to take BB to bed with me but am nervous about the pee, so I think I will set an alarm and check on her in an hour. Thank you for keeping me company, but I do think she is going to be ok now.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  62. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Are you in Oregon? I'm in Port Moody (Vancouver)
     
  63. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Yes it was just her normal low carb food at +4.
     
  64. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Yes, Willamette Valley.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  65. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Sounds good :) Have a great night! I'll be up till 1pm at least. I need to check Cosmo's +4 to see if he wants to break his bounce tonight :rolleyes:
     
  66. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Port Moody looks absolutely beautiful!
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  67. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    I was reading Cosmos Spreadsheet earlier, realizing I need to be better and keeping notes. That Cosmo sounds like a stinker getting into Jasper's food when you clearly feed him so many yummy snacks.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  68. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    He's been steady on his regimen now, but wow those drops! I was admiring your SS earlier with envy!

    Elie went OTJ pretty fast, but Cosmo is having a hard time regulating. :(
     

Share This Page