Re: 1/15 Slashy PMPS 163 Never mind. Giving 4
Slashy & Rick said:
Not waiting any more. Giving him 4, testing at around +2 or 3
Hi Rick,
Sorry you haven't gotten a lot of responses today, everyone must be busy
I just got around to looking at your SS, and was not aware you are a high doser. I have some things to help you with, and also some questions.
1. We normally recommend not to completely skip a shot during a pancreatic attack, however, based on the information you had and the working schedule you have, you made the same decision I would have made in your situation. Next time, just shoot half. The pancreas is as its weakest during pancreatitis and really needs the insulin to prevent ketones/dka. With the fluids I read about in your yesterday's condo, his numbers should come down, so by morning you with either find him at a decent number or pretty high due to the reduced shed. My advice for tomorrow morning is if you find him at a decent number (75-200) give him 1/2 dose. If you find him higher, repeat the 4u.
2. Are you going to be continuing fluids at home? If not, I recommend you talk to your vet about it. It's easy to do and is tremendously helpful to be able to give fluids throughout the attack. I know you have a heart (cardiomyopathy) kitty, I do too, so you do have to be very careful with giving them fluids. My vet recommends only to give 50cc at a time or so, but you will need to talk to your vet and decide if it's the right thing for your kitty. Pancreatitis is a chronic thing and it's best to be prepared to treat it at home because it's both more economical and easier on the cat. Here's a great read on pancreatitis and what it will mean to you.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/read.php?8,876722,876722 (page will load slowly) I had a pancreatic cat, and he had several flares, usually 1 every month or 2. I see you've got an arsenal of meds, and I think that's a great thing. Your vet has really hooked you up
Now to my questions..
1. does he eat any dry food?
2. why is his dose so high? does he have another condition causing it? has he been tested for any of the conditions known to cause higher doses?
3. noticed you said in yesterday's condo he'd lost weight. this is not necessarily a bad thing. we may think our cats are average or normal when really they are overweight, so he might be headed for a better weight for him. if he's starting to look bony, or lose muscle, that could indicate a problem. dr lisa's site has a great writeup on what a cat should actually look like, for those of us who are challenged LOL
http://www.catinfo.org
I think I have probably stressed you out enough LOL I will add you to my list of kitties to check. Nice to meet you and slashy! I'm very glad to see your vet's proactive response to the pancreatitis dx.
..Carolyn