1/19 Felix AMPS 503 / PMPS 489

Status
Not open for further replies.
1/18 viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3114

Hello people and kit-cats!

Felix just got his 3rd shot of 1.5 u. The numbers look a little better, but they are still very, very ugly. How long does it take before you can see a difference in the new dose? The protocol says I give 6 shots and then increase again, right? (I don't think he will get low numbers! lol).

Felix must have killed something. My kitchen STINKS! Sigh. I wish they would at least eat what they catch. I guess he's doing well because he is as grumpy as ever. He attacked two of the other cats today.

I have almost finished the profile and will add that link soon.
 
Hi April and Felix!

Patience on the new dose...in fact, Six's numbers increased the first three cycles of his new dose, but they are heading down tonight (5th cycle). He's done this before too. What I did eventually see was a steady decline in his high numbers...many people kept advising to look at the overall progress and that helps keep things in perspective!

BTW, welcome to LL and home testing!!!!!!
 
My ferals outside brought me a chipmunk for breakfast. ewwww... Thanks, but no thanks, I'll stick with my cereal. Hee, hee.
Hope you find the 'fresh' kill in your kitchen and that you will see some improvements in Felix's numbers too. Patience, you have a relatively new dose. :smile:
 
Good luck with your dose increase (what we in Lantus Land call a dosecrease)!

To put things in a bit of perspective about the vets, I have been having some trouble recently with my Morris, not diabetes related, but he had to see the vet. I don't use the vet for his diabetes, just myself and more recently this group for going on 10 years. Anyway, while at the vet for other things I began to berate her for not knowing how to dose Lantus and giving too much as starting doses (she had told me first 4 units, then 2 units, I ended up starting at 1 and now give .25...but I digress).

She told me that in her entire practice she only has one other diabetic cat! This is not a little vet practice in Podunk City....it's a fairly large practice with 5-6 vets on staff. In addition, she said that most pet owners, when confronted with diabetes, don't want to be bothered with meters and shots. So you can see that an ordinary vet, not a specialist/endicrinologist, probably knows less about this disease than you will know after a month! That is why this group is so special...the wealth of knowledge that comes from day in, day out hands-on handling of the disease....and they are willing to help every stranger who stops in and asks for it! What a concept!

If you are lucky, your vet will learn along with you. If they don't, look in the yellow pages and start calling around to find one that will.
 
(((April))) At least Felix's AMPS and PMPS have gone down. Hang in there, it may take some time. But it will happen....I have faith! cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top