1/13 Latte Amps- 208, PMPS- 106

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Very Active Member
Right back on track.

I dont know if anyone can comment on this, but everytime she starts running a flat/higher range and I want to bump her down just a weeeeeee (thats for you pat ;-) ) bit, she pulls a stunt like she did yesterday a.m. OR, she drops down hovering a decrease. Im trying to figure out if Im doing something wrong with my dosing. Other than occassionally letting the tiniest of tiniest bubbles sit in the syringe (we are talking nearly invisible to eyes), I cant see how her doses are inconsistent to cause anything like what we have experienced.

I was considering a very small increase this weekend, but after yesterday a.m. I just dont know what to think! Preshots of 50's, even 80's are really not a safe thing for her. confused_cat

Its good to be back on our normal chaotic, but highly structured morning schedule...she actually gets a little play time, and a rub down from me today, rather than poke after poke. And, Im going to be able to leave the house in certainty that I am fully dressed (not in my pj's):mrgreen:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2276
yesterday

Have a good Monday Everyone!!!!
 
Re: 1/13 Latte Amps- 208

Carolyn & Latte said:
Have a good Monday Everyone!!!!

LOL!! You may be able to leave the house confident of wearing something other than PJs, but you better not go to your Monday appointments since it is Wednesday!!

I doubt you're doing anything wrong with your dosing. If you were, people would comment. It's probably that Latte's pancreas is healing and it sputters and puts out its own insulin in an inconsistent way. Or, her liver sometimes panics as she gets more used to lower numbers -- but only some of the time.
 
Re: 1/13 Latte Amps- 208, +1.5- 124

Definately back on track!

Sienne and Gabby said:
I doubt you're doing anything wrong with your dosing. If you were, people would comment. It's probably that Latte's pancreas is healing and it sputters and puts out its own insulin in an inconsistent way. Or, her liver sometimes panics as she gets more used to lower numbers -- but only some of the time.

Thanks for clarifying, Sienne!
Im guessing that any dose increase I was thinking of for the weekend should just be put aside. Maybe we need to stay here for a lot longer. We have been at this dose quite a while already...seeing strings of days with little or no action, and other days showing very good progress.

Thankfully I have the same assignment all week...now if I were at different schools each day, I may have been in trouble yesterday trying to remember. Or, were you reminding yourself of what day it is? LOL...sometimes it really blends together, doesnt it?
 
Re: 1/13 Latte Amps- 208, +1.5-124

The days do seem to blur some weeks more than others!!

If you're concerned about dose-related issues, ask that Jill, Libby, Cassandra or who ever you think has the best grasp of all that you juggle with Latte take a good look at Latte's SS and do some brainstorming with you.

When will you have all of Latte's labs back? (Or did I miss that?)
 
Re: 1/13 Latte Amps- 208, +1.5-124, +2.25- 102

Sometimes kibble can become a nice safety net when i will be gone all day. Just the little bit she ate right now might help her from going too low later in the cycle.


Sienne and Gabby said:
When will you have all of Latte's labs back? (Or did I miss that?)

I was hoping for a call yesterday. Told to call him today if I had not heard anything. I will do that on the way to work or lunch break.

*poof*
See you all later today!
 
Re: 1/13 Latte Amps- 208, +1.5-124

First of all, your happy Monday wishes really got to me, Latte is confusing enough but when I go to your SS...
you have about 4 days that you showed as 10...which is October..so I got even MORE confused... :lol: Maybe go back and change the 10s into 01s :lol: :lol: :lol:
Actually, I would like to omit yesterday from my life all together...so I wish you had been right that it was Monday... :cry:
Hope someone can come along with some words of advice for Latte...and that you have a good day today!! (Tomorrow is the eve of the New Moon just in case you were wondering....) nailbite_smile
 
Re: 1/13 Latte Amps- 208, +1.5-124

Nice that she recovered so quickly from yesterday!

I know that as much as mornings like yesterday screw up your schedule and comfort zone (preshots in the 50's) - I'll say again, I think it's fantastic! I can't see anything other than her pancrease is sputtering in there to give you a duration like that. That's a good thing!!!
 
Run down:
amps 208
+1.50 124
+2.25 101
+10 150
pmps 106

Quite frankly I was, and still am nervous about the pmps. The pred and insulin seem to be meeting head to head most of the time, w/o her getting as much of a rise, and now dropping a lot late in the pm cycle. I dont worry as much about tonight. Im sure we can handle whatever. I worry tomorrow a.m.

She probably went green today. Who knows for how long. She ate kibble at some point during the day, a different kind than usual (instinct). I dont know if it will have greater, equal, or less effect on her.

I just dont know what to do about the dose. I think Im going to be sitting on it for a while, even if we have days that are high. Some of the lows are just getting way out of my comfort zone when I have to leave. Tomorrow a.m. if she is too low for comfort I will have to shoot a bcs and/or skip again since I work two jobs w/ only 2 hrs inbetween. I have NOO wiggle room for shots tomorrow. If I end up having to do that, then it may be best to decrease her dose all together for Friday... until I can be home all weekend. I dont even know if that is wise to decrease a dose for a day?!!. I really dont. I want to shoot these lower numbers. But I feel like i need to be home the first few times. She does not seem to cooperate with her timing and my schedule! Anything we can do about that?!?! :lol:

These are really great numbers, and a fantastic come back from yesterdays missed shot. Im SUPER proud of her and dont want to ruin any progress. I guess Im mostly frustrated with myself....lack of knowledge? Lack of courage? A combination?

Latte is good. I have an update from her specialist on this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=29&t=2223&p=20401#p20401
Will be starting treatment for metabolic acidosis, IF she complies with taking it. She has some very abnormally high liver enzymes, as well. I will have to set an appt for later in the month to recheck some values and get a more full idea of tx plan.

Odd Note:
Ive noticed a lump on latte's tail the last few weeks. I never said anything because I didnt want her vet or anyone else to think Im as paranoid as I am. Well, as i was rubbing her tail today I noticed a chunk of hair come out...the lump...GIGANTIC mat!!!!!! And she does not even have long hair! Brushing her tail was very painful, but when all was said and done I couldnt believe she had any hair left! Sooooooooo much loose hair and mats. I felt terrible. Now she is kind of mad at me :roll:
 
Please don't be too frustrated with yourself. Lack of courage/knowledge? I don't think so. As I am more conservative than most, I appreciate your concerns, but I will leave it to others to advise as to how aggressive you can be and still stay close to your comfort zone. I am baffled by all of the metabolic acidosis stuff, but it sounds like you are getting some good input on your thread. I hope you have some success with the treatment.

Loose hair ... possibly due to steroids?
 
Nice cycle for Latte today!
And pretty blue PMPS :RAHCAT

Hope her tail is ok, keep us posted
Have a good nite Carolyn :)
 
Hi Carolyn!
So nice to hear that Latte is feeling well.. seems like you are right on top of her care. Her SS is looking very nice!
I am so impressed how you are able to juggle everything that is going on with her.. She is a lucky kitty !

Thanks for asking about Pepper's awesomeness :mrgreen:
Wow... it has been about a year of pretty consistent numbers! I didn't even realize how time flys.. We are blessed!
2 year dx is at the end of this month.. We tried the DM diet w/o insulin for 2 1/2 months at time of diagnosis..
I wish I would have requested insulin right off the bat.. Oh what we know now and didn't know then.. lol!

Hope that you and Latte are having a great evening..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top