1/17 Ivy Amps 400, +3 288, +6 273, +8 292, +10 266, Pmps 245, +2 202, +3 126

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...8-10-287-pmps-323-2-199-3-5-106-libre.285680/
Amps 400
Oof, really cat???? Red, whyyyyyy?? :(

Good morning. Sure hope she slides down gently today. Oof.
I’m home to monitor but have an appointment this afternoon. She usually is stable by then, around +9.
The new auto feeder arrived. Will set it up and run a trial with remote capabilities. :joyful:Very excited. (The things that now excite me, ways to keep kitty safe!!)
Safe surfing to all. Stay warm :cat:
 
Hi Staci :)

I wonder if it's a bounce. She had such a beautiful stretch of flat and she's not used to be flat.
I hope Ivy comes down quickly. She's become quite good at cleaning bounces more quickly.
I can feel your excitement for the new machine. I totally understand your enthusiasm. Anything to support or furrbabies.
Wishing you a wonderful day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci :)

I wonder if it's a bounce. She had such a beautiful stretch of flat and she's not used to be flat.
I hope Ivy comes down quickly. She's become quite good at cleaning bounces more quickly.
I can feel your excitement for the new machine. I totally understand your enthusiasm. Anything to support or furrbabies.
Wishing you a wonderful day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Shelly. I would assume it’s a bounce, too. She’s a very bouncy cat for sure. Just can’t seem to figure out how to calm down the extremes. I know some cats just bounce until they don’t.

I know it’s a good indicator that at least she clears bounces quickly. So that’s something positive. Just more work to be done to better manage her cycles.
Enjoy the day, Shelly, Fistuk & Prince :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Good morning Staci!
I know the sinking feeling with the high bounce. But like you said, Ivy is getting very good at clearing it quickly.
She will come down. Gently though, Ivy, you hear me?
The things that now excite me,
:joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful: I totally get it!
Things I look up at Amazon nowadays are 80% cat things! (19% my stuff, 1% DH :smuggrin::smuggrin::smuggrin:)

Hope it warms up a bit by the time you have to go out! Stay warm!!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning Staci!
I know the sinking feeling with the high bounce. But like you said, Ivy is getting very good at clearing it quickly.
She will come down. Gently though, Ivy, you hear me?

:joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful: I totally get it!
Things I look up at Amazon nowadays are 80% cat things! (19% my stuff, 1% DH :smuggrin::smuggrin::smuggrin:)

Hope it warms up a bit by the time you have to go out! Stay warm!!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Omg same. My DH keep saying to me “now what did you order”?? And of course I say “it’s for Ivy not me” and the truth is ….that’s the reality. You should see the list of past purchases. It’s all cat crap. Lol. :p:p
Like how many auto feeders do you need, he said. Well… I keep trying to find the perfect one for all of her needs. Lol. She’s a high maintenance kind of girl.
It’s gonna stay bitter today, so I will bundle up even though I have to just get in the car. :)
 
Morning!

I’ve been watching Ivy from afar. Here’s what I see:
1/15 great PM cycle with really nice duration through the cycle
1/16 the BG went up after AMPS because she was done with the shot from the night before but then she onset and came down; however, the bounce was just too much for her at that point. Looks like she tried to clear it last night but wobbled.
1/17: perhaps that 400 is a high before the break but she’s not coming down very fast (which is good because if the bounce does break, we want it to be less dramatic).

Are you still trying the roll method?
 
Morning!

I’ve been watching Ivy from afar. Here’s what I see:
1/15 great PM cycle with really nice duration through the cycle
1/16 the BG went up after AMPS because she was done with the shot from the night before but then she onset and came down; however, the bounce was just too much for her at that point. Looks like she tried to clear it last night but wobbled.
1/17: perhaps that 400 is a high before the break but she’s not coming down very fast (which is good because if the bounce does break, we want it to be less dramatic).

Are you still trying the roll method?
Hi Marje, thanks for keeping a close watch on us and explaining what’s been going on cause I’ve been trying to figure it out myself to no avail.
it has been a couple weird cycles the past several days. And yes, she is slowly coming down today. I do wonder if it’s the high before she comes crashing down. I keep wondering why her duration seems to vary from cycle to cycle.
I have been trying to do the roll method most times since we spoke about it. Still trying to get comfortable with it, but I am trying to use it in hopes that it will make a difference.

Anything else you think I should be trying to tweak her cycles and keep duration more consistent ?:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Marje, thanks for keeping a close watch on us and explaining what’s been going on cause I’ve been trying to figure it out myself to no avail.
it has been a couple weird cycles the past several days. And yes, she is slowly coming down today. I do wonder if it’s the high before she comes crashing down. I keep wondering why her duration seems to vary from cycle to cycle.
I have been trying to do the roll method most times since we spoke about it. Still trying to get comfortable with it, but I am trying to use it in hopes that it will make a difference.

Anything else you think I should be trying to tweak her cycles and keep duration more consistent ?:bighug::bighug::bighug:
It’s been a norm here that if an insulin isn’t working well for a kitty after 6-12 mos, there might be a benefit to switching insulins and I’ve seen that help many times. As I mentioned another time, the one thing that really was a game changer for Gracie’s issues with duration was the switch to Levemir.

Unfortunately, the makers of Levemir (which IMHO is the best insulin), are discontinuing it and we are losing a valuable tool in our toolboxes not just for cats with duration issues but also for high-dose cats because Lev doesn’t sting.

Let’s see how she does today and the next few cycles with you rolling the skin to shoot.
 
It’s been a norm here that if an insulin isn’t working well for a kitty after 6-12 mos, there might be a benefit to switching insulins and I’ve seen that help many times. As I mentioned another time, the one thing that really was a game changer for Gracie’s issues with duration was the switch to Levemir.

Unfortunately, the makers of Levemir (which IMHO is the best insulin), are discontinuing it and we are losing a valuable tool in our toolboxes not just for cats with duration issues but also for high-dose cats because Lev doesn’t sting.

Let’s see how she does today and the next few cycles with you rolling the skin to shoot.
Do you feel the insulin isn't working for her?
I did know that the Levimir is being discontinued :(
I didn't really know I should have been considering a switch to Levimir before this. :(
(Bad timing for me and Ivy)
 
Do you feel the insulin isn't working for her?
I did know that the Levimir is being discontinued :(
I didn't really know I should have been considering a switch to Levimir before this. :(
(Bad timing for me and Ivy)
It’s not that it isn’t working but is it what would work best for Ivy? I didn’t know what would work best for Gracie until I switched her. Some members have switched insulins only to find the second didn’t work as well as the first but, in general, those that switched to Lev were very happy they did.

I haven’t heard for certain if they are discontinuing it in Canada and, if they don’t, it could be an option to get it from Mark’s Marine Pharmacy. Perhaps @Wendy&Neko has heard about Levemir’s status in Canada.
 
It’s not that it isn’t working but is it what would work best for Ivy? I didn’t know what would work best for Gracie until I switched her. Some members have switched insulins only to find the second didn’t work as well as the first but, in general, those that switched to Lev were very happy they did.

I haven’t heard for certain if they are discontinuing it in Canada and, if they don’t, it could be an option to get it from Mark’s Marine Pharmacy. Perhaps @Wendy&Neko has heard about Levemir’s status in Canada.
Do you think I should get a script and try it? Then if so I would need to know what to expect and dosing and all the things I would need to know. I’m completely unfamiliar with Levemir and how to work with it, etc.
Does anyone know what the pricing is and if you can use the $35 coupon on the Novo site and how that works? Is it similar to the $35 coupon for Lantus that I’ve been able to get to work at my CVS pharmacy? I’m completely in uncharted territory here,
 
Do you think I should get a script and try it? Then if so I would need to know what to expect and dosing and all the things I would need to know. I’m completely unfamiliar with Levemir and how to work with it, etc.
Does anyone know what the pricing is and if you can use the $35 coupon on the Novo site and how that works? Is it similar to the $35 coupon for Lantus that I’ve been able to get to work at my CVS pharmacy? I’m completely in uncharted territory here,
Deep breath first. :) We need to find out if it’s being discontinued in Canada.

How much Lantus do you have left?
 
Deep breath first. :) We need to find out if it’s being discontinued in Canada.

How much Lantus do you have left?
I’m good with Lantus. I have that in the house. Is Levemir not available in the states right now? I was wondering if I could get it and try to stockpile a little bit.
 
I’m good with Lantus. I have that in the house. Is Levemir not available in the states right now? I was wondering if I could get it and try to stockpile a little bit.
I just read the Flexpen in the US will experience “supply disruption” by this month and complete discontinuation by Apr 1, 2024. As Wendy said, vials available until Dec 31, 2024.

I’m on my way to an appointment but will be back later to give you some info on Levemir, it’s cycles, how to use, etc.
 
I just read the Flexpen in the US will experience “supply disruption” by this month and complete discontinuation by Apr 1, 2024. As Wendy said, vials available until Dec 31, 2024.

I’m on my way to an appointment but will be back later to give you some info on Levemir, it’s cycles, how to use, etc.
Ok great, thank you, Marje
 
Hello Staci and Ivy
I missed all the meowning activities due to worn but it looks like I'm all caught up.
Sorry to see our sweet Ivy started her day way up in the clouds. Hopefully the PM cycles looks better.

And yay so excited about the new feeder. Which one did you end up getting? Keep us posted whether it works well.

upload_2024-1-17_17-45-34.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-1-17_17-45-34.png
    upload_2024-1-17_17-45-34.png
    195.7 KB · Views: 293
Hello Staci and Ivy
I missed all the meowning activities due to worn but it looks like I'm all caught up.
Sorry to see our sweet Ivy started her day way up in the clouds. Hopefully the PM cycles looks better.

And yay so excited about the new feeder. Which one did you end up getting? Keep us posted whether it works well.

View attachment 68820
Very cute pic, Karolina. Sorry you had such a busy day. I hope you can relax tonight!
Ivy was up in the clouds this morning. Maybe you saw her from a flight?? Did you work in the clouds today?
Maybe she can visit Nestle at the beach for a late night swim?
I hope not too late, though. Mom needs a bit of sleep. Unlike my princess, who naps in her fluffy bed all day.
If I had to guess, I think after such a flat cycle she should get busy tonight. Stay tuned.
Safe surfing and a cozy evening to all of you :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Oh… I got the petite donuts wifi feeder. I will try to set it up and test it Tomorrow if I can find a smidge of time. I’ll definitely let everyone know what I think! :)
 
Miss Stubborn does not want to clear her bounce today!!

Ok...thanks for your patience. Levemir, like Lantus, is a depot insulin although the way it works is a bit different. No need to get into the weeds on that right now. It’s a really great insulin for duration in many cats but, of course, ECID. What you need to know about Levemir is that it doesn’t onset until about +4 and nadirs +8 to +10 but, again, ECID. Gracie often nadired at +13 - +15. That meant I not only had to learn to shoot low to stay low (never below 50) but I also had to deal with her carryover and overlap so one dose would carry over into the next cycle and the cycles could overlap so she would nadir from the morning shot, let’s say, and then immediately onset from the evening one. Now, she didn’t do this all the time but she definitely could do it often. It was such an improvement over lantus where Dr. Lisa told me that Gracie often had “BIPO” which is “big insulin poop out” which is loss of duration.

When we switch from Lantus to Levemir, we back the dose off so the first Levemir dose is 80% of what the Lantus dose was. Some cats switching from Lantus to Levemir have a very, very active first cycle. Gracie did not but we always err on the side of caution because we can quickly move the dose back up to what the Lantus dose was if we need to.

CGs must consider whether their lifestyle is conducive to such a different curve. I would think with the Libre, it would be very helpful as you could grab some sleep and the meter would let you know if she was dropping lower around those later nadirs. You will also have to learn to change her feeding schedule some because AMPS, +1, +2, +3 are at the end of the previous cycle; most of us still feed/fed at AMPS but then I would feed at +2, +3, +5, +6 unless she had a really active cycle.

You might want to check out Gracie’s SS (she was on Levemir starting in mid 2011), Neko’s SS (she was acro), and Christie’s Maverick is still FD and on levemir. As you move around the LBL board, take a look at signature blocks and see who else might be on it.

If you haven’t read this in a while on the depot, it’s got some info about Levemir. You’ll note that it discuss duration and absorption and, on the latter, talks briefly about absorption can vary based on insulin, dose, where you shoot, how you shoot, etc. I haven’t asked before but do you rotate her shot site every shot? I had six locations where I gave Gracie insulin. In the mornings, I always shot right side and evenings I shot left side. On each side, I would rotate between chest, side, and closer to the flank in the subq layer.

The other thing you should consider is availability of the insulin. Will it continue to be available in Canada? @Christie & Maverick
If it won’t be, are you using enough to be able to use the vial? After December of next year, which insulin will you use if Levemir is no longer available in Canada.
 
Miss Stubborn does not want to clear her bounce today!!

Ok...thanks for your patience. Levemir, like Lantus, is a depot insulin although the way it works is a bit different. No need to get into the weeds on that right now. It’s a really great insulin for duration in many cats but, of course, ECID. What you need to know about Levemir is that it doesn’t onset until about +4 and nadirs +8 to +10 but, again, ECID. Gracie often nadired at +13 - +15. That meant I not only had to learn to shoot low to stay low (never below 50) but I also had to deal with her carryover and overlap so one dose would carry over into the next cycle and the cycles could overlap so she would nadir from the morning shot, let’s say, and then immediately onset from the evening one. Now, she didn’t do this all the time but she definitely could do it often. It was such an improvement over lantus where Dr. Lisa told me that Gracie often had “BIPO” which is “big insulin poop out” which is loss of duration.

When we switch from Lantus to Levemir, we back the dose off so the first Levemir dose is 80% of what the Lantus dose was. Some cats switching from Lantus to Levemir have a very, very active first cycle. Gracie did not but we always err on the side of caution because we can quickly move the dose back up to what the Lantus dose was if we need to.

CGs must consider whether their lifestyle is conducive to such a different curve. I would think with the Libre, it would be very helpful as you could grab some sleep and the meter would let you know if she was dropping lower around those later nadirs. You will also have to learn to change her feeding schedule some because AMPS, +1, +2, +3 are at the end of the previous cycle; most of us still feed/fed at AMPS but then I would feed at +2, +3, +5, +6 unless she had a really active cycle.

You might want to check out Gracie’s SS (she was on Levemir starting in mid 2011), Neko’s SS (she was acro), and Christie’s Maverick is still FD and on levemir. As you move around the LBL board, take a look at signature blocks and see who else might be on it.

If you haven’t read this in a while on the depot, it’s got some info about Levemir. You’ll note that it discuss duration and absorption and, on the latter, talks briefly about absorption can vary based on insulin, dose, where you shoot, how you shoot, etc. I haven’t asked before but do you rotate her shot site every shot? I had six locations where I gave Gracie insulin. In the mornings, I always shot right side and evenings I shot left side. On each side, I would rotate between chest, side, and closer to the flank in the subq layer.

The other thing you should consider is availability of the insulin. Will it continue to be available in Canada? @Christie & Maverick
If it won’t be, are you using enough to be able to use the vial? After December of next year, which insulin will you use if Levemir is no longer available in Canada.
Oh boy. That’s a lot to consider. First off is availability.

I feed at 6am/6pm:
The pm cycle concerns me most I think.
So the onset at +4. (10 pm for me when I’m falling asleep). Then nadir at +8 to +10 (so 2 am to 4 am). I would assume she could drop low as she could on Lantus.
Yikes.
How do you feed at all those additional times you mentioned? (are they small mini meals?)

And I can’t fathom that overlap and how do you manage that?
To be honest, this sounds even more difficult than a Lantus cycle.
(Scary to me). And is there enough support on Forum to get help with Levemir? (I don’t see too many people using it)

How do you sleep if onset is so late and they are dropping at that point and just beginning an active cycle at that late hour (for me would be 10 pm) ?
I don’t know that I could really be up that late into the night. I had no idea the schedule would be so much more difficult to manage :(

I do try to move her injection sites around a little. I shoot left in am and right in pm. I try to move sites around a bit. But she doesn’t like the flank area. She got very upset when I tried that area. I’ve never tried her chest but I think that wouldn’t go very well either.

So from what I’m reading, I just don’t know how I could manage this type of schedule. And it’s only me doing all the caregiving so it’s rough.
Am I missing something that would make this a manageable way to treat her. I had hoped it could be a solution but it seems overwhelming to me. (As you know I’m not thrilled with her lack of success on Lantus).
:( :(
Thanks for the primer in Levemir. (I will keep thinking if it could be a solution or not). At the moment I can’t imaging this type of schedule by myself. :(
 
Very cute pic, Karolina. Sorry you had such a busy day. I hope you can relax tonight!
Ivy was up in the clouds this morning. Maybe you saw her from a flight?? Did you work in the clouds today?
Maybe she can visit Nestle at the beach for a late night swim?
I hope not too late, though. Mom needs a bit of sleep. Unlike my princess, who naps in her fluffy bed all day.
If I had to guess, I think after such a flat cycle she should get busy tonight. Stay tuned.
Safe surfing and a cozy evening to all of you :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Oh… I got the petite donuts wifi feeder. I will try to set it up and test it Tomorrow if I can find a smidge of time. I’ll definitely let everyone know what I think! :)


Maybe Ivy was so high this meowning cause she heard I was working hehe. Unfortunately today I was at my PT job on the ground.

I wish both of you a relaxing and peaceful night :cat::bighug:
 
Oh boy. That’s a lot to consider. First off is availability.

I feed at 6am/6pm:
The pm cycle concerns me most I think.
So the onset at +4. (10 pm for me when I’m falling asleep). Then nadir at +8 to +10 (so 2 am to 4 am). I would assume she could drop low as she could on Lantus.
Yikes.
How do you feed at all those additional times you mentioned? (are they small mini meals?)

And I can’t fathom that overlap and how do you manage that?
To be honest, this sounds even more difficult than a Lantus cycle.
(Scary to me). And is there enough support on Forum to get help with Levemir? (I don’t see too many people using it)

How do you sleep if onset is so late and they are dropping at that point and just beginning an active cycle at that late hour (for me would be 10 pm) ?
I don’t know that I could really be up that late into the night. I had no idea the schedule would be so much more difficult to manage :(

I do try to move her injection sites around a little. I shoot left in am and right in pm. I try to move sites around a bit. But she doesn’t like the flank area. She got very upset when I tried that area. I’ve never tried her chest but I think that wouldn’t go very well either.

So from what I’m reading, I just don’t know how I could manage this type of schedule. And it’s only me doing all the caregiving so it’s rough.
Am I missing something that would make this a manageable way to treat her. I had hoped it could be a solution but it seems overwhelming to me. (As you know I’m not thrilled with her lack of success on Lantus).
:( :(
Thanks for the primer in Levemir. (I will keep thinking if it could be a solution or not). At the moment I can’t imaging this type of schedule by myself. :(
Don’t stress over it because it is a bit more challenging for people who work but it also depends on how the kitty responds to it. Like I said, Gracie didn’t have those really long cycles all the time. I tried to feed her at night so I could sleep in 90 min intervals but I had Mike helping me so there were nights I could get solid sleep. I did feed her mini meals so she wasn’t getting any more food on Levemir than she was getting on Lantus.

Yes there’s support her in LBL for Levemir users.

I’d suggest you look at Maverick’s SS because Christie works full-time and did this alone (Mav is in remission right now). She would be a better person to address those aspects of it.

As long as you are moving injection sites around, you aren’t building up scar tissue.
 
Don’t stress over it because it is a bit more challenging for people who work but it also depends on how the kitty responds to it. Like I said, Gracie didn’t have those really long cycles all the time. I tried to feed her at night so I could sleep in 90 min intervals but I had Mike helping me so there were nights I could get solid sleep. I did feed her mini meals so she wasn’t getting any more food on Levemir than she was getting on Lantus.

Yes there’s support her in LBL for Levemir users.

I’d suggest you look at Maverick’s SS because Christie works full-time and did this alone (Mav is in remission right now). She would be a better person to address those aspects of it.

As long as you are moving injection sites around, you aren’t building up scar tissue.
Gracie didn’t have those really long cycles all the time.
What are long cycles?

Although I try to move the injections around, I’m quite sure there’s scar tissue. :(


I’d suggest you look at Maverick’s SS because Christie works full-time and did this alone
I’ll reach out to Christie to see if she has any thoughts or pointers on how to handle a schedule like this. Good idea :)

Just at a glance, though, it seems quite difficult. I have a hard time with the Lantus cycles, some nights not going to sleep until 1 am, although less of those lately…and I get up at 5:30 am every day to prep food /feed and shoot by 6 am. It’s tough (but everyone has a tough schedule around here so I’m not alone). No pity party here.
:)
 
@Christie & Maverick Do you have any suggestions for how to manage a Levemir schedule for an only caregiver (me). We are discussing a possible switch to Lev for Ivy since we can’t seem to get her in better regulation and her duration seems to be a problem.
I just can’t fathom how to handle the late onset at night especially and the very late (middle of night) nadirs. I have no idea how I could handle that all alone.
Can you weigh in with ideas? :)
 
I was not an only caregiver for Neko, but mostly the only one. DH would do some testing and shots if I needed to be away, but it was 90% me. I loved Levemir for a couple reasons. Neko did have a late onset, closer to +5, and her nadir tended to be in the +9 to +12 range. I loved nadirs at preshot, because I was always home and awake for then.:) The late onset gave me my social life back. I could shoot and head out the door for dinner with friends or go to a movie. Typically I did not stay up until onset at night. I went to bed between +3 and +4. But I found that by looking at what Neko did between +9 of the AM cycle and PMPS, and a before bed test (+3 or +4), I could figure out what she was going to do while I was in bed and could set an alarm if needed. As it turns out, 4 times of the week I get up at PM+9 for my workout, so I'd test her as I got changed and ready to go. I'd be back by AMPS time, and often did a couple hours snooze after AMPS. The other thing I really loved was that Neko was a lot flatter on Levemir. Instead of napping and getting up in the wee hours to test her every hour if she was dropping, I could go to three hour stretches.

Oberon is another Lev user, also Cali, as is Jodey's Eddie. If you are looking at spreadsheets. Eddie is "complicated" - a couple different treatments for acromegaly so lots of things in play.
 
Hi Staci, Max is also on Levemir. We switched early on because Max was on a high dose due to his condition, and Lantus stings at very high doses, at least it did with Max. I’ve seen that a lot of cats on Levemir do have flatter cycles here. Max still had some diving even after starting Levemir, but he’s also a bit different. His diving and bouncing was driving me crazy at one point so I tried feeding more carbs early in his cycle, trying to catch when the drop occurred before he dropped too much. He still did it for a while no matter what. I pretty much have learned now, how to predict what he’s going to do (most of the time anyway). I think it’s like Marje said, it just depends on how Ivy reacts to it and what works for you. I’m the only caregiver for Max too, and it took me a while to realize that I also had to take care of myself. I think it may become hard to get Levemir towards the end of the year. We got cartridges instead of pens this last time we ordered because they weren’t available anymore. Not sure how long those will be available so that’s something to consider while you’re deciding. Sending you best wishes on whatever you decide to do.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
15 hours duration. It, again, it didn’t happen often and when it did, it was usually a long a.m. cycle.

Wendy has given you some good info as well. I’d look at the SSs she mentioned and discuss with those CGs how they like using Levemir.
Got it. Thanks For explaining that. I agree. Wendy noted many good points. I will reach out to get others thoughts as well :)

You'll be happy to know that Ivy certainly broke her bounce last night and she’s having an extremely active cycle this morning. :smuggrin:
At half past +3 now she’s 45 on Libre. A very different day than yesterday!
 
Hi Staci, Max is also on Levemir. We switched early on because Max was on a high dose due to his condition, and Lantus stings at very high doses, at least it did with Max. I’ve seen that a lot of cats on Levemir do have flatter cycles here. Max still had some diving even after starting Levemir, but he’s also a bit different. His diving and bouncing was driving me crazy at one point so I tried feeding more carbs early in his cycle, trying to catch when the drop occurred before he dropped too much. He still did it for a while no matter what. I pretty much have learned now, how to predict what he’s going to do (most of the time anyway). I think it’s like Marje said, it just depends on how Ivy reacts to it and what works for you. I’m the only caregiver for Max too, and it took me a while to realize that I also had to take care of myself. I think it may become hard to get Levemir towards the end of the year. We got cartridges instead of pens this last time we ordered because they weren’t available anymore. Not sure how long those will be available so that’s something to consider while you’re deciding. Sending you best wishes on whatever you decide to do.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Lori, thanks for letting me know. I don’t think I realized you use Lev.
I know the availability will be an issue. Where do you buy Lev, locally or Canada?
I’m concerned about the cycle and when they would onset and nadir. The whole middle of the night cycle is an issue for me since I work and can’t take a nap after being up at those times through the night. I think that’s my biggest concern. :bighug::bighug:
 
Typically I did not stay up until onset at night. I went to bed between +3 and +4. But I found that by looking at what Neko did between +9 of the AM cycle and PMPS, and a before bed test (+3 or +4), I could figure out what she was going to do while I was in bed and could set an alarm if needed.
Hi Wendy, thanks so much your detailed explanation. It’s very helpful to know how the cycle worked for you and Neko.
As I mentioned, since I feed at 6 AM and p.m. onset at +5 would be 11 PM and then we’re talking middle of the night for nadirs. Being that I work, and cannot go back and take a nap after Amps.

I just can’t figure out how I would be able to function having to be up through the night routinely at certain points.
This is tricky to try to figure out! :banghead:
I just wish I felt that Lantus was better for Ivy in terms of duration, less extreme bouncing. :(
 
Hi Lori, thanks for letting me know. I don’t think I realized you use Lev.
I know the availability will be an issue. Where do you buy Lev, locally or Canada?
I’m concerned about the cycle and when they would onset and nadir. The whole middle of the night cycle is an issue for me since I work and can’t take a nap after being up at those times through the night. I think that’s my biggest concern. :bighug::bighug:

I’ve been buying from Canada. I understand your concerns about onset and monitoring when you have to sleep. But Max has (for the most part) always had an early onset on Levemir. I know that’s probably not typical, but that’s what we’ve always experienced. I don’t know if there are any other cats here who have experienced the same.
 
I’ve been buying from Canada. I understand your concerns about onset and monitoring when you have to sleep. But Max has (for the most part) always had an early onset on Levemir. I know that’s probably not typical, but that’s what we’ve always experienced. I don’t know if there are any other cats here who have experienced the same.
How early is his onset? And his nadir times?
 
Sorry, been off the board for a bit, juggling some unwell fur crew, aMing other things, so am just trying to catch up. On the question of Lev and its availability in Canada, nothing was available on Novo-Nordisk Canada website but there was on the mynovolinsulin.com site and some news reporting like Reuters. I am still in research mode :bookworm:. If I understand correctly, it is being discontinued in the US market, with supply chain disruptions likely early this year and pens being phased out by April and then vials by the end of the year. What is not clear is whether it will still be available in the Canadian market, which might mean still being able to source it via a Canadian distributor. I am planning on talking to my pharmacist about what she has heard, but it is a concern if it becomes completely discontinued.

I have been using the pen fills for Mav, so with hopefully a new refill here shortly, they would technically last over a year unless they get past the expiration date. I spoke to my vet about Tresiba, that would be my next choice I think. She wanted to talk to a few other vets, but considering it was my suggestion to start Lev in the first place, I think she would accommodate me if I asked to try it.

As for patterns on Lev, well I’d say I felt like a newbie all over again when we started it, since it was important for me to get a feel for new onsets and nadirs, but I truly felt for us it gave me a greater sense of predictability albeit he would still find opportunities to surprise me with later nadirs sometimes into +14 or +15. It did force me to shoot lower preshots, since I also often had nadirs around +10 through preshot so when I could get those spot checks of +10 or +11 they helped. I gave myself a buffer of about 1 1/2 hours from preshot to when I left for work, so depending on the preshot, I’d get an out the door test, and would put in higher LC in the autofeeder if necessary to prop him up by when he onset.

PM cycles were the easiest since I could still catch a good before bed test around +5 and decide if another test was needed, but again the autofeeder helped a great deal. As Wendy mentioned anything in that +3 to +5 range gave me a good idea whether I might want to catch another test later.

Mav still bounces on Lev but I would say not as badly as he did on Lantus. Like Marie’s Gracie, Maverick did not have an immediate strong reaction when we switched the L insulins and we ended up getting to around where we were for dosing with Lantus.
 
Last edited:
Sorry, been off the board for a bit, juggling some unwell fur crew, aMing other things, so am just trying to catch up. On the question of Lev and its availability in Canada, nothing was available on Novo-Nordisk Canada website but there was on the mynovolinsulin.com site and some news reporting like Reuters. I am still in research mode :bookworm:. If I understand correctly, it is being discontinued in the US market, with supply chain disruptions likely early this year and pens being phased out by April and then vials by the end of the year. What is not clear is whether it will still be available in the Canadian market, which might mean still being able to source it via a Canadian distributor. I am planning on talking to my pharmacist about what she has heard, but it is a concern if it becomes completely discontinued.

I have been using the pen fills for Mav, so with hopefully a new refill here shortly, they would technically last over a year unless they get past the expiration date. I spoke to my vet about Tresiba, that would be my next choice I think. She wanted to talk to a few other vets, but considering it was my suggestion to start Lev in the first place, I think she would accommodate me if I asked to try it.

As for patterns on Lev, well I’d say I felt like a newbie all over again when we started it, since it was important for me to get a feel for new onsets and nadirs, but I truly felt for us it gave me a greater sense of predictability albeit he would still find opportunities to surprise me with later nadirs sometimes into +14 or +15. It did force me to shoot lower preshots, since I also often had nadirs around +10 through preshot so when I could get those spot checks of +10 or +11 they helped. I gave myself a buffer of about 1 1/2 hours from preshot to when I left for work, so depending on the preshot, I’d get an out the door test, and would put in higher LC in the autofeeder if necessary to prop him up by when he onset.

PM cycles were the easiest since I could still catch a good before bed test around +5 and decide if another test was needed, but again the autofeeder helped a great deal. As Wendy mentioned anything in that +3 to +5 range gave me a good idea whether I might want to catch another test later.

Mav still bounces on Lev but I would say not as badly as he did on Lantus. Like Marie’s Gracie, Maverick did not have an immediate strong reaction when we switched the L insulins and we ended up getting to around where we were for dosing with Lantus.
I’m sorry to hear you’ve got unwell furry family members not feeling well. Sending you support and healing vines for them. :bighug::bighug:
Thanks for your input. Is Mav still on Lev or is he OTJ?

So Mav didn’t have a strong reaction to the switch? What would one look like?
A +5 test puts me at 11 pm (I feed at 6&6) so another test after that (or Libre reading or both if Ivy were low) puts my into the wee hours of the morning. Is this sustainable for a working person to have to be up testing or just being awake at those hours to deal with late onset and nadirs? I do have concerns.

Did you just feed at certain hours overnight with the auto feeder to keep him steady? (I have auto feeders).
And of course availability of Levemir with the discontinued product is yet another wrench. (Hate being a Debbie Downer when trying to find a solution!)

Thanks, Christie :bighug:
 
Thank you, Staci, I appreciate it. Yes, Maverick is what I lovingly consider a long-hauler, he’ll be on insulin for the rest of his life.

Maybe in the beginning it was a little extra effort, remember since you need to get a new feel for how this new insulin is working, and that takes time and data. After a while, I would often get a +3 then +5 or +6 and if flattish I’d not test again. If greens around then, I’d fall asleep and set alarm to check again in a couple of hours. Our routine is snack at around +2, +4 or +5, then autofeeder for +8. Also remember that it wouldn’t be every night where you might have a more active cycle, so yes, it is sustainable :).

Maverick held onto high numbers for the first four cycles after the change (see end of Jan 2020) but there have been some kitties who after the switch within the first cycle or two take a big nose dive. That’s why it’s suggested to monitor a little more closely for the first few cycles after making the switch.
 
Back
Top